Return to: Financial Information

The University of Texas at El Paso Tuition and Fee Information

Pursuant to state law, The University of Texas System Board of Regents (the Board) is authorized to set tuition.  Tuition and fees are subject to change by legislative or regental action and become effective on the date enacted.  The Texas Legislature does not set a specific amount for any particular student fee. The student fees assessed are authorized by state statute; however, the specific fee amounts and the determination to increase fees are made by UTEP administration and The University of Texas System Board of Regents. The Board will consider proposed tuition and fee increases at an upcoming meeting.  The tuition rates for this academic year will be set after the Board meets.  The student's estimated tuition bill will be available at that time.  The student's actual tuition bill will be distributed in July of this year.  Registration will not be completed until tuition has been paid. Policies governing payment or refund of tuition, fees and other charges are approved by the Board of Regents of The University of Texas System and comply with applicable state statutes.

UTEP now offers two tuition rate plans:

  • Traditional Rate Plan
  • Guaranteed Rate Plan (Optional - students must opt-in)

For more information about these plans and the current Tuition and Fee schedules, please visit the Student Business Services website: http://sbs.utep.edu.  For additional information, please contact the Student Business Services Office at 915.747.5116.

Supplemental Fees

New Student

NOTE:  All fees in this section are subject to change.  For current fee rates, please visit the Student Business Services website: http://finsvcs.utep.edu/StudentBusinessServices/Default.aspx.  For additional information, please contact the Student Business Services Office at 915.747.5116.

Student ID Fee (Miner Gold Card) - $10.00 one-time issuance fee

Student ID Replacement Fee - $20.00

Student General Property Deposit - $10.00 per student (one-time deposit) fee assessed at the time of the student's initial registration at the University. This fee is refundable to the student at the end of his or her University enrollment less any loss, damage, or breakage caused by the student. A property deposit which remains without call for refund for a period of four (4) years from the date of last attendance at the University will be forfeited and will become the property of the Student General Property Deposit Endowment Fund. Such funds will be invested and the income will be used for scholarship purposes.

New Undergraduate Student (one-time fee)

NOTE:  All fees in this section are subject to change.  For current fee rates, please visit the Student Business Services website: http://finsvcs.utep.edu/StudentBusinessServices/Default.aspx.  For additional information, please contact the Student Business Services Office at 915.747.5116.

New Entering Undergraduate Resident Student - $180.00

New Entering Undergraduate International Student - $200.00

New Entering Undergraduate Transfer Student - $150.00

Certain Declared Majors

NOTE:  All fees in this section are subject to change.  For current fee rates, please visit the Student Business Services website: http://finsvcs.utep.edu/StudentBusinessServices/Default.aspx.  For additional information, please contact the Student Business Services Office at 915.747.5116.

Clinical Laboratory Science Major Fee - $300.00 per semester with a declared major in Clinical Laboratory Science.

College of Business Administration Major fee- $90.00 per semester with a declared major within the College of Business. 

College of Education Major Fee - $10.00 per semester with a declared major within the College of Education.

College of Engineering Major Fee - $110.00 per semester with a declared major within the College of Engineering.

School of Nursing Major Fee -$185.00 per semester with a declared major in Nursing.

College of Health Science, Kinesiology Major fee - $85.00 per student, per semester. 

College of Health Science, Social Work Major fee- $90.00 per student, per semester. 

College of Health Science, Rehabilitation Major Fee - $75.00 per student, per semester. 

College of Health Science, Interdisciplinary Health Science Major Fee - $50 per student, per semester. 

College of Health Science,Occupational Therapy Major Fee - $135.00 per student, per semester. 

College of Health Science,Physical Therapy Major Fee - $100.00 per student, per semester. 

NOTE:  All fees in this section are subject to change.  For current fee rates, please visit the Student Business Services website:http://finsvcs.utep.edu/StudentBusinessServices/Default.aspx.  For additional information, please contact the Student Business Services Office at 915.747.5116.

International Student Services Fee - $50.00 per student per semester.**

Testing and Assessment, Score Report fee -  $5.00 per student, per exam. 


** International Student (ONLY)

Course Fees

Course fees are authorized by the UTEP administration and The University of Texas System Board of Regents. Policies governing payment or refund of tuition, fees and other charges are approved by the Board of Regents of The University of Texas System and comply with applicable state statutes.

For current course fees, please view the UTEP course schedule:  https://www.goldmine.utep.edu/prod/owa/bwckschd.p_disp_dyn_sched.

Incidental Fees

NOTE:  For current fee rates, please visit the Student Business Services website: http://finsvcs.utep.edu/StudentBusinessServices/Default.aspx.  For additional information, please contact the Student Business Services Office at 915.747.5116.

Tuition for Undergraduate Hours in Excess of 170 or More Credit Hours

A resident student who has attempted 170 or more semester credit hours will be charged a higher tuition rate than is charged to other resident students. The higher tuition rate will be the non-resident rate for any credit hours above 169. The higher tuition rate will not be charged to a student enrolled in:

  1. Two or more baccalaureate degree programs at the same time.
  2. A double-major degree program that requires 130 or more semester credits for completion.
  3. A health-professional baccalaureate degree program.

In determining whether the student has previously attempted 170 or more semester credit hours, the following credit hours will not be counted:

  1. Semester credit hours earned by the student while the student was classified as a nonresident or foreign student for tuition purposes.
  2. Semester credit hours earned by the student 10 or more years before the date the student begins the new degree program under the Academic Fresh Start Program of the Texas Educational Code, § 51.931.
  3. Semester credit hours earned by the student before receiving a baccalaureate degree that has previously been awarded to the student.
  4. Semester credit hours earned by the student by examination or under any other procedure by which credit is earned without registering for a course for which tuition is charged.
  5. Credit for a remedial education course or another course that does not count toward a degree program at the institution.
  6. Semester credit hours earned by the student at a private institution or an out-of-state institution.

For more information, students should contact the Registrar's Office at 915.747.5550.

Miner Gold Card

The Miner Gold card is the official identification (ID) card of the University of Texas at El Paso. The Miner Gold card is the property of the University and is non-transferable. All students must carry their Miner Gold cards at all times while on University property in order to obtain services.

The Miner Gold card is issued to all students who are enrolled in at least one credit hour. A current photo ID (e.g. driver's license, state ID, or passport) must be presented before a Miner Gold card is issued. The Miner Gold card remains active as long as the student is enrolled in courses at UTEP. No article of clothing or accessory including a hat or sunglasses can be worn on the student's head when the ID card photograph is taken.

All first-time students will be assessed a one-time, non-refundable $10.00 fee for the ID card. Any card rendered unusable, damaged, lost, or stolen will be assessed a $20.00 fee. A new photo will be taken every time a card is re-issued.

Various debit-declining balance plans can be utilized by Miner Gold card holders. Enrollment in these plans is automatic: participation is optional.

The University reserves the right to modify or change any or all parts of the Miner Gold card at any time. The Miner Gold card must be surrendered to University officials upon request.

For more information:
Miner Gold Card Office
Academic Services Building, Room 116
915.747.7334
www.utep.edu/minergold

Parking Fees

The following parking fees apply to students desiring to park on campus:

Classes of Permits and Annual Fees

Sun Bowl Parking Garage

Allows the holder to park in any garage parking space designated for their particular class of permit.

Class PG-1--covered$250.00all students (including graduate students)
$154.30if purchased during the spring semester
$75.52if purchased during the summer session
Class PG-1--deck$200.00all students (including graduate students)
$123.44if purchased during the spring semester
$60.42if purchased during the summer session

Silver Parking Lots

Allows the holder to park in any Silver parking area designated for their particular class of permit.

Class S$175.00all attendants (including graduate students)
$108.01if purchased during the spring semester
$52.86if purchased during the summer session

Perimeter Parking Lots

Allows the holder to park in any perimeter area designated for their particular class of permit.

Class P--automobile$125.00all students (including graduate students)
$77.15if purchased during the spring semester
$37.76if purchased during the summer session
Class P--motorcycle$75.00all students (including graduate students)
$46.29if purchased during the spring semester
$22.86if purchased during the summer session

Remote Parking Lots

Allows the holder to park in any remote area designated for their particular class of permit.

Class R$75.00all students (including graduate students)
automobile/motorcycle$46.29if purchased during the spring semester
$22.86if purchased during the summer session

Other Class Permits

Class H$125.00all students (including graduate students)
Inner Campus Disabled$77.15if purchased during the spring semester
$37.76if purchased during the summer session
Class M$50.00all Miner Village residents
$30.86if purchased during the spring semester
$15.10if purchased during the summer session
Replacement DecalWith remnants of decal. $5.00
Without remnants of decal. $20.00

Accessible Exempt Parking

Disabled Veterans, Congressional Medal of Honor Recipients, Former Prisoners of War, Pearl Harbor Survivors, and Purple Heart Recipients whose vehicles display the special license plates issued by the State of Texas or applicable state of issuance are exempt from payment of the fees at paid short-term surface metered parking.  These individuals are exempt from the payment of the fees, upon proper registration with Parking and Transportation Services, for any University surface parking permit for which they are otherwise eligible, in accordance with State law.  This privilege applies to the veteran only and not anyone else driving the vehicle.  This parking privilege does not apply to (1) a parking space or area located in a controlled access parking facility if at least 50 percent of the number of parking spaces or areas designated specifically for persons with physical disabilities on the property of the institution of higher education are located outside a controlled access parking facility; (2) an area temporarily designated for a special event parking; or (3) an area where parking is temporarily prohibited for health or safety concerns.

Methods of Payment

Cash, check, MasterCard, VISA, American Express, and Discover will be accepted for payment of tuition and fees. The University offers the two following payment methods during long semesters (fall and spring) only.

  1. Full payment of tuition, mandatory fees and incidental fees at the time of registration.
  2. Twenty percent (20%) payment of tuition, mandatory and incidental fees at the time of registration, with the remaining balance due in Four (4) equal installments by the 15th of each month.

Items for which payment CAN be deferred under Method 2 include the following:

  • Tuition
  • Mandatory Fees (Library Fee, Student Services Fee, Student Union Fee, Health Center Fee, International Studies Fee, Technology Fee, Recreational Fee)
  • Incidental Fees (Course-related Fees (such as Equipment Fees), Supplemental Fee for Fine Arts, Major Fees)
  • Discretionary Fee (Health Insurance)
  • Optional Fee (Parking Decal Fee)

Items for which payment CANNOT be deferred include the following:

  • Student General Property Deposit
  • Discretionary Fee (Liability Insurance)
  • Amounts due for financial holds or from previous periods
  • Optional Incidental Fees (such as Late Registration, Add/Drop, Installment Tuition Handling Fees, etc.)

The following additional policies will apply to deferral of payments:

  1. All student account balances due from previous semesters, including items associated with deferred payment, must be paid in full before a student can begin registration for a subsequent semester.
  2. A payment plan selected at the time of registration will be binding and will be applied to any subsequent add/drop activities; however, pre-payment of outstanding balances will be accepted. The University shall assess the Installment Tuition Handling Fee of $20.00 to students choosing Method 2; this charge is payable at the time of registration. An Installment Tuition Delinquency Fee of $15.00 will be assessed at the end of the sixth and eleventh week of classes if the payment due for that period is not paid in full.
  3. The Office of Student Business Services will send e-mail notifications as appropriate to students paying tuition and fees under Method 2.
  4. The student's tuition and fees assessment will be based upon the courses for which a student is enrolled on the official census date, which is the twelfth (12th) class day in a long semester. No reduction in amounts due will be made after this date, except for students who officially withdraw up to the end of the refund period as indicated in the Class Schedule. Further, the student is obligated to pay the assessed amounts whether or not class attendance is subsequently interrupted or terminated.
  5. A student who fails to provide full payment of tuition and fees, including any late fees assessed, to the University when the payments are due is subject to one or more of the following:
    1. A bar against registration at the institution.
    2. Withholding of grades, degree, and official transcript.
    3. All penalties and actions authorized by law.

Refund of Tuition and Fees

Refund policies are established by, and are subject to change by, the Legislature of the State of Texas and are applicable to withdrawals and dropped courses. Refunds of tuition, general fees, and student services fees will be made under the following conditions.

Withdrawals

Students withdrawing during a Fall or Spring semester, or a Summer term of 10 weeks or longer, will be refunded applicable tuition and fees as follows:

Prior to the first class day100%minus $15.00
During the first five class days80%
During the second five class days70%
During the third five class days50%
During the fourth five class days25%
After the fourth five class daysNo Refund

Students withdrawing from a term or session of more than five weeks but less than ten weeks will be refunded applicable tuition and fees as follows:

Prior to the first class day100%minus $15.00
During the first, second, or third class day80%
During the fourth, fifth, or sixth class day50%
Seventh day of class and thereafterNo Refund

Students withdrawing from a term or session of five weeks or less will be refunded applicable tuition and fees as follows:

Prior to the first class day100%minus $15.00
During the first class day80%
During the second class day50%
During the third class day and thereafterNo Refund

Note: Percentage of refund is based on the total tuition and mandatory and incidental fees assessed, not on the amount paid. Unless the student withdraws completely from school prior to the first official class day, the student is responsible for a percentage of total tuition and mandatory and incidental fees assessed. Students should contact the Student Business Services Office at 915.747.5116 or 915.747.5105 with any questions.

Dropped Courses

Refunds of applicable tuition and fees will be made for courses from which a student drops within the first twelve (12) class days of a long session semester or an appropriately shorter period for a summer session term, provided the student remains enrolled for that semester or term. Refund of tuition for dropped courses will be made only if the original payment exceeds the established minimum amount.

Refunds of tuition and fees paid on the student's behalf by a sponsor, donor, or scholarship will be made to the source rather than directly to the student who has withdrawn or dropped courses, if the funds were made available through the University. Students who withdraw or drop courses must, in order to qualify for a refund, surrender all applicable privileges, including identification cards and athletic and cultural entertainment tickets. Refunds provided for the above will be granted if applied for by the end of the semester in which the withdrawal or drop was appropriately completed. Refunds for students who owe balances on deferred payment of tuition and fees will be credited to the student's account, reduced by the amount of any unpaid charges and a reasonable administrative fee not to exceed the lesser of five (5%) of the tuition, fees, room and board, and other charges that were assessed for the enrollment period, or one hundred dollars ($100.00).

Return of Title IV Aid (R2T4) Policy

How a withdrawal affects financial aid

Federal regulations require Titile IV financial aid funds to be awarded under the assumption that a student will attend the institution for the entire period in which federal assistance was awarded.  When a student withdraws from all courses for any reason, including medical withdrawals, he/she may no longer be eligible for the full amount of Title IV funds that he/she was originally scheduled to receive.  The return of funds is based upon the premise that students earn their financial aid in proportion to the amount of time in which they are enrolled.  A pro-rated schedule is used to determine the amount of federal student aid funds he/she will have earned at the time of the withdrawal.  Thus, a student who withdraws in the first month of classes has earned less of his/her financial aid than a student who withdraws in the seventh week.  Once 60% of the semester is completed, a student is considered to have earned all of his/her financial aid and will not be required to return any funds.

Federal law requires schools to calculate how much federal financial aid a student has earned if that student:

  • completely withdraws, or
  • stops attending before completing the semester, or
  • does not complete all modules (courses which are not scheduled for the entire semester or payment period for which he/she has registered at the time those modules began).

Based on this calculation, University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP) students who receive federal financial aid and do no complete their classes during a semester or term could be responsible for repaying a portion of the aid they received.  Students who do not begin attendance must repay all financial aid disbursed for the term.

How a withdrawal affects academics

The following policies will help you to understand that a withdrawal potentially affects students academically as well as financially.  We encourage students to read all the information below prior to making a final decision.

Important:

  • Academic policies on leaving UTEP are available in the Academic Catalog, see Policies section.
  • UTEP's tuition refund policy is separate from the federal regulations to repay unearned aid.  Whether or not a student receives a tuition refund has no bearing on the amount he/she must repay to the federal aid programs.  Conctact the Student Business Office for further inquiries regarding tuition refunds.

How the earned financial aid is calculated

Students who receive federal financial aid must "earn" the aid they receive by staying enrolled in classes.  The amount of federal financial aid assistance the student earns is on a pro-rated basis.  Students who withdraw or do not complete all registered classes during the semester may be required to return some of the financial aid they were awarded.

Institutions, in accordance to fedral regulation 34CFR668.22, are required to determine the percentage of Title IV aid "earned" by the student and to return the unearned portion to the appropriate aid programs.  Regulations require school to perform calculations within 30 days from the date the school determines a student's complete withdrawal.  The school must return the funds within 45 days of the calculation.  The Return to Title IV, aka R2T4, calculation process and return of funds is completed by the Office of Student Financial Aid (OSFA).

 For example, if a student completes 30 percent of the payment period, they earn 30 percent of the aid they were originally scheduled to receive.  This means that 70 percent of the scheduled awards remain "unearned" and must be returned to the federal government.  Once 60% of the semester is completed, a student is considered to ahve earned all of his/her financial aid and will not be required to return any federal funds.

 The following formula is used to determine the percentage of unearned aid that has to be returned to the federal government:

  • The percent earned is equal to the number of calendar days completed up to the withdrawal date, divided by the total calendar days in the payment period (less any scheduled breaks that are at least 5 days long).
  • The payment period is the entire semester.  However, for students enrolled in modules (courses which are not scheduled for the entire semester or term), the payment period only includes those days for the module(s) in which the student is registered.
  • The percent unearned is equal to 100 percent minus the percent earned.

For students enrolled in modules: A student is considered withdrawn if the student does not compelete all of the days in the payment period that the student was scheduled to complete.  UTEP will track enrollment in each module (a group of courses in a program that do not span the entire length of the payment period combined to form a term, for example, summer sessions) to determine if a student began enrollment in all scheduled courses.  If a student officially drops courses in a later module while still attending a current module, the student is not considered as withdrawn based on not attending the later module.  However, a recalculation of aid based on a change in enrollment status may still be required.

Students who provide written confirmation to OSFA at the time of ceasing attendance in a module that they plan to attend another course later in the same payment period are not considered to have withdrawn from the term.  Note: written confirmation of a later class is required; registration alone does not meet this requirement.  If the student does not provide written confirmation of plans to return to school later in the same payment period or term, UTEP considers the student to have withdawn and begins the R2T4 process.  However, if the student does return to UTEP in the same term, even if they did not provide written confirmation of plans to do so, the student is not considered to have withdrawn after all and is eligible to receive the Title IV funds for which the student was eligible before ceasing attendance.  Bursar will then reverse the R2T4 process and provide additional funds that the student is eligible to receive at the time of return.

Steps in the return of Title IV funds policy

Step 1: Student's Title IV information

OSFA will determine:

  1. The total amount of Title IV aid disbursed for the semester in which the student withdrew.  A student's Title IV aid is counted as aid disbursed in the calculation if it has been applied to the student's account on or before the date the student withdrew.
  2. The total amount of Title IV aid disbursed plus the Title IV aid that could have been disbursed for the semester in which the student withdrew.

Step 2: Percentage of Title IV aid earned

OSFA will calculate the percentage of Title IV aid earned as follows:

The number of calendar days completed by the student divided by the total number of calendar days in the semester in which the student withdrew.  The total number of calendar days in a semester shall exclude any scheduled breaks of more than five days.

Days Attended ÷ Days in Enrollment Period = Percentage Completed

If the calculated percentage completed exceeds 60%, then the student has "earned" all the Title IV aid for the enrollment period.

Step 3: Amount of Title IV aid earned by the student

Bursar will calculate the amount of Title IV aid earned as follows:

The percentage of Title IV aid earned (Step 2) multiplied by the total amount of Title IV aid disbursed or that could have been disbursed for the term in which the student withdrew (Step 1-A).

Total Aid Disbursed × Percentage Completed = Earned Aid

Step 4: Amount of Title IV aid to be disbursed or returned

  • If the aid already disbursed equals the earned aid, no further action is required.
  • If the aid already disbursed is greater than the earned aid, the difference must be returned to the appropriate Title IV aid program.

Total disbursed Aid – Earned Aid = Unearned Aid to be Returned

  • If the aid already disbursed is less than the earned aid, then Bursar will calculate a post-withdrawal disbursement.

Types of Withdrawals

For financial aid purposes there are two types of withdrawals: Complete and Unofficial.

Complete

  • An official withdrawal from UTEP by the student.  For the policy and process of Complete Withdrawal review UTEP Academic Catalog, Policies section.

Unofficial

  • Federal financial aid regulations consider a student to be an unofficial withdrawal if the student receives all F grades or a combination of F, W (Withdraw), I (Incomplete) and U (Unsatisfactory) grades for the term.

Determination of the withdrawal date

The withdrawal date used in the return calculation of a student's federal financial aid is the actual date indicated on the official drop form.  If a student drops attending classes without notifying UTEP, the withdrawal date will be the midpoint of the semester or the last date of academic activity determined by UTEP.  Additional documentation supporting the last date of academic activity may be provided by the student if they verify a later date of attendance than determined by UTEP.

Withdrawing prior to completing 60 percent of a term

Unless a student completes 60 percent of the term in which federal aid was disbursed, the student will be required to return all or part of the financial aid disbursed in the term.  This applies to students who have officially or unofficially withdrawn.

When a student fails to begin attendance

If a student receives financial aid, but never attends classes, UTEP will return all disbursed funds to the respective federal aid programs.  If the student owes any money to UTEP resulting from the return of federal funds, the student will be billed by the Bursar's Office.  If the student does not pay the funds due to UTEP, a financial hold is placed on the student's account.  This means he/she will not be permitted to register for classes or receive transcripts until the balance is paid.

Students who do not receive an earned grade in a term

Financial aid is awarded under the assumption that the student will attend UTEP for the entire term for which federal assistance was disbursed.  UTEP is required to have a procedure for determining whether a Title IV recipient who began attendance during a period completed the period or should be treated as a withdrawal.  Students who attended class but failed to meet the academic requirements of the course are awarded a grade of F, this is an earned grade.  Students who started a course but stopped attending class at some point during the course and did not pass the course are considered to have unofficially withdrawn.  For these withdrawals, commonly known as dropouts, the withdrawal date is the midpoint of the period or the lsat date of an academically related activity that the student participated in.

Repayment calculation process:

Once grades are posted for the students who unofficially withdraw, OSFA will return all unearned aid back to teh federal aid program and the student's bursar account will be charged.  The Bursar's Office will mail a notification letter with the repayment amount(s) to the student's permanent address.  The student's bursar account will be updated, and the student will be responsible for any balance due.  A statement reflecting these charges will be sent to the student by the Bursar's Office.

Definition of an academic related activity

Examples of University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP) academic-related activities include but are not limited to physically attending a class where there is an opportunity for direct interaction between the instructor and students.

Proof of participation:

  • Exams or quizzes
  • Tutorials
  • Computer-assisted instruction
  • Completion of an academic assignment, paper or project
  • Participating in an online discussion about academic matters
  • Initiating contact with a faculty member to ask a question about the academic subject studied in the course
  • UTEP required study group where attendance is taken

Documentation not acceptable as proof of participation:

  • Student's self-certification of attendance that is not supported by school documentation
  • Living in University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP) housing
  • Participating in the school's meal plan
  • Participating in academic counseling or advising

Return of Title IV Funds for students enrolled in modules

(Generally summer sessions) - Effective July 1, 2011

Overview

These new regulations aim to provide for consistent and equitable treatment of students who withdraw from a program measured in credit hours, regardless of whether courses in the program span the entire term or consist of shorter modules.  This new rule replaces prior guidance provided in Dear Colleague Letter GEN-00-24 regarding student withdrawals in term-based programs that include courses shorther than the length of an entire term.  The rule impacts all programs offering courses shorter than an entire term, including semester-based programs with a summer term consisting of two consecutive five-week summer sessions.

Program integrity principles

  • Title IV funds are awarded to a student to attend an entire payment period of enrollment, and the funds are intended to cover the student's educational and living expenses for the entire period.
  • Federal law specifies that a student earns Title IV funds on a pro-rated basis through 60 percent of a period based on the actual days completed.  For the purposes of federal aid programs, UTEP must be able to document a student's active participation in an academic activity.

Regulatory requirements

  • A student is considered to have withdrawn from a payment period or period of enrollment in which the student began enrollment if the student ceased attendance in all scheduled courses without completing all of the days the student was scheduled to complete in the period.
  • However, if a student provides written confirmation to UTEP's Bursar before ceasing attendance that the student plans to attend another course later in the same period, the student is not considered to have withdrawn.  If a student does not resume attendance within the scheduled timeframe, the student is considered to have withdrawn as of the date on which attendance ceased.
  • If the student does not provide written confirmation of plans to return to school later in the same payment period or term, UTEP considers the student to have withdrawn and begins the R2T4 process immediately.  However, if the student does return to UTEP in the same term, even if they did not provide written confirmation of plans to do so, the student is not considered to have withdrawn after all and is eligible to receive the Title IV funds for which the student was eligible before ceasing attendance.  Bursar will then reverse the R2T4 process and provide additional funds that the student is eligible to receive at the time of return.

Repayment calculation of unearned aid as a result of a withdrawal

As a result of a withdrawal, students who received federal funds are required to reapy "unearned" aid.  The repayment calculation is performed based on the federal government's repayment worksheet: "Treatment of Title IV Funds When a Student Withdraws from a Credit Hour Program."  The amount of assistance earned is determined on a pro-rated basis.  For example, if a student completed 30% of the term, they have earned 30% of the assistance they were originally scheduled to receive.  Once a student has completed more than 60% of the term, the student earns all the assistance they were scheduled to receive for the term.

Student notification of repayment

A notification letter outlining the amount returned to the federal programs along with a Return to Title IV fact sheet will be mailed to the student's permanent address.  UTEP will return funds on the student's behalf to the appropriate federal aid programs and subsequently will bill the student's bursar account.  A statement reflecting these charges will be sent to the student.  The student is responsible for all chanres and overpayments resulting from a Return of Title IV calculation.

Repayment to federal aid programs

Federal regulations require that the following aid programs be subject to the repayment calculation if the student did not attend 60% of the term:

  • Federal Direct Loans: Unsubsidized and Subsidized
  • Federal Perkins Loans
  • Federal Direct Grad PLUS Loans
  • Federal Direct Parent PLUS Loans
  • Federal Pell Grant
  • Federal Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant (FSEOG)
  • TEACH Grant

Overpayment of federal grant funds

Federal regulations provide that 50% of the unearned amount of all federal grants is protected by the federal calculation.  Any grant amount subject to repayment is returned by UTEP and that amount will be billed to the student's bursar account as a debt to the University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP).

Additional loan information to consider when withdrawing

Important: Anytime a student is enrolled less than part-time the grace period begins.  The student's grace period for loan repayments for Federal Direct Unsubsidized and Subsidized Loans will begin on the day of the withdrawal from the school.  The student is required to complete a loan EXIT session.  They can be completed online at www.studentloans.gov.  If the student is not enrolled part-time for more than 6 months, the loans will go into repayment.  The student must contact the U.S. Department of Education (ED) or his/her lender(s) to make payment arragements.  Loans must be repaid by the loan borrower (student/parent) as outlined in the terms of the borrower's promissory note.  The student should contact the lender if he/she has questions regarding their grace period or repayment status.

School and student responsibility for return of unearned federal funds

The student and the school are both responsible for returning unearned federal financial aid to the federal government.  The student will be billed for any amount due as a result of the return of federal aid funds (R2T4) calculation.

Repayment of unearned funds and Consequences

Unearned funds are paid to the U.S. Department of Education by University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP) on the student's behalf.  The school will return the funds within 45 days of the calculation.  If the student owes any money to UTEP resulting from the return of unearned federal financial aid, the student will be billed by the University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP).  If the student does not pay the funds due to UTEP, a financial hold is placed on the student's account.  This means he/she will not be permitted to register for classes or receive transcripts until the balance is paid.

School and student responsibilities in regard to the R2T4 policy & process

University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP)'s responsibilities in regard to the Return of Title IV funds

  1. Providing each student with the information given in this policy;
  2. Identifying students affected by this policy and completing the Return of Title IV Funds (R2T4) calculation;
  3. Informing the student of the result of the R2T4 calculation and any balance owed to University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP) as a result of a required return of funds;
  4. Returning any unearned Title IV aid that is due to the Title IV programs and, if applicable, notifying the borrower's holder of federal loan funds of the student's withdrawal date;
  5. Notifying student and/or Plus borrower of eligibility for a Post-Withdrawal Disbursement, if applicable.

Student's responsibilities in regard to the Return of Title IV funds

  1. Becoming familiar with the Return of Title IV Funds (R2T4) policy and how withdrawing from all courses effects eligibility for Title IV aid;
  2. Resolving any outstanding balance owed to University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP) resulting from a required return of unearned Title IV aid;
  3. Resolving any repayment to the U.S. Department of Education as a result of an overpayment of Title IV grant funds.

How institutional grant aid is affected by a withdrawal

All institutional aid provided by University of Texas at El Paso (UTEP) is based on need and academic achievement.  The institution does not require the repayment of institutional aid that has been disbursed.

How a withdrawal affects future financial aid eligibility

Refer to UTEP Financial Aid Office Satisfactory Academic Progress Policy to determine how a withdrawal will impact future financial aid eligibility.

Note: The procedures and policies listed above are subject to change without advance notice based on changes to federal laws, federal regulations, or school policies.  If changes are made, student must abide by the most current policy.  The Federal Refund Policy (R2T4) is very encompassing and this is intended to be an overview of the policies and procedures that govern regulations pertaining to Title IV Refund (R2T4).  For further guidance on R2T4 policies and procedures please see the reference material found in Volume 5 of the Federal Student Aid Handbook under Withdrawals.

Tuition and Fees Exemption Summary

This information is provided in summary form. For more information contact Student Business Services and/or refer to Texas Education Code § 54.201, et seq.

Description Eligibility Exempted Charges*
**Accredited School Scholarship (permissive)
Texas Education Code, § 54.301
(http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/ED/htm/ED.54.htm#54.301)
  • Highest ranking graduate of an accredited Texas high school
Tuition during first two semesters (long session) following graduation
Adopted Children formerly in Foster or other Residential Care
Texas Education Code, § 54.367
(http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/ED/htm/ED.54.htm#54.367)
  • For individuals who were adopted; and
  • Were subject of an adoption assistance agreement under Texas Family Code Sub chapter D, Chapter 162 (http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/FA/htm/FA.162.htm) that provided monthly payments and medical assistance benefits and was not limited to providing only for the reimbursement of nonrecurring expenses
Tuition and Fees
Blind and Deaf Students
Texas Education Code, § 54.364
(http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/ED/htm/ED.54.htm#54.367)
  • A blind disabled person, or a person whose sense of hearing is nonfunctional
  • Must be a Texas resident
  • Tuition
  • Required Fees
  • General Property Deposit
Children of Disabled/Deceased Texas Firefighters and Law Enforcement Officers
Texas Education Code, § 54.351
  • For children under 21 years of age (or 22 if the student was eligible to participate in special education under Texas Education Code, § 29.003 (http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/ED/htm/ED.29.htm) or disabled full-paid or volunteer firefighters, full-paid municipal, county, state peace officers, custodians of the Department of Criminal Justice, or game wardens
  • Disability/death occurred in the line of duty
  • Tuition
  • Required Fees not to exceed 120 undergraduate credit hours or any semester begun after age 26
Children of Prisoners of War or Person Missing in Action
Texas Education Code, § 54.343
(http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/ED/htm/ED.54.htm#54.351)
  • A person under the age of 21 or a dependent person under 25 years of age who receives majority of support from parent
  • Parent is a resident of Texas on active duty military and classified by Department of Defense as a Prisoner of War or Missing in Action at time of the student's registration
  • Tuition
  • Required Fees
Children of Professional Nursing Program Faculty
Texas Education Code, 54.355
(http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/ED/htm/ED.54.htm#54.355)
  • For children whose parent is a faculty member or teaching assistant in a nursing program in Texas
  • Age is 25 years or younger
  • Texas resident
  • Has not previously received a baccalaureate degree
  • Has not previously received an exemption under this section for 10 semesters or summer sessions
  • Exemption applies only at institution that employs the parent/faculty member
Tuition (prorated if parent is not full-time)
Children and Spouse of Texas Veterans
Texas Education Code, § 54.341
(http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/ED/htm/ED.54.htm#54.341)
  • For children or the souse of members of the U.S. armed forces who were killed in action, who die or died while in service, are MIA, whose death is documented to be directly caused by illness or injury related to service in the U.S. armed forces, or who become totally disabled for purposes of employability according to the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs' disability rating as a result of a service-related injury
  • For children or the spouse of members of the Texas National Guard who after January 1, 1946, were killed while on active duty or became totally disabled for purposes of employability according to the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs' disability rating as a result of a service-related injury
  • Texas resident who resided in the state at least 12 months immediately preceding date of registration
  • A child is a person who is 25 or younger on the first day of the semester for which the exemption is claimed.
Tuition Fees (excluding general deposit fees, student services fees, and any charges for lodgin, board, or clothing)
NOT TO EXCEED 150 CREDIT HOURS
**Concurrent Enrollment - High School/University Credit (permissive)
Texas Education Code, § 54.216
(http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/ED/htm/ED.54.htm#54.216)
Individuals enrolled in a course that provides simultaneously course credit towards (1) high school academic requirements; and (2) a degree offered by the institutionAll or part of tuition and fees
**Disabled Peace Officers (permissive)
Texas Education Code, § 54.352
(http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/ED/htm/ED.54.htm#54.352)
  • Texas resident who has resided in Texas for 12 months immediately preceding registration
  • Permanently disabled as a result of injury sustained in performance of duties as Texas peace officer
  • Unable to continue duties as peace officer
  • Tuition
  • Fees excluding class and laboratory fees

NOT TO EXCEED 12 SEMESTERS IN UNDERGRADUATE PROGRAM
**Distance/Off-Campus Learning (permissive)
Texas Education Code, § 54.218
(http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/ED/htm/ED.54.htm#54.218)
Student enrolled only in distance learning courses or other off-campus coursesFees for activities, services or facilities that the student cannot reasonably be expected to use
Economic Hardship
Texas Education Code, § 54.262
(http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/ED/htm/ED.54.htm#54.262)
When a payment of fee causes undue economic hardship - number of exceptions limited to 5 percent of total enrollmentGeneral Fee
Educational Aides (permissive)
Texas Education Code § 54.363
(http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/ED/htm/ED.54.htm#54.363)
  • School employee who worked as an educational aide for at least one year during the 5 years preceding the semester of the exemption
  • Establish financial need
  • Pursuing teacher certification (Individuals receiving this exemption for the first time beginning fall 2012 must be pursuing teacher certification in at least one subject area determined by the TEA to be experiencing a critical shortage of teachers)
  • Maintain acceptable GPA
  • Resident of Texas
  • Tuition
  • Fees excluding class and laboratory fees

*Due to Legislative funding cuts, this exemption is not available for the 2011-2012 and 2012-2013 academic years. Institutions wishing to provide this exemption may do so through the use of local funds.
Firefighters enrolled in Fire Science Courses
Texas Education Code § 54.3631
(http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/ED/htm/ED.54.htm#54.3631)
Firefighters who:
  • are employed by a political subdivision of Texas as a firefighter; or are currently and have been for at least one year, an active member of an organized volunteer fire department in Texas, as defined by the fire fighters' pension commissioner, who holds appropriate levels of certification as specified in the statue; and
  • are enrolled in course offered as a part of fire science curriculum
  • Tuition
  • Laboratory Fees
Students Under Conservatorship of Department of Family and Protective Services § 54.366
(http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/ED/htm/ED.54.htm#54.366)
Texas Education Code,
  • For individuals under the conservatorship of the Department of Protective and Regulatory Services on the day preceding the individual's 18th birthday, on or after the day of the student's 14th birthday if the student was eligible for adoption on or after that day, or on the day the student received a high school diploma or equivalent, or during an academic term in which the student was enrolled in a dual credit course
  • Enrolls in an institution of higher education (including a dual credit course) no later than his or her 25th birthday
  • Tuition
  • Required Fees
**Fully Funded Courses (permissive)
Texas Education Code, § 54.217
(http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/ED/htm/ED.54.htm#54.217)
Individuals enrolled in courses that are fully funded by federal or other sourcesTuition and Fees for particular course
**Good Neighbor Scholarship (permissive)
Texas Education Code, § 54.331
(http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/ED/htm/ED.54.htm#54.331)
A limited number (as prescribed by the Coordinating Board) of native-born citizens and residents from nations of the Western Hemisphere other than the United StatesTuition
Interinstitutional Academic Programs (Permissive)
Texas Education Code, § 54.368
(http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/ED/htm/ED.54.htm#54.368)
Individuals taking a course at an institution under an interinstitutional academic program agreement, but who is enrolled primarily at another institution
  • Tuition
  • Required Fees
Members of State Military Forces
Texas Education Code, § 54.345
(http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/ED/htm/ED.54.htm#54.345)
Individual certified by the adjunct general of the state military forces as having been awarded assistance for tuition and fees under Texas Government Code § 431.090
  • Tuition not to exceed 12 semester credit hours charged at the Texas resident rate
  • Mandatory Fees for any semester in which the tuition exemption is received
Nursing Preceptors and their Children
Texas Education Code, § 54.356
(http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/ED/htm/ED.54.htm#54.356)
  • Texas resident
  • Registered nurse
  • Serving under contract as a clinical preceptor OR
  • A child 25 years or younger whose parent meets the criteria above, has not previously received a baccalaureate degree, and h as not previously received an exemption under this section for 10 semesters or summer sessions
$500 off tuition per semester
Prisoners of War
Texas Education Code, § 54.342
(http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/ED/htm/ED.54.htm#54.219)
  • Is a resident of Texas and was a resident of Texas at the time of original entry into the U.S. armed forces
  • Was first classified as a POW on or after January 1, 1999
  • Is enrolled for at least 12 semester credit hours
  • Tuition and Required Fees
  • Student Housing and Food Contract Costs
  • Textbook Costs

NOT TO EXCEED 120 HOURS
**Senior citizen (permissive)
Texas Education Code, § 54.365
(http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/ED/htm/ED.54.htm#54.365)
Individuals 65 years of age or older on space available basis

Individuals 65 years of age or older on space available basis may audit
Tuition

NOT TO EXCEED 6 CREDIT HOURS PER SEMESTER

Tuition
Surviving Spouse and Minor Children of Certain Police, Security or Emergency Personnel Killed in the Line of Police Duty
Texas Education Code § 54.354
(http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/ED/htm/ED.54.htm#54.354)
  • For the surviving spouse or children of certain public peace officers, probation officers, parole officers, jailers, police reservists, fire fighters, and emergency medical personnel, Texas Gov't Code § 615.003 (http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/GV/htm/GV.615.htm#615.003)
  • Death occurred in the line of duty as a result of a risk inherent in the duty
  • Must be enrolled full-time
  • Tuition and Fees
  • Student Housing and Food Contract Costs
  • Textbook Costs


NOT TO EXCEED BACHELOR'S DEGREE OR 200 HOURS
TANF Students (permissive)
Texas Education Code, § 54.361
(http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/ED/htm/ED.54.htm#54.361)
  • For students who during the student's last year of public high school in this state, was a dependent child receiving financial assistance under Chapter 31, Texas Human Resources Code (http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/HR/htm/HR.31.htm), for not less than six months
  • Successfully completed the attendance requirements under Texas Education Code § 25.085 (http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/ED/htm/ED.25.htm#25.085)
  • Younger than 22 years of age on the date of enrollment
  • Enrolls at the institution as an undergraduate student not later than the second anniversary of the date of graduation from a public high school in this state
  • Has met the entrance examination requirements of the institution before the date of enrollment
  • Must be a Texas resident
  • Tuition
  • Fees


NOT TO EXCEED FIRST ACADEMIC YEAR

*Due to Legislative funding cuts, this exemption is not available for the 2011-12 and 2012-13 academic years. Institutions wishing to provide this exemption may do so through the use of local funds.
Texas Ex-Servicemen
Texas Education Code, § 54.341
(http://www.statutes.legis.state.tx.us/Docs/ED/htm/ED.54.htm#54.341)
  • Currently resides in Texas (unless the student received the exemption prior to fall 2011)
  • Resided in Texas for 12 months prior to registration
  • Entered the service at a location in Texas
  • Declared Texas as the person's home of record or would have been a resident of Texas under Subchapter B at the time of entry
  • Served in U.S. armed forces in World War II, Korean Conflict, the Cold War, Vietnam, Grenada era, Lebanon, Panama, Persian Gulf, the national emergency related to 9/11/2001
  • Honorably discharged
  • Not eligible for federal education benefits
  • Tuition
  • Fees (excluding general deposit fees, student service fees, and any charges for lodging, board, or clothing)
  • Other required charges


NOT TO EXCEED 150 CREDIT HOURS (assignment of unused hours to children under 25 years of age may be authorized by the veteran or following the death of an eligible veteran)
*

Required Fees are those required as a condition of enrollment. They do not include room, board, books, transportation, lab fees or other course specific fees or optional fees.

**

Must have Regents approval.

A person may continue to receive the exemption or waiver for a subsequent semester or term only if the person: (1) as a graduate or undergraduate student, maintains a grade point average that satisfies the requirement for making satisfactory academic progress towards a degree or certificate in accordance with policy regarding eligibility for financial aid.  A student must maintain at least a 2.00 GPA if pursuing an undergraduate degree, and a 3.00 GPA if pursuing an undergraduate degree, and a 3.00 GPA if pursuing a graduate degree.  For more information, please visit the Financial Aid section of this catalog.

Tuition Rebates and Other Assistance for Certain Baccalaureate Recipients

The Texas Legislature has authorized a $1,000 tuition rebate for students who complete baccalaureate degrees with no more than three credits in excess of those required for their degrees. The purpose of the program is to provide a financial incentive for students to prepare for university studies while completing their high school work, to avail themselves of academic counseling, make early career decisions, and complete their baccalaureate studies with as few courses outside the degree plan as possible. Minimizing the number of courses taken by a student results in financial savings to students, parents, and the state.

The Texas Education Code, Section §54.0065, authorizes UTEP to provide a tuition rebate to students who:

  1. Enrolled at UTEP for the first time in the fall semester of 1997 or later.

  2. Have requested a rebate for semester credit hours achieved toward their first baccalaureate degree.

  3. Have been a Texas resident at all times while pursuing the baccalaureate degree;

  4. If enrolled for the first time in fall 2005 or later, graduate within four calendar years with a four-year degree or within five calendar years with a five-year degree (if the degree is in architecture, engineering, or any other program determined by the Board to require more than four years to complete).

  5. Have attempted no more than three hours in excess of the minimum number of semester credit hours required to complete the degree in the catalog under which they graduated. Hours attempted include transfer credits, course credit earned exclusively by examination (except that, for the purposes of this program, only the number of semester credit hours earned exclusively by examination in excess of nine semester credit hours is treated as hours attempted), courses dropped after the official census date, for-credit developmental courses, optional internship and cooperative education courses, and repeated courses. Courses dropped for reasons that are determined by UTEP to be totally beyond the control of the student shall not be counted.

  6. Have applied for rebates prior to receiving their baccalaureate degrees.

Teaching Certificates

For purposes of the $1,000 tuition rebate, regarding students concurrently earning a baccalaureate degree and a Texas teaching certificate. Required teacher-education courses shall not be counted to the extent that they are over and above the free electives allowed in the baccalaureate degree program.

Tuition Rebates

Tuition rebates shall be reduced by the amount of any outstanding student loan, including an emergency loan, owed to or guaranteed by the state, including the Texas Guaranteed Student Loan Corporation.

For more details about the Tuition Rebate Program, eligibility, and responsibilities, students should contact the Registration and Records Office, Academic Services Building, Room 123 915.747.5544. Further information on the Tuition Rebate Program can be found at www.thecb.state.tx.us/rules/13/13F.htm and www.capitol.state.tx.us.

Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board Tuition Assistance Opportunities

The Texas Education Coordinating Board administers various tuition assistance programs including programs for teachers and vocational nursing students. Further information about these programs may be obtained by viewing Title 19, Chapter 22 of the Texas Administrative Code, or by visiting the Office of Financial Aid.

Tuition Limit in Cases of Concurrent Enrollment

When a student registers at more than one public institution of higher education at the same time, tuition charges shall be determined in the following manner (Texas Education Code, section 54.011):

  1. The student shall pay the full tuition charge to the first institution at which the is student is registered; and in any event the student shall pay an amount at least equal to the minimum tuition specified in this code.
  2. If the minimum tuition specified in this code for the first institution at which the student is registered is equal to or greater than the minimum tuition specified in this code for the second institution at which the student is registered concurrently, the student shall not be required to pay the specified minimum tuition charge to the second institution in addition to the tuition charge paid to the first institution, but shall pay only the hourly rates, as provided in this code, to the second institution.
  3. If the minimum tuition specified in this code for the first institution at which the student is registered is less than the specified minimum tuition charge at the second institution (that is, if the second institution has a higher minimum tuition charge specified in this code), then the student shall first register at the institution having the lower minimum tuition and shall pay to the second institution only the amount equal to the difference between the student's total tuition charge at the second institution and the student's total tuition charge at the first institution, but in no case shall the student pay to the second institution less than the hourly rates as provided in this code.
  4. If a student is considered to be a Texas resident and therefore qualified to pay Texas resident tuition rates by one institution at which the student is registered, the student shall be considered a Texas resident at each of the institutions at which the student is concurrently registered for the purposes of determining the proper tuition charges.  Nothing in this subsection shall be so construed as to allow a nonresident to pay resident tuition except at institutions covered by Section 54.231 of this code.

General Debts of Students or Organizations

The University is not responsible for any debts contracted by individual students or by student organizations. The University will not assume the role of collection agency for any organization, firm, or individual to which students owe money, nor will the University adjudicate disputes between students and creditors over the existence or amounts of debts.

Debts Owed to the University

In the event of non-payment of debts owed to the University, one or more of the following actions may be taken by the University:

  • The student can be barred from registration.

  • The student's grades and official transcripts can be withheld.

  • A degree to which the student might otherwise be entitled can be withheld.

  • Delinquent accounts will be referred to a collection agency and credit bureau.

  • Other penalties and actions authorized by law can be exercised.

Returned Checks

A student who pays the University a check, draft, or money order for services or goods which is not subsequently honored by the payer's bank and the fault is not that of the bank, and who does not pay the University the amount due within ten (10) class days after the receipt of written notice that the bank has refused payment, can be subject to disciplinary action. A student who pays tuition and fees with a check, draft, or money order which is not subsequently honored by payor's bank, the fault not being that of the bank, can be withdrawn from the University for non-payment of tuition and fees if the student fails to pay the University the check amount due plus a $30.00 returned check fee within ten (10) class days after receiving written notice and the student's check will be referred to the County Attorney for collection. All check writers whose check is returned will be assessed a $30.00 fee for each check not honored by payor's bank. This assessment is subject to change without notice.

Tuition Set Aside

In accordance with Texas Education Code, Section 56.014 (Notice to Students Regarding Tuition Set Aside for Financial Assistance), Resident Students will be emailed a notification, each semester in which they are enrolled, and informed of the amount of their tuition that will be set aside by The University of Texas at El Paso for need-based financial assistance programs. Authority for these mandatory set asides is found in Texas Education Code, Sections 56.011, 56.012, 56.095, & 56.465.

No action from students is needed in response to the notification as the communication is for informational purposes only. For questions regarding this matter, please contact Student Business Services at (915)  747-5116 or (915) 747-5105.