Return to: College of Health Sciences

1851 Wiggins Road
915.747.5095
socialwork@utep.edu

Social Work is a challenging and rewarding profession which has the primary goal of helping individuals, families, small groups, organizations, and communities develop knowledge, values, and skills to help themselves to attain a better quality of life. The purpose of professional social work education is to enable students to integrate the knowledge, values, and skills of the social work profession into competent practice. Fully accredited by the Council on Social Work Education (CSWE), the Department of Social Work baccalaureate program prepares students for generalist social work practice.

Social Work Department Mission

The mission of the Department of Social Work is to educate culturally competent social work practitioners to provide services and promote social and economic justice in partnership with the unique multicultural, international population of the Paso del Norte region and beyond. The Department of Social Work is dedicated to student success.

Programs

Bachelor of Social Work

CHAIR: Dr. Candyce Berger

Associate Professor

Eva Moya
Contact Information: emmoya@utep.edu; 915-747-8493
Education: BS, University of Texas at El Paso; MSW, The University of Texas at Austin; Ph D, The University of Texas at El Paso
Research Interests: "Use of Photovoice methodologies" "TB and health related stigma" "intimate partner violence" "sexual and reproductive health" "homelessness"

Assistant Professor

Hyejin Jung
Contact Information: hjung2@utep.edu; 915-747-5453
Education: Ph D, The University of Texas at Austin

Clinical Instructors

Arturo Acosta
Contact Information: artacosta@miners.utep.edu; 915-747-5095
Education: MA, New Mexico State University

Alma Armendariz
Contact Information: ararmendariz2@miners.utep.edu; 915-747-6595
Education: MSW, New Mexico State University

Victor Carrillo
Contact Information: vcarrillo8@utep.edu
Education: MSW, University of Texas at Austin

Cristina Flores
Contact Information: crisflor@utep.edu; 915-747-5095
Education: MSSW, University of Wisconsin

Marina Gallardo
Contact Information: mcgallardo@utep.edu; 915-747-7292
Education: MSW, University of Texas at Austin

Rodolfo Gallinar
Contact Information: rcgallinar@utep.edu
Education: MA, Rutgers University

Yvette Lugo
Contact Information: ylugo@utep.edu
Education: MSSW, University of Texas at Arlington

Claudia Martin
Contact Information: martinc@miners.utep.edu
Education: MSW, University of Texas at Austin

Kathy Revtyak
Contact Information: klrevtyak@utep.edu; 915-247-6679
Education: MA, University of Chicago School of Social Service Administration

Daniel Romero
Contact Information: dromero7@utep.edu
Education: MSW, University of Washington; Ph D, University of Texas at El Paso

Elizabeth Senger
Contact Information: easenger@utep.edu
Education: MSW, New Mexico State University

Irene Werthmann
Contact Information: iwerthmann@utep.edu
Education: MSW, The University of Texas at Arlington

Postdoctoral Fellow

Silvia Baray
Contact Information: smchavezbaray@utep.edu
Education: Ph D, Instituto Humanista de Sinaloa