University of Texas at El Paso Academic Catalog

Academic Catalog

College of Nursing

A baccalaureate nursing program (BSN) was established in El Paso in 1970 under the administration of The University of Texas System College of Nursing. In 1976, the College of Nursing became an integral part of The University of Texas at El Paso and was organized as a College of Nursing. The Health Science and Medical Technology Programs were transferred to the College in 1979 and, shortly thereafter, the name was changed to the College of Nursing and Allied Health. In 1999, the College of Nursing became an integral part of the once-again renamed College of Health Sciences and the College of Nursing. On September 1, 2006, the College of Nursing again became its own independent unit and is now known as The University of Texas at El Paso College of Nursing.

The College of Nursing is located on the main UTEP campus at 1851 Wiggins Road, across from the University Library, and is housed in a large, modern building which includes classrooms, laboratories, faculty offices, and lounges for both students and faculty.

The College of Nursing provides an undergraduate nursing program leading to the Bachelor of Science in Nursing degree (various options) as well as graduate programs culminating in the Master of Science in Nursing and/or Doctorate in Nursing Practice.

The undergraduate nursing program at the University of Texas at El Paso is fully accredited by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE) and approved by the State of Texas Board of Nursing (TBON).

The curriculum provides an innovative, integrated and conceptual model for teaching and learning wherein critical thinking and decision-making are emphasized.  It is grounded in the sciences and is focused on addressing nursing and health care across the life span.

The degree plan consists of approximately two years of lower-division course work followed by two or more years of upper-division nursing courses taken at the College of Nursing.  The entire program is possible to complete in eight full-term semesters.  The curriculum culminates in preceptored clinical practicums that include learning and practice with experienced professional nurses in acute care facilities and community health care settings.

Upon successful completion of the program, students are awarded the degree and are eligible to take the National Council Licensure Examination for Registered Nurses (N-CLEX RN).

Mission

The mission of the University of Texas at El Paso College of Nursing is to prepare professional nurses at baccalaureate, master’s, and doctoral levels to meet complex human needs in a competitive global healthcare environment. We seek to inspire evidence-based lifelong learning and utilization of advanced technologies by providing a progressive research environment where students, faculty and researchers investigate and meet global healthcare needs.  We strive to improve healthcare and quality of life in our diverse multicultural underserved local communities by preparing graduates to make significant contributions to nursing, local, national, and global communities.

Objectives of the Undergraduate Nursing Program

  1. Provide professional nursing care to individuals, families, groups, and communities in various developmental stages and from different sociocultural backgrounds.
  2. Use critical thinking and apply theories, principles, and concepts in making clinical judgments about the health care needs of individuals, families, and communities.
  3. Intervene to minimize or alleviate stressors: to reinforce positive adaptive behavior; to promote, maintain, and restore health; and to care for the ill, disabled, and terminally ill.
  4. Collaborate with other professionals, agency personnel, and consumers in planning, implementing, and evaluating health care.
  5. Practice nursing within the framework of legal, ethical, moral, and professional standards.
  6. Use research findings in the care of clients/patients.
  7. Provide leadership within the nursing profession and in health affairs.
  8. Develop a lifetime commitment to intellectual inquiry, self-directed learning, and professional growth.
  9. Use undergraduate education as a basis for graduate study.

Admission and  Advising

Applications will not be accepted from students on academic probation or suspension.

Students seeking admission to the University as freshmen or transfers should consult the Undergraduate Admission section in this Catalog.  Students transferring from other programs must submit a written statement from the dean or department chair of their previous program stating that the student is eligible to return to that program.  This statement should be submitted via mail to:

The University of Texas at El Paso
College of Nursing
ATTN: Associate Dean of Undergraduate Education
500 W. University Avenue
El Paso, TX 79968

Applicants to the College of Nursing must be accepted to the University.  The University Admissions Office must evaluate official transcripts prior to consideration for admission.

Clinical and Compliance Requirements

Students accepted into the Nursing Programs must meet all clinical clearance requirements.  Please refer to Clinical Compliance for specific requirements.  Failure to comply with clinical clearance requirements will result in students having holds placed on registration or being dropped from courses.

Dean

Leslie Robbins
Contact Information: lhrobbins@utep.edu; 915-747-7227
Education: ADN, Garland County Community College; BSN, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center; MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston

Associate Dean, Undergraduate Education

Laura Rodriguez
Contact Information: lrodriguez21@utep.edu; 915-747-7224
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; DNP, The University of Texas at El Paso

Associate Dean, Graduate Education 

Diane Monsivais
Contact Information: dimonsivais@utep.edu; 915-747-8209
Education: BSN, Duke University; MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston

Associate Dean, Student Affairs

Myrna Anchondo

Professor

Maria Amaya
Contact Information: mamaya@utep.edu; 915-747-8583
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, Texas Woman's University; Ph D, New Mexico State University; Certificate, Women’s Health Care Nurse Practitioner, The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center; Certificate, The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center; Training in Molecular Lab, The University of New Mexico Comprehensive Cancer Center; Graduate Certificate, The Johns Hopkins University

Diane Monsivais
Contact Information: dimonsivais@utep.edu; 915-747-8209
Education: BSN, Duke University; MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston

Leslie Robbins
Contact Information: lhrobbins@utep.edu; 915-747-8194
Education: ADN, Garland County Community College; BSN, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center; MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston

Associate Professor

Hsuen-Fen Kao
Contact Information: hkao@utep.edu; 915-747-7279
Education: Diploma, National Taipei College of Nursing; MSN, National Taiwan University; Ph D, The University of Texas at Austin; Postdoctoral Fellow, University of North Carolina

Guillermina Solis
Contact Information: gsolis2@utep.edu; 915-747-7254
Education: ADN, New Mexico State University; BS, The University of Texas at El paso; MSN, The University of Arizona; Post Masters Degree, University of San Diego; Ph D, The University of Texas at El Paso; Post Doctoral Fellowship, University of Utah

Assistant Professor

Cristina Dominguez De Quezada
Contact Information: cdominguez14@utep.edu; 915-747-7227
Education: BSN, New Mexico State University; MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, The University Texas at Tyler

Karen Fowler
Contact Information: krfeptx@yahoo.com; 915-747-7206
Education: Ph D, University of Phoenix

Sarah Jimenez
Contact Information: syjimenez2@utep.edu; 915-747-6609
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso

Jacob Martinez
Contact Information: jmartinez41@utep.edu; 915-747-8289
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, University of Miami School of Nursing and Health Studies

Franchesca Nunez
Contact Information: feoberhelman@utep.edu; 915-747-7226
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, The University of Kansas; Certificate, Drexel University

Faculty Member Test User SON
Contact Information: facultysuccess@utep.edu;

Melissa Wholeben
Contact Information: mwholeben@utep.edu; 915-747-7264
Education: BSN, UTEP; MSN, UT Tyler; Ph D, New Mexico State University

Clinical Instructor

Lori Acosta
Contact Information: lfierro@utep.edu;
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, The University of Texas at Tyler

Teresa Acosta
Contact Information: tacosta2@utep.edu;
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; DNP, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center

Andrea Amato
Contact Information: aamato@utep.edu;
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso

Berenice Becerra
Contact Information: bbecerra@utep.edu;

Alejandra Borja
Contact Information: aborja@utep.edu; 915-747-8175
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso

Angelica Contreras
Contact Information: acontreras18@utep.edu;
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Pas; MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso

Yvonne Elias
Contact Information: yelias3@utep.edu; 915-747-7220
Education: MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso

Amy Field
Contact Information: amfield@utep.edu; 915-747-8263
Education: MSN, University of Texas at Arlington

Rachel Goodman-Onopa
Contact Information: rgoodmanon@utep.edu;
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso

Patricia Herbias
Contact Information: pherbias@utep.edu; 915-747-8217
Education: MSN, University of Phoenix; DNP, American Sentinal University

Darla Hernandez
Contact Information: darlaher@utep.edu;
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso

Maria Rosa Hernandez
Contact Information: mrhernandez4@utep.edu;
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso

Maria Hinojosa Smith
Contact Information: memendoza3@utep.edu; 915-747-8297
Education: MS, University of Texas at El Paso

Jennifer Hull
Contact Information: jlsmith3@utep.edu;
Education: BS, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, University of Texas at El Paso

Victoria Lambert
Contact Information: v8lambert@hotmail.com;
Education: AA, El Paso Community College; BBA, University of Texas at El Paso; BBA, The University of Texas at El Paso; BSN, University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso

Eduardo Mariscal
Contact Information: emariscal@utep.edu;
Education: BSN, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center; MSN, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center

Erin Mina
Contact Information: emmina@utep.edu;
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at Austin; MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso

Koby Mitchell
Contact Information: kamitchell2@utep.edu;
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso

Yvette Moya
Contact Information: ycmoya@utep.edu;
Education: MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso

Lynda Pena-Human
Contact Information: lpena4@utep.edu;
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, Texas Tech Health Science Center; MSN, New Mexico State University; DNP, The University of Texas at El Paso

Claudia Perez
Contact Information: cleon2@utep.edu;
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso

Diane Rankin
Contact Information: dmrankin@utep.edu; 915-613-7710
Education: BS, University of Minnesota; MS, Morehead State University; Master of Nursing (MN), Louisiana State University Medical Center , Louisiana; Doctoral Study, Louisiana State University

Jennifer Ware
Contact Information: jjware@utep.edu;
Education: BSN, New Mexico State University; MSN, Oakland University

Danielle Webster
Contact Information: drwebster@utep.edu;
Education: BA, The University of Texas at El Paso; BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso

Clinical Associate Professor

Lisa Hennessy
Contact Information: lhennessy@utep.edu; 915-747-7249
Education: BSN, West Texas State University; MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, New Mexico State University

Hector Morales
Contact Information: hmorales1@utep.edu; 915-747-7235
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; DNP, The University of Texas at El Paso

Laura Rodriguez
Contact Information: lrodriguez21@utep.edu; 915-747-7224
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; DNP, The University of Texas at El Paso

Ronnie Stout
Contact Information: rcstout@utep.edu; 915-747-8271
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at Austin; MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MBA, University of Phoenix; DNP, The University of Nevada at Las Vegas

Audrey Tolouian
Contact Information: actolouian@utep.edu;
Education: MSN, University of Phoenix; EDD, University of Phoenix

Clinical Assistant Professor

Shalla Copeland
Contact Information: smcopeland@utep.edu; 915-747-7255
Education: MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, The University of Texas at Tyler

Roberta Durk-Gomez
Contact Information: radurk@utep.edu; 915-747-7285
Education: MSN, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center; DNP, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center

Elizabeth Escalera
Contact Information: ehagelsieb@utep.edu; 915-747-7257
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, Texas A&M University, Corpus Christi; Ph D, The University of Texas at El Paso

Jana Gainok
Contact Information: jgainok@utep.edu; 915-747-7257
Education: DNP, The University of Texas at El Paso

Mercedes Martinez
Contact Information: mhidalgomartinez@utep.edu; 915-747-8229
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston; DNP, The University of Texas at El Paso

Tracey Merworth
Contact Information: tsmerworth@utep.edu; 915-747-7286
Education: MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso

Manuel Miranda
Contact Information: momiranda@utep.edu;
Education: MSN, University of Texas at el Paso; DNP, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center

Elizabeth Portugal
Contact Information: eaportugal@utep.edu;
Education: BSN, University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, University of Texas at El Paso; DNP, University of Texas at El Paso

Karim Singh
Contact Information: Kcsingh2@utep.edu; 915-747-5315
Education: MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; DNP, The University of Texas at El Paso

Janise Tinsman
Contact Information: jptinsman@utep.edu; 915-747-7228
Education: DNP, Liberty University

Alejandra Valenzuela
Contact Information: abvalenzuela@utep.edu; 915-747-7293
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; DNP, The University of Texas at El Paso

Monica Vasquez
Contact Information: mvasquez5@utep.edu;
Education: MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; DNP, The University of Texas at El Paso


 

Programs

Bachelor of Science in Nursing

School of Nursing

The University of Texas at El Paso
Health Sciences and Nursing Building
500 W University
El Paso, Texas 79968

Email: nursing@utep.edu

Phone: 915.747.7259
Fax: 915.747.8295 

Visit School Website