University of Texas at El Paso Academic Catalog

Academic Catalog

Physics

Return to: College of Science

The Department offers a Bachelor of Science degree in Physics. The BS includes the opportunity to obtain concentrations in Applied Physics Concentration, Atmospheric Physics Concentration, Medical Physics Concentration, Pre-Med Concentration, and Secondary Education 7-12 Physics/Mathematics Certification. 

Students may not apply to the Educator Preparation Program until they meet the following requirements: 

  1. Have a UTEP overall GPA of at least 2.75 
  2. Have a UTEP majors GPA of at least 2.75
  3. Pass the UTEP math content qualifying exam with a score of at least 80%

Chair

Mark Pederson
Contact Information: mrpederson@utep.edu;
Education: BS, University of Michigan; Ph D, University of Wisconsin

Professor

Tunna Baruah
Contact Information: tbaruah@utep.edu; 915-747-7529
Education: Ph D, University of Pune

Rosa Fitzgerald
Contact Information: rfitzgerald@utep.edu; 915-747-7530
Education: BS, Universidad Nacional de Ingeniería; MS, Adelphi University; Ph D, University of California, Riverside

Jorge Lopez
Contact Information: jorgelopez@utep.edu; 915-747-7528
Education: BS, University of Texas at El Paso; MS, University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, Texas A&M University

Felicia Manciu
Contact Information: fsmanciu@utep.edu; 915-747-8472
Education: BS, University of Bucharest; Ph D, The State University of New York at Buffalo

Mark Pederson
Contact Information: mrpederson@utep.edu;
Education: BS, University of Michigan; Ph D, University of Wisconsin

Rajendra Zope
Contact Information: rzope@utep.edu; 915-747-8742
Education: Ph D, University of Poona

Associate Professor

Chunqiang Li
Contact Information: cli@utep.edu; 915-747-7537
Education: BS, Peking University; MS, Chinese Academy of Sciences; Ph D, Princeton University

Marian Manciu
Contact Information: mmanciu@utep.edu; 915-747-7531
Education: BS, University of Bucharest; Ph D, State University of New York at Buffalo

Ramon Ravelo
Contact Information: rravelo@utep.edu; 915-747-5620
Education: BA, University of California, Santa Cruz; MS, Boston University; Ph D, Boston University

Assistant Professor

Jose Bañuelos
Contact Information: jlbanuelos@utep.edu; 915-747-7535
Education: BS, New Mexico State University; Ph D, New Mexico State University; Postdoc, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Ahmed El-Gendy
Contact Information: aelgendy@utep.edu; 915-747-6382
Education: BA, Alexandria University; MS, Alexandria University; Ph D, Heidelberg University

Eunja Kim
Contact Information: ekim4@utep.edu; 915-747-8095
Education: Ph D, Jeonbuk National University

Lin Li
Contact Information: lli5@utep.edu; 915-747-8423
Education: BA, Huazhong University of Science and Technology; Ph D, Huazhong University of Science and Technology

Jorge Munoz
Contact Information: jamunoz@utep.edu; 915-747-7541
Education: BS, The University of Texas at El Paso; MS, California Institute of Technology; Ph D, California Institute of Technology

Harikrishnan Nair
Contact Information: hnair@utep.edu; 715-747-7544
Education: Ph D, Indian institute of Science, India

Yun-Pil Shim
Contact Information: yshim@utep.edu; 915-747-8355
Education: BS, Seoul National University; Ph D, The University of Texas at Austin

Srinivasa Rao Singamaneni
Contact Information: srao@utep.edu; 915-747-5635
Education: Ph D, Indian Institute of Science; Postdoctoral Scholar, University of Leuven; National Research Council Research Associate, North Carolina State University

The University of Texas at El Paso

Department of Physics

Physical Science Building, Room 210 
Phone: 915.747.5715
Email: physics@utep.edu

Visit Department Website