Return to: College of Science

124 Bell Hall
915.747.5761
mathdept@math.utep.edu

The Department of Mathematical Sciences offers a Bachelor of Science (BS) degree.  The BS in Mathematics allows for concentrations in Applied Mathematics, Actuarial Sciences, Secondary Education (with teacher certification in either 8-12 Mathematics or 8-12 Mathematics/Physics), and Statistics.

Registration for each course in Mathematical Sciences (with a MATH or STAT prefix) requires a minimum grade of C in all prerequisite courses.

Advising

All undergraduate Mathematics majors are required to consult with and have their enrollment approved by their undergraduate advisor before every enrollment.

Placement

Students who intend to register in the following:

MATH 0311Intermediate Algebra3
MATH 1319Math in the Modern World (C)3
MATH 1320Math for Social Sciences I (C)3
MATH 1411Calculus I4
MATH 1508Precalculus (C)5
MATH 2301Math for Social Sciences II3

must present an official document at registration showing that they have either an adequate placement examination score or received a grade of C or better in the prerequisite course. Placement exam scores expire after five (5) years.

GPA

Mathematics majors must maintain a 2.0 GPA in all MATH and STAT courses (Students should refer to the Standards of Academic Performance section of this catalog.)

Prerequisites

All mathematics (MATH) or statistics (STAT) courses that have MATH or STAT prerequisites require a grade of C or better in the prerequisite course.

Programs

Bachelor of Science

Minor

CHAIR: Dr. Maria Mariani

Professors

Behzad Djafari-Rouhani
Contact Information: behzad@utep.edu; 915-747-6767
Education: Baccalaureat (High School Degree), Lycee franco-iraninen de Teheran; D.U.E.S. (Math-Physics), Universite Pierre et Marie Curie (Paris 6); Maitrise de Mathematiques, Universite Pierre et Marie Curie (Paris 6); Ingenieur Civil des Mines, Ecole Nationale Superieure des Mines de Paris; Ph D, Yale University

Joe Guthrie
Contact Information: jguthrie@utep.edu; 915-747-6755
Education: Ph D, Texas Christian University; MA, Texas Christian University; BA, University of Texas

Mohamed Khamsi
Contact Information: mohamed@utep.edu; 915-747-6763
Education: Ph D, University of Paris 6

Lawrence Lesser
Contact Information: Lesser@utep.edu; 915-747-6845
Education: BA, Rice University; MS, The University of Texas at Austin; Ph D, The University of Texas at Austin
Research Interests: mathematics education, statistics education, equity, teacher education, motivation, intuition, language, culture, humanistic mathematics

Nancy Marcus
Contact Information: nancymarcus@utep.edu; 915-747-6750
Education: BS, Texas Western College; MS, University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, New Mexico State University (NMSU)

Emil Schwab
Contact Information: eschwab@utep.edu; 915-747-6758
Education: BS, West University of Timisoara; Ph D, Babeș-Bolyai University

Mourat Tchoshanov
Contact Information: mouratt@utep.edu; 915-747-7668
Education: Specialist Degree, Turkmen State Pedagogical Institute; Candidate of Sciences Degree, Kazan State Pedagogical Institute; Ph D, Kazan State Pedagogical University
Research Interests: Cognition and representation in mathematics learning, teacher knowledge and student achievement, engineering of learning, engineering of teacher learning, and cross-national studies in mathematics education.

Piotr Wojciechowski
Contact Information: piotrw@utep.edu; 915-747-6774
Education: Ph D, Bowling Green State University

Associate Professors

Leslie Foged
Contact Information: foged@math.utep.edu; 915-747-6765
Education: BA, Midland Lutheran College; Ph D, Washington University (St.Louis)

Helmut Knaust
Contact Information: hknaust@utep.edu; 915-747-7002
Education: Diplom-Mathematiker, Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms Universitaet; Ph D, The University of Texas at Austin

Kien Lim
Contact Information: kienlim@utep.edu; 915-747-6772
Education: General Certificate of Education ‘A’ Level, Raffles Junior College, Singapore; BA, National University of Singapore; MS, University of Wyoming; Ph D, University of California San Diego & San Diego State University
Research Interests: Problem-solving disposition, Mathematical habits of mind, Ways of thinking, Proportional reasoning, Algebraic reasoning, DNR-based instruction, Student cognition, Teacher preparation, Classroom voting

Osvaldo Mendez
Contact Information: osmendez@utep.edu; 915-747-6862
Education: Licenciado en Matematicas, Universidad Nacional de Rosario; Ph D, University of Minnesota; MS, University of Minnesota

Luis Valdez-Sanchez
Contact Information: lvsanchez@utep.edu; 915-747-6766
Education: BS, University of Texas at El Paso, TX; MA, University of California; Ph D, University of California

Assistant Professors

Jonghyun Yun
Contact Information: jyun@utep.edu; 915-747-6759
Education: Ph D, University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign

Xianyi Zeng
Contact Information: xzeng@utep.edu; 915-747-6759
Education: Ph D, Stanford University

Visiting Assistant Professor

Michael Pokojovy
Contact Information: mpokojovy@utep.edu; 915-747-6761
Education: Ph D, University of Konstanz