1851 Wiggins Road
915.747.7259
915.747.8295 (Fax)
http://nursing.utep.edu
http://nursing.utep.edu/currrnet/sa

Introduction

The School of Nursing offers a Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP), a Master of Science in Nursing (MSN) and various certificate programs. Students enrolling in the Master of Science in Nursing degree program can elect majors in Nursing Education, Nurse Practitioner (concentrations in Adult Gerontology Acute Care, Family, Pediatrics Acute Care and Pediatrics Primary Care), and Nursing Systems Management. The MSN nursing degree programs are accredited and qualify students for national certification in their specialty. Certificate Programs include a Nurse Educator Certificate, a Nursing Systems Management Certificate, and a Post-Master’s Nurse Practitioner Certificate with concentration in Family, Pediatrics Acute Care, Pediatrics Primary Care or Adult Gerontology Acute Care.

The Graduate Program (MSN) in Nursing has national accreditation through the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE), the agency that accredits the majority of baccalaureate and higher nursing degree programs. Students completing the Graduate Program in Nursing earn a degree leading to the Master of Science in Nursing (MSN) as an administrator, an educator, or a nurse practitioner.

The vision of the School of Nursing (SON) is to be the leader in nursing education, evidence-based practice, and research in the global healthcare environment.

The mission of the School of Nursing is to prepare professional nurses at baccalaureate, master’s, and doctoral levels to meet complex human needs in a competitive global healthcare environment. Inspire evidence-based lifelong learning and utilization of advanced technologies by providing a progressive research environment where students, faculty and researchers investigate and meet global healthcare needs. Improve healthcare and quality of life in our diverse multicultural underserved local communities by preparing graduates to make significant contributions to nursing, local, national, and global communities.

Through excellence, innovation, and diversity, the SON graduate program curriculum prepares professional nurses for advanced leadership in enhanced practice, clinical scholarship, and role expansion. Enhancement of practice occurs through augmentation, refinement, and application of knowledge and theory. Supervised evidence-based projects enhance students’ inquiry and research skills. Role expansion occurs through advanced practice in the clinical, educational, management and leadership arenas; functions to improve health care delivery, access, and quality; and increases professional responsibilities to society.

Prior to admission, applications and official transcripts are submitted online to the Graduate School for evaluation. Final decisions regarding admission are made by the Dean of the Graduate School upon the recommendation of the appropriate Program Director in the School of Nursing. Applicants for specific majors are evaluated based on academic history, experience, letter of intent, and interview (if required).

Students are admitted into the Nursing Education and Nursing Systems Management programs on a rolling basis three times a year. Because of the competitive nature and limited available clinical placements, students are admitted into the Nurse Practitioner Program/Concentrations twice a year. Students are admitted into the DNP program annually into the fall.

ADA Statement for Nursing Profession

Nursing is a physically and mentally challenging profession. Nurses are required to think critically and quickly in order to respond to patient care needs. Providing patient care in the clinical setting is physically and mentally demanding. If you have a disability and need class accommodations, contact The Center for Accommodations and Support Services (CASS) at 915-747-5148, or by email to cass@utep.edu, or visit their office located in the UTEP Union East, Room 106. For additional information, please visit the CASS website at www.sa.utep/cassCASS’ Staff are the only individuals who can validate and if need be, authorize accommodations for students with disabilities.  

DEAN: Dr. Elias Provencio-Vasquez
ASSISTANT DEAN: Graduate Education: Dr. Leslie Robbins
ASSISTANT DEAN: Undergraduate Education: Dr. Gloria McKee

Associate Professor

Gloria McKee
Contact Information: gmckee@utep.edu; 915-747-7246
Education: BSN, University of Texas System School of Nursing; MSN, University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, University of Texas Health Science Center-Houston
Research Interests: Health Disparities in breast cancer screening among Hispanic women. Instrument Development for use in assessment of Hispanic women's health; Use of Telehealth with underserved populations.

Assistant Professor

Maria Hernandez
Contact Information: mjhernandez10@utep.edu
Education: MSN, University of Phoenix

Clinical Associate Professors

Karen Fowler
Contact Information: kfowler@utep.edu
Education: Ph D, University of Phoenix

Lisa Hennessy
Contact Information: lhennessy@utep.edu; 915-747-7249
Education: BS, West Texas State University; MS, University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, NMSU
Research Interests: Student Success, Accelerated BSN education and the clinical practice of accelerated BSN graduates.

Associate Professor Emeritus

Leticia Lantican
Contact Information: llantica@utep.edu; 915-747-7288
Education: BSN, The University of the Philippines; MSN, The University of California San Francisco; MA, The University of the Philippines; Ph D, The University of the Philippines; POSTD, American Nurses Association Ethnic Minority Fellowship-Health Policy Research Institute
Research Interests: 1. Mental health integration in primary care settings: specific focus on depression screening in chronic illness ( e.g., diabetes and cancer) among Mexican American adults . 2. Community Health Workers ( Promotores)' Training in primary care settings; border health; stress management training for nursing students.

Clinical Assistant Professors

Melvin Farnsworth
Contact Information: billf@utep.edu; 915-747-7217
Education: BS, University of Massachusetts, School of Nursing; MS, University of Evansville, College of Nursing; Family Nurse Practitioner Post-Master’s, Arizona State University, College of Nursing; DNP, Chatham University SON

Jana Gainok
Contact Information: jgainok@utep.edu
Education: DNP, The University of Texas at El Paso

Elizabeth Hagelsieb-Escalera
Contact Information: ehagelsieb@utep.edu
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, Texas A&M Corpus Christi; Ph D, The University of Texas at El Paso

Roberta Mercer
Contact Information: radurk@utep.edu
Education: MSN, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center; DNP, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center

Hector Morales
Contact Information: hmorales1@utep.edu; 915-747-7235
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; Doctor of Nursing Practice, The University of Texas at El Paso

Franchesca Nunez
Contact Information: feoberhelman@utep.edu; 915-747-7226
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, The University of Kansas
Research Interests: Nursing workforce, nursing work culture/nursing practice environment, patient/nursing outcomes, and reliability/validity of instruments

Elizabeth Portugal
Contact Information: eaportugal@utep.edu

Trinette Radasa
Contact Information: tlradasa@utep.edu; 915-747-7228
Education: MSN, New Mexico State University; Post-Masters Certificate, The University of Texas at El Paso; DNP, University of Texas at El Paso
Research Interests: Adolescent Obesity, Depression

Diane Rankin
Contact Information: dmrankin@utep.edu; 915-747-7216
Education: BS, University of Minnesota; MS, Morehead State University; Master of Nursing (MN), Louisiana State University Medical Center , Louisiana; Doctoral Study, Louisiana State University

Laura Rodriguez
Contact Information: lrodriguez21@utep.edu; 915-747-7224
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; Doctor of Nursing Practice, The University of Texas at El Paso
Research Interests: Pediatrics Sim Lab Experiences Use of Reflection in the Classroom

Karim Singh
Contact Information: Kcsingh2@utep.edu; 915-747-5315
Education: MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; Doctor of Nursing Practice, The University of Texas at El Paso

Christopher Smallwood
Contact Information: cjsmallwood@utep.edu
Education: Ph D, The University of Texas at Tyler

Jessica Stone
Contact Information: jstone3@utep.edu
Education: DNP, Northeastern University

Ronnie Stout
Contact Information: rcstout@utep.edu; 915-747-8271
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at Austin; MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; Doctor of Nursing Practice, The University of Nevada at Las Vegas; MBA, University of Phoenix
Research Interests: Simulation, Patient safety, critical thinking, prioritization, Test taking skills, NCLEX Testing

Audrey Tolouian
Contact Information: actolouian@utep.edu
Education: MSN, University of Phoenix; EDD, University of Phoenix

Rebecca Vasquez
Contact Information: rvasquez7@utep.edu; 915-747-7206
Education: BS, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, UTEP

Melissa Wholeben
Contact Information: mwholeben@utep.edu; 915-747-7264
Education: BSN, UTEP; MSN, UT Tyler; Ph D, New Mexico State University

Clinical Instructors

Teresa Acosta
Contact Information: tacosta2@utep.edu
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; Doctor of Nursing Practice, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center

Patricia Crespo
Contact Information: pecrespo@miners.utep.edu
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso

Laurie Harris
Contact Information: lwharris3@utep.edu
Education: BSN, Texas Tech University Health Science Center; Certificate Nurse Clinician Educator, The University of Texas at El Paso; Certificate Evidence-Based Practice, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; Post-Masters Family Nurse Practitioner, The University of Texas at El Paso

Tanya Marin-Robinson
Contact Information: tvmarin@utep.edu
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, The University of Health Science Center at San Antonio; Doctor of Nursing Practice, The University of Texas at El Paso

Cynthia Middaugh
Contact Information: cnlugo@miners.utep.edu
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso

Alicia Moreno
Contact Information: amoreno27@utep.edu
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, New Mexico State University

Jane Smith
Contact Information: jlsmith6@miners.utep.edu
Education: Ph D, University of New Mexico

Instructor in Clinical Nursings

Sylvia Belmontes
Contact Information: srbelmontes@utep.edu

Jose Blanco
Contact Information: jblanco@utep.edu; 915-747-8237
Education: MSN, University of Texas at El Paso; MED, University of San Diego; BSN, University of Texas at El Paso

Shalla Copeland
Contact Information: smcopeland@utep.edu; 915-747-7255
Education: MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso

James Coverty
Contact Information: jlcoverty@miners.utep.edu
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; Post-Master's Nursing GR Cer, The University of Texas at El Paso

Kathleen Cox
Contact Information: kmcox@utep.edu; 915-747-6491
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, University of Maryland Baltimore; Doctor of Nursing Practice, University of Maryland Baltimore

Carla Ellis
Contact Information: cjellis@utep.edu
Education: MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso

Amy Field
Contact Information: amfield@utep.edu

Elisa Garcia
Contact Information: elgarcia2@miners.utep.edu
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso

Raul Garcia
Contact Information: rrgarcia4@utep.edu

Margaret Garcia-Elliott
Contact Information: magarciaelliot@utep.edu
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso

Alex Gomez
Contact Information: agomez52@utep.edu

Ana Gonzales
Contact Information: akcorrales@utep.edu
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso

Maribel Gonzalez
Contact Information: maribelg@utep.edu
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, Grand Canyon University

Rachel Goodman-Onopa
Contact Information: regoodman@utep.edu
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso

Marcia Hammons
Contact Information: mwhammons@utep.edu; 915-747-8194
Education: MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso

Patricia Herbias
Contact Information: pherbias@utep.edu; 915-747-8217
Education: MSN, University of Phoenix

Maria Rosa Hernandez
Contact Information: mrhernandez4@miners.utep.edu
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso

Maria Hinojosa Smith
Contact Information: memendoza3@utep.edu; 915-747-8297
Education: MS, University of Texas at El Paso

Sarah Jimenez
Contact Information: syjimenez2@utep.edu
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso

Regi Johny
Contact Information: rjohny@utep.edu
Education: MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso

Otes Kolade
Contact Information: ockolade@utep.edu
Education: BSN, New Mexico State University; Master Healthcare Admin (MHA), Park University; MSN, University of Phoenix

Julia Kviatkovskaya
Contact Information: jvkviatkovsk@utep.edu
Education: MSN, Emory University

Mary Leon
Contact Information: mleon@utep.edu
Education: MSN, the University of Texas at El Paso

Daniel Lopez
Contact Information: dlopez27@utep.edu
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso

Krystal Lopez
Contact Information: klopez3@utep.edu
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso

Mercedes Martinez
Contact Information: mhidalgomartinez@utep.edu; 915-747-8229
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, The University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston

Jorge Medina
Contact Information: jamedina2@utep.edu
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, UTEP

Tracey Merworth
Contact Information: tsmerworth@utep.edu; 915-747-7286
Education: MSN, UTEP
Research Interests: Influence of family presence during resuscitation on patient functional outcomes.

Brandy Natividad
Contact Information: bcrodriguez@utep.edu
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso

Yvette Natividad
Contact Information: ycmoya@utep.edu
Education: MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso

Jessica Ortiz
Contact Information: jhmartinez4@utep.edu
Education: BS, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso

Claudia Perez
Contact Information: cleon2@utep.edu
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso

Melisa Perez
Contact Information: mfperez@utep.edu
Education: MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso

Pearl Pope
Contact Information: ppope@utep.edu; 915-747-5583
Education: MSN, University of Texas at El Paso; BSN, UT Health Science Center San Antonio

Portia Reeves
Contact Information: pbreeves@utep.edu
Education: MSN, University of Phoenix

William Roach
Contact Information: waroach@utep.edu
Education: MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso

Juana Roman
Contact Information: jrroman@utep.edu
Education: MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso

Maria Sanchez
Contact Information: mgsanchez3@utep.edu
Education: MSN, University of Phoenix

Monique Serrano
Contact Information: mireyes2@utep.edu
Education: MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso

Cindy Stout
Contact Information: castout@utep.edu
Education: Doctor of Nursing Practice, Duke University

James Tagle
Contact Information: jatagle@miners.utep.edu
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso

Alejandra Valenzuela
Contact Information: abvalenzuela@utep.edu
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP), The University of Texas at El Paso

Jennifer Ware
Contact Information: jjware@utep.edu
Education: BSN, New Mexico State University; MSN, Oakland University

Taneka Wilborn
Contact Information: tlwilborn@utep.edu
Education: AAS, El Paso Community College; BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, South University

Martha Yee
Contact Information: mpyee@utep.edu
Education: MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso

Barbara Yoon
Contact Information: bjyoon@utep.edu
Education: BSN, Western Governors University; MSN, Western Governors University

Specialist - Facultys

Alejandro Duran
Contact Information: aduran15@utep.edu

Yvonne Elias
Contact Information: yelias3@utep.edu
Education: MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso

Allissa Foster
Contact Information: anfoster@utep.edu
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso

Jose Hernandez
Contact Information: jlhernandez8@utep.edu
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso

Cristina Hinojosa
Contact Information: ccgonzalez3@utep.edu
Education: BA, The University of Texas at El Paso; BA, The University of Texas at El Paso; BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso

Gabriela Martin
Contact Information: gmartin@utep.edu
Education: BSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSN, The University of Texas at El Paso; Post Master's Certificate, The University of Texas at El Paso

Jacob Martinez
Contact Information: jmartinez41@utep.edu; 915-747-8289
Education: BSN, University of Texas at El Paso School of Nursing; Ph D, University of Miami School of Nursing

Programs

Master of Science in Nursing

Doctor of Nursing Practice

Certificate