260 Business Administration
915.747.5192
cobacct@utep.edu

The Department of Accounting and Information Systems at The University of Texas at El Paso shares with the University its fundamental mission to provide the highest quality education to citizens of El Paso and the West Texas region. The Bachelor of Business Administration-Accounting (BBA-Accounting) is designed as an in-depth study of the basic topics of accounting and intends to provide students the knowledge and skills necessary for entry into accounting positions in public, private, and governmental or other not-for-profit organizations, as well as the educational background necessary for entry into a graduate program. The BBA-Accounting concentration and the Master of Accountancy degrees are accredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB International). The BBA-Accounting concentration does not provide the total number of hours of coursework necessary to academically qualify a candidate for the Uniform CPA Examination in the State of Texas.

Professors

Kallol Bagchi
Contact Information: kbagchi@utep.edu; 915-747-5376
Education: BS, Calcutta University; MS, Calcutta University; Post Graduate Diploma, Jadavpur University; Ph D, Jadavpur University; Ph D, Florida Atlantic University

Peeter Kirs
Contact Information: pkirs@utep.edu; 915-747-7733
Education: BS, State University of New York at Buffalo; BA, State University of New York at Buffalo; MA, Seton Hall University; MBA, State University of New York at Buffalo; Ph D, State University of New York at Buffalo

Mourice Mahmood
Contact Information: mmahmood@utep.edu; 915-747-7754
Education: BS, University of California/Dacca University; MBA, California State University; Ph D, Texas Tech University

Waymond Rodgers
Contact Information: wrodgers@utep.edu; 915-747-7732
Education: Ph D, University of Southern California; Postdoctorate, University of Michigan

Godwin Udo
Contact Information: gudo@utep.edu; 915-747-7780
Education: HND, Institute of Mgt. & Tech- Enugu, Nigeris,1980; BSc/MEd: Bahelor of Science / Master of Educcation, University of Missouri-Columbia; MS, University of Missouri-Columbia; Ph D, Clemson University-Clemson
Research Interests: Management of Information Technology, Technology Transfer, Applications of Information Technology Production and Operations Management problems, Strategic Use of Emerging IT such as Data Visualization, Electronic Commerce, E-Business, and Data warehousing

Associate Professors

Richard Francis
Contact Information: rnfrancis@utep.edu; 915-747-7953
Education: BBA, The University of Oklahoma; MBA, University of Oklahoma; Ph D, University of Oklahoma
Research Interests: Financial accounting issues such as cash flow prediction, impact of leasing on financial statements, relevance of regulatory filings for financial markets, and methodological issues for archival research.

Leo Gemoets
Contact Information: lgemoets@utep.edu; 915-747-7763
Education: BS, The University of Texas at El Paso; MS, The University of Texas at El Paso; D.Sc., Saint Lucia Health Sciences University

Terry Ann Glandon
Contact Information: tglandon@utep.edu; 915-747-8681
Education: BA, Western Washington University; MBA, Eastern New Mexico University; Ph D, University of Texas at Arlington

Giorgio Gotti
Contact Information: ggotti@utep.edu; 915-747-7762
Education: Ph D, The University of Tennessee
Research Interests: International Accounting, Financial Accounting

Laura Trevino
Contact Information: lhall@utep.edu; 915-747-7743
Education: BS, University of Southern Mississippi; MBA, University of Southern Mississippi; Ph D, Florida State University
Research Interests: STEM programs in workforce diversity.

Assistant Professors

Richard Carrizosa
Contact Information: rdcarrizosa@utep.edu; 915-747-7750
Education: Ph D, New York University

Richard Cazier
Contact Information: racazier@utep.edu; 915-747-7755
Education: MS, Brigham Young University; BS, Brigham Young University; Ph D, University of Iowa

Adam Esplin
Contact Information: aesplin@utep.edu; 915-747-5449
Education: BA, Brigham Young University; MBA, Arizona State University; Ph D, Indiana University

David Folsom
Contact Information: dmfolsom@utep.edu; 915-747-7759
Education: BS, Brigham Young University; MA, Brigham Young University; Ph D, The University of Iowa

Grace Mubako
Contact Information: gnmubako@utep.edu; 915-747-7739
Education: Ph D, Southern Illinois University
Research Interests: Audit judgment and decision making, Management fraud, Internal Auditing, Corporate governance issues.

Rebeca Perez
Contact Information: rperez43@utep.edu; 915-747-6028
Education: Ph D, University of Oregon

Rachel Thompson
Contact Information: rthompson@utep.edu; 915-747-5406
Education: Ph D, University of Minnesota

Clinical Professor

Paulette Rodriguez
Contact Information: pdrodriguez3@utep.edu; 915-229-5841
Education: BBA, New Mexico State University; Masters of Accountancy, New Mexico State University
Research Interests: Cash Budgeting. LEAN Accounting, Rolling Forecasts

Assistant Instructors

Niharika Dayyala
Contact Information: ndayyala@utep.edu; 915-747-5496
Education: BS, Andhra University; MS, Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University; Ph D, University of Texas at El Paso
Research Interests: Information technology/information systems (IT/IS) diffusion and co-diffusion, software project management, strategies for successful software development, software sourcing, business value of IT/IS.

Xiang Gao
Contact Information: xgao@miners.utep.edu; 915-747-5192
Education: BA, East China University of Science and Technology; MBA, Idaho State University; MBA, Idaho State University; Ph D, The University of Texas at El Paso

Md Hasan
Contact Information: mmhasan@utep.edu; 915-747-5192
Education: BBA, Jahangirnagar University; MBA, University of Dhaka; MS, The University of Toledo

Visiting Assistant Professor

Marco Fasan
Contact Information: mfasan@utep.edu
Education: Ph D, Luiss Guido Carli