Accounting and Information Systems

Accounting

The Department of Accounting and Information Systems at The University of Texas at El Paso shares with the University its fundamental mission to provide the highest quality education to citizens of El Paso and the West Texas region. The Bachelor of Business Administration-Accounting (BBA-Accounting) is designed as an in-depth study of the basic topics of accounting and intends to provide students the knowledge and skills necessary for entry into accounting positions in public, private, and governmental or other not-for-profit organizations, as well as the educational background necessary for entry into a graduate program. The BBA-Accounting concentration and the Master of Accountancy degrees are accredited by the Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB International). The BBA-Accounting concentration does not provide the total number of hours of coursework necessary to academically qualify a candidate for the Uniform CPA Examination in the State of Texas.

  •  

Professor

Kallol Bagchi
Contact Information: kbagchi@utep.edu; 915-747-5376
Education: BS, Calcutta University; MS, Calcutta University; Post Graduate Diploma, Jadavpur University; Ph D, Jadavpur University; Ph D, Florida Atlantic University

Peeter Kirs
Contact Information: pkirs@utep.edu; 915-747-7733
Education: BS, State University of New York at Buffalo; BA, State University of New York at Buffalo; MA, Seton Hall University; MBA, State University of New York at Buffalo; Ph D, State University of New York at Buffalo

Waymond Rodgers
Contact Information: wrodgers@utep.edu; 915-747-7732
Education: Ph D, University of Southern California; Postdoctorate, University of Michigan

Godwin Udo
Contact Information: gudo@utep.edu; 915-747-7780
Education: HND, Institute of Mgt. & Tech- Enugu, Nigeris,1980; BSc/MEd: Bahelor of Science / Master of Educcation, University of Missouri-Columbia; MS, University of Missouri-Columbia; Ph D, Clemson University-Clemson
Research Interests: Management of Information Technology, Technology Transfer, Applications of Information Technology Production and Operations Management problems, Strategic Use of Emerging IT such as Data Visualization, Electronic Commerce, cyber-security, and Data mining, business intelligence, cloud computing, internet-of-things, and more.

Associate Professor

Richard Francis
Contact Information: rnfrancis@utep.edu; 915-747-7953
Education: BBA, The University of Oklahoma; MBA, University of Oklahoma; Ph D, University of Oklahoma
Research Interests: Financial accounting issues such as cash flow prediction, impact of leasing on financial statements, relevance of regulatory filings for financial markets, and methodological issues for archival research.

Leo Gemoets
Contact Information: lgemoets@utep.edu; 915-747-7763
Education: BS, The University of Texas at El Paso; MS, The University of Texas at El Paso; ScD, Saint Lucia Health Sciences University

Terry Ann Glandon
Contact Information: tglandon@utep.edu; 915-747-8681
Education: BA, Western Washington University; MBA, Eastern New Mexico University; Ph D, University of Texas at Arlington

Giorgio Gotti
Contact Information: ggotti@utep.edu; 915-747-7762
Education: Ph D, The University of Tennessee
Research Interests: International Accounting, Financial Accounting

Laura Trevino
Contact Information: lhall@utep.edu; 915-747-7743
Education: BS, University of Southern Mississippi; MBA, University of Southern Mississippi; Ph D, Florida State University
Research Interests: STEM programs in workforce diversity.

Assistant Professor

Richard Carrizosa
Contact Information: rdcarrizosa@utep.edu; 915-747-7750
Education: BS, Johns Hopkins University; Ph D, New York University

Adam Esplin
Contact Information: aesplin@utep.edu; 915-747-5449
Education: BA, Brigham Young University; MBA, Arizona State University; Ph D, Indiana University

David Folsom
Contact Information: dmfolsom@utep.edu; 915-747-7759
Education: BS, Brigham Young University; MA, Brigham Young University; Ph D, The University of Iowa

Yun Ke
Contact Information: yke@utep.edu; 915-747-7751
Education: B.Eng., Tsinghua University; MBA, Washington University in St. Louis; Ph D, University of British Columbia
Research Interests: Financial reporting quality, capital market, audit pricing, social trust/capital

Rebeca Perez
Contact Information: rperez43@utep.edu; 915-747-6028
Education: BBA, New Mexico State University; BAcc, New Mexico State University; BA, New Mexico State University; MAcc, New Mexico State University; Ph D, University of Oregon

Department of Accounting and Information Systems

260 Business Administration

Phone: 915.747.5192 

Email: cobacct@utep.edu