University of Texas at El Paso Academic Catalog

Academic Catalog

Educational Leadership and Foundations

Return to: College of Education

Our faculty is committed to providing quality and professional research, teaching, and service to the El Paso region and around the nation.

Through the context of our bi-national location, we train leaders for the contemporary challenges in education through an innovative interdisciplinary approach. We combine theory, practice, research, and service to create a supportive environment and nurture the development of scholars in practice who will lead in a variety of educational settings, including K-12, higher education, adult education, and the nonprofit sector.

The Department of Educational Leadership and Foundations offers three degree programs and two certification options that can be tailored to meet professionals’ career and educational goals. The Principal and Superintendent Certification programs train practicing educators to exceed State Board of Education Certification objectives in preparation for state examinations. Our master’s level degree options include programs in Educational Administration, with concentrations in K-12 and higher education. Opportunities are available to pursue the M.Ed. or M.A. (thesis option) in either concentration area. Students who pursue the concentration in K-12 may incorporate principal certification into their degree plan.

At the doctoral level, the Ed.D. program in Educational Leadership and Administration offers broad training for individuals interested in leadership roles in all aspects of the educational continuum. Our program’s graduates typically enter general career areas that include central office leadership, school site leadership, higher education leadership, and education policy and evaluation.

Students should consult the Graduate Catalog for information on degrees and programs in Educational Leadership and Foundations.

Chair

Rodolfo Rincones
Contact Information: rrincones@utep.edu; 915-747-7614
Education: BS, Escuela Superior de Agricultura "Hermanos Escobar; MA, New Mexico State University; Ph D, New Mexico State University

Professor

John Daresh
Contact Information: jdaresh@utep.edu; 915-747-7592
Education: Graduate Work, Applied Linguistics, Universite Laval; BA, Loras College; MA, DePaul University; Ph D, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Arturo Olivarez
Contact Information: aolivarez3@utep.edu; 915-747-5579
Education: BS, The University of Texas - Pan American (Now Rio Grande Valley); MS, The University of Texas - Pan American (Now Rio Grande Valley); Ph D, Texas A&M University

Clifton Tanabe
Contact Information: cstanabe@utep.edu; 915-747-5572

Associate Professor

Jesus Cisneros
Contact Information: jcisneros7@utep.edu; 915-747-6450
Education: BA, New Mexico State University; MS, Texas A&M University; Ph D, Arizona State University

Penelope Espinoza
Contact Information: ppespinoza@utep.edu; 915-747-8784
Education: BA, Stanford University; MA, University of Michigan; Ph D, University of Michigan

Edna Martinez
Contact Information: ednam@utep.edu; 915-747-8433
Education: Ph D, Clemson University

Rodolfo Rincones
Contact Information: rrincones@utep.edu; 915-747-7614
Education: BS, Escuela Superior de Agricultura "Hermanos Escobar; MA, New Mexico State University; Ph D, New Mexico State University

Richard Sorenson
Contact Information: rsorenson@utep.edu; 915-747-5383
Education: BS, Corpus Christi State Univeristy; MS, Corpus Christi University; EDD, Texas A&M University

Assistant Professor

Isela Pena
Contact Information: ipena3@utep.edu;
Education: EDD, University of Texas at El Paso

Wei-Ling Sun
Contact Information: wlsun@utep.edu; 915-747-7591
Education: Ph D, The University of Texas at Austin

Assistant Professor of Practice

Maria Cortez
Contact Information: mtcortez@utep.edu; 915-747-6276
Education: BBA, The University of Texas at El Paso; M.Ed, The University of Texas at El Paso; EDD, The University of Texas at El Paso

Associate Professor of Instruction

Eduardo Arellano
Contact Information: ecarellano@utep.edu; 915-747-7593
Education: BA, The University of Texas at El Paso; MPA, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, New Mexico State University

The University of Texas at El Paso
College of Education
Education Building, Room 414
500 W University
El Paso, Texas 79902

E: education@utep.edu
P: 915.747.5572
F: 915.747.5755

Visit Website