Return to: College of Education

701 Education Building
(915) 747-5221
edpsych@utep.edu

CHAIR: Dr. Rick Myer

Professor

Rick Myer
Contact Information: ramyer@utep.edu; 915-747-7680
Education: BA, Union University; Master of Divinity, Southern Baptist Theological Seminary; Ph D, University of Memphis
Research Interests: trauma therapy, crisis intervention, assessment for crisis and trauma, crisis management in organizations

Associate Professors

Beverley Argus-Calvo
Contact Information: bcalvo@utep.edu; 915-747-5266
Education: BA, Mercer University; Certification Course, Anglo Montessori School; MA, The George Washington University; Ph D, New Mexico State University
Research Interests: Parental involvement, extended learning, early college high school programs, bi-national education, children of military connected families, music and arts based programs for elementary children in undeserved communities, school mental health .

Helen Hammond
Contact Information: hhammond@utep.edu; 915-747-7642
Education: BS, University of Idaho; BS, University of Idaho; MA, University of Northern Colorado; Ph D, University of New Mexico

Lawrence Ingalls
Contact Information: lingalls@utep.edu; 915-747-7583
Education: BS, University of Idaho; BS, University of Idaho; MA, University of Northern Colorado; Ph D, University of New Mexico

Stephen Johnson
Contact Information: stevej@utep.edu; 915-747-7584
Education: BA, Abilene Christian University; M.MFT, Abilene Christian University; Ph D, University of Nebraska

Sarah Peterson
Contact Information: sepeterson@utep.edu; 915-747-7639
Education: BA, University of Iowa; MA, University of Wyoming; Ph D, Arizona State University
Research Interests: motivation and teachers' beliefs about motivation; school-based interventions to reduce violence; teachers' beliefs about violence

Robert Trussell
Contact Information: rptrussell@utep.edu; 915-747-7520
Education: BS, Frostburg State University; MA, University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, University of Missouri-Columbia
Research Interests: positive behavior support, functional behavior assessment, classroom universals, effective instructional practices for students with autism and emotional/behavioral disorders

Richard Williams
Contact Information: rcwilliams@utep.edu; 915-747-7481
Education: BA, University of West Florida; MA, University of South Carolina; MA, University of Iowa; Ph D, University of Minnesota

Assistant Professors

Carleton Brown
Contact Information: chbrown@utep.edu; 915-747-8687
Education: BA, University of Central Arkansas; M.Ed, University of Arkansas; M.Ed, University of Arkansas Little Rock; Ph D, University of Arkansas-Fayetteville
Research Interests: Two research foci: the first is examining the ever-changing role of the school counselor; the second research focus is examining counselors as leaders

Paul Carrola
Contact Information: pacarrola@utep.edu; 915-747-7496
Education: BA, The University of San Antonio; MA, The University of Texas at San Antonio; Ph D, The University of Texas at San Antonio
Research Interests: My research interests focuses on correctional counseling, counseling veterans, counselor burnout and vicarious trauma.

Sang Min Shin
Contact Information: sshin2@utep.edu; 915-747-7643
Education: BA, Sookmyung Women's University; MS, Johns Hopkins University; Ph D, University of Florida
Research Interests: Child Counseling (including play therapy and nature-based counseling), Filial Therapy (including parenting stress and child-parent relationship), Counseling Interventions for Children/Families in high poverty schools, Multicultural Counseling and Supervision, Counselor Development and Supervision

Anjanette Todd
Contact Information: atodd3@utep.edu; 915-747-7640
Education: BS, University of Florida, Gainesville-Department of Tourism; Ed.S., University of Florida, Gainesville-School of Human Development and Organizational Studies in Education; M.Ed, University of Florida, Gainesville-School of Human Development and Organizational Studies in Education; Ph D, University of South Florida, Tampa-Leadership, Counseling, Adult, Career and Higher Education
Research Interests: School counselor self-care, mindfulness, self-compassion

Visiting Assistant Professor

Marisa Macy
Contact Information: mamacy@utep.edu; 915-747-7640
Education: BA, University of Washington; Post Baccaulaureate, St. Martin's College; MS, University of Oregon; Ph D, University of Oregon
Research Interests: Assessment of children birth to age eight with delays, developmental screening, play, and personnel preparation