University of Texas at El Paso Academic Catalog

Academic Catalog

Teacher Education

Return to: College of Education

Located in the bilingual and binational context of the U.S.-Mexico border, The University of Texas at El Paso’s Department of Teacher Education prepares top-quality teachers, administrators and researchers who understand and engage in highly responsive teaching and learning practices that promote student success. Our programs benefit from our talented faculty who often use the University’s unique location on the U.S.-Mexico border to prepare tomorrow’s teachers, administrators and researchers to work with Latinos/as and English Language Learners.
 
The department is made up of two divisions: Bilingual Education, Early Childhood Education, Literacy/Biliteracy, Sociocultural Studies (BELSS) and Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) Education.
The Division of Bilingual Education, Early Childhood Education, Literacy/Biliteracy, Sociocultural Studies (BELSS) offers undergraduate and graduate programs that fuse research and practice to help students become world-class teachers, leaders, and specialists in the fields of bilingual/ESL, early childhood, literacy, and social studies education. Our students are committed to creating dynamic, high-quality, culturally- and linguistically-responsive learning environments that foster the success of all learners.
 
The Division of Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (STEM) Education prepares tomorrow’s teachers to work with students in multicultural settings who need to find motivation and engagement in their learning. STEM Education faculty integrate their research into the community and the classroom, and bring innovative and creative scholarship to life. Community service is critical in STEM Education and is a foundational aspect for integrating teaching and learning.

Programs

Bachelor of Science

Chair

Maria Teresa de la Piedra
Contact Information: mdelapiedra@utep.edu; 915-747-5527
Education: BA, Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú; MA, University of Texas at Austin; Ph D, University of Texas at Austin

Professor

Timothy Cashman
Contact Information: tcashman@utep.edu; 915-747-7713
Education: BA, University of Northern Iowa; MA, University of New Mexico; Ph D, Washington State University

Elena Izquierdo
Contact Information: ielena@utep.edu; 915-747-7595
Education: MA, University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, Georgetown University

William Robertson
Contact Information: robertson@utep.edu; 915-747-6426
Education: BA, Duke University; BS, Northern Arizona University; MA, University of Colorado; Ph D, University of New Mexico; BA, The University of Texas at El Paso

César Rossatto
Contact Information: crossatto@utep.edu; 915-747-5253
Education: Certificate, College of Philosophy, Science, and Liberal Arts; BA, College of Philosophy, Science, and Liberal Arts; Diploma, College of Philosophy, Science, and Liberal Arts; MA, California State University, Los Angeles; Ph D, University of California, Los Angeles

Mourat Tchoshanov
Contact Information: mouratt@utep.edu; 915-747-7668
Education: Specialist Degree, Turkmen State Pedagogical Institute; Candidate of Sciences Degree, Kazan State Pedagogical Institute; Ph D, Kazan State Pedagogical University

Josefina Tinajero
Contact Information: tinajero@utep.edu; 915-747-5552
Education: BS, The University of Texas at El Paso; Certificate, The University of Texas at El Paso; M.Ed, The University of Texas at El Paso; EDD, Texas A&M University, Kingsville; Certificate, Our Lady of the Lake University

Maria Teresa de la Piedra
Contact Information: mdelapiedra@utep.edu; 915-747-5527
Education: BA, Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú; MA, University of Texas at Austin; Ph D, University of Texas at Austin

Associate Professor

Song An
Contact Information: saan@utep.edu; 915-747-7616
Education: BA, Nanjing Arts Institute; Ph D, Texas A&M University

David Carrejo
Contact Information: dcarrejo@utep.edu; 915-747-5856
Education: BS, The University of Texas at El Paso; Master of Arts in Teaching (MAT), University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, The University of Texas at Austin

Christina Convertino
Contact Information: cconvertino@utep.edu; 915-747-7675
Education: BA, University of Vermont; MA, University of Arizona; Post-Bac Teaching Certification, University of Arizona; Ph D, University of Arizona

Alyse Hachey
Contact Information: ahachey@utep.edu; 915-747-7677
Education: BS, Eastern Michigan University; MA, University of Michigan; MA, Teachers College Columbia University; Ph D, Teachers College Columbia University; M.Ed, Teachers College Columbia University

Pei-Ling Hsu
Contact Information: phsu3@utep.edu; 915-747-6446
Education: BS, National Taiwan Normal University; MS, National Taiwan Normal University; Ph D, University of Victoria

So Jung Kim
Contact Information: skim7@utep.edu; 915-747-6221
Education: BA, Sungshin Women's University; MA, Yonsei University; MS, Illinois State University; Ph D, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Olga Kosheleva
Contact Information: olgak@utep.edu; 915-747-7588
Education: MS, Novosibirsk State University; POSTD, Special Astrophysical Observatory of the Russian Academy of Science; MS, University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, University of Texas at El Paso

William Medina-Jerez
Contact Information: wjmedinajerez@utep.edu; 915-747-8608
Education: BS, Universidad de Pamplona; MS, University of Iowa; Ph D, University of Iowa

Erika Mein
Contact Information: elmein2@utep.edu; 915-747-6378
Education: BA, University of Virginia; Ph D, University of Pennsylvania

Katherine Mortimer
Contact Information: ksmortimer@utep.edu; 915-747-5966
Education: BA, Cornell University; MA, School for International Training; Ph D, University of Pennsylvania

Reynaldo Reyes
Contact Information: rreyes9@utep.edu; 915-747-8817
Education: BA, Texas Tech University; MA, The University of New Mexico; Ph D, University of Colorado; TL

Milagros Seda
Contact Information: mseda@utep.edu; 915-747-7670
Education: B.Ed., University of Hawaii; M.Ed, University of Texas at El Paso; EDD, University of Houston

Daniel Tillman
Contact Information: datillman@utep.edu; 915-747-0153
Education: BA, Virginia Tech; MA, Virginia Tech; Ph D, University of Virginia

Charlotte Ullman
Contact Information: cullman@utep.edu; 915-747-7646
Education: BA, University of Wisconsin; MA, Northeastern Illinois University; Ph D, University of Arizona

Assistant Professor

Amy Bach
Contact Information: ajbach@utep.edu; 915-747-5791
Education: BA, University of Wisconsin-Madison; MA, Teachers College, Columbia University; EDD, University of Pennsylvania, Graduate School of Education

Sarah Jean Johnson
Contact Information: sjjohnson2@utep.edu; 915-747-5965
Education: BFA, University of Oklahoma; MS, Fordham University; Ph D, University of California, Los Angeles

Justice Walker
Contact Information: jtwalker@utep.edu; 915-747-7659
Education: BS, University of Miami; MS, University of Pennsylvania; Ph D, University of Pennsylvania

Cynthia Wiltshire
Contact Information: cawiltshire@utep.edu; 915-747-6655
Education: BA, The University of Virginia; MA, New York University; Steinhardt School of Culture, Education, & Human Development; MS, Teachers College Columbia University; EDD, Teachers College Columbia University

Assistant Professor of Instruction

Jessica Slade
Contact Information: jdgaines@utep.edu; 915-747-5566
Education: BA, University of the Pacific; M.Ed, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, University of Texas at El Paso

Clinical Assistant Professor

Joyce Asing Cashman
Contact Information: gasingcashman2@utep.edu; 915-747-8420
Education: BS, University Putra Malaysia; MS, Middlesex University; Ph D, New Mexico State University

Jose Maria Herrera
Contact Information: jherrera13@utep.edu; 915-747-5951
Education: BS, The University of Texas at Austin; MA, University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, Purdue University

Elsa Villa
Contact Information: evilla@utep.edu; 915-747-6948
Education: BS, The University of Texas at El Paso; MS, The University of Texas at El Paso; MA, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, New Mexico State University

The University of Texas at El Paso
College of Education
Education Building, Room 414
500 W University
El Paso, Texas 79902

E: education@utep.edu
P: 915.747.5572
F: 915.747.5755

Visit Website

Center for Student Success 

Education Building, Room 412

Phone: 915.747.5571

Email: coecss@utep.edu

Visit Website