University of Texas at El Paso Academic Catalog

Academic Catalog

Biological Sciences

Return to: College of Science

The Department of Biological Sciences offers graduate degrees based on scholarly and research achievement that goes beyond what is available at the undergraduate level of instruction and mentorship. Prospective students are expected to enter with reasonable academic preparation in the sciences and supporting fields, and to undertake completion of the degree requirements with a personal and professional commitment and enthusiasm that matches that of their graduate faculty mentors.    

The Department of Biological Sciences offers a Master of Science degree and Doctor of Philosophy degrees in Biosciences and Ecology & Evolutionary Biology.

Chair

Bruce Cushing
Contact Information: bcushing@utep.edu; 915-747-5844
Education: Ph D, Michigan State University

Professor

Renato Aguilera
Contact Information: raguilera@utep.edu; 915-747-6852
Education: BS, University of Texas at El Paso; MS, University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, University of California at Berkeley; POSTD, University of California at Berkeley

Stephen Aley
Contact Information: saley@utep.edu; 915-747-8813
Education: BS, California Institute of Technology; Post-Bac Watson Fellowship, John Curtin School for Medical Research; Ph D, The Rockefeller University

Igor Almeida
Contact Information: icalmeida@utep.edu; 915-747-6086
Education: Pharm B, Universidade Regional do Nordeste (currently UEPb); MS, Escola Paulista de Medicina (EPM),Federal University of Sao Paulo (UNIFESP); Ph D, Escola Paulista de Medicina-EPM (currently UNIFESP); Post-Doctoral, University of Dundee

Marc Cox
Contact Information: mbcox@utep.edu; 915-747-5429
Education: BS, University of Missouri; MSPH, Tulane University School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine; Ph D, Tulane University; Postdoctoral Fellowship NRSA (NIH/NIDDK), Mayo Clinic

Bruce Cushing
Contact Information: bcushing@utep.edu; 915-747-5844
Education: Ph D, Michigan State University

Siddhartha Das
Contact Information: sdas@utep.edu; 915-747-6896
Education: BS, University of Calcutta; MS, University of Calcutta; Ph D, University of Calcutta; Post-doctoral researcher, University of Pittsburgh; Post-doctoral researcher, University of California at San Diego (UCSD)

Paul Goldstein
Contact Information: pgoldste@utep.edu; 915-747-6999
Education: Ph D, York University

Eli Greenbaum
Contact Information: egreenbaum2@utep.edu; 915-747-5553
Education: High School Diploma, City Honors High School; BS, Binghamton University; MS, University of Louisiana at Monroe; Ph D, University of Kansas

Kyung-An Han
Contact Information: khan@utep.edu; 915-747-8950
Education: BS, Yonsei University; Ph D, State University of New York at Buffalo Roswell Park Cancer Institute

Jerry Johnson
Contact Information: jjohnson@utep.edu; 915-747-6984
Education: BS, Fort Hays Kansas State Univeristy; MS, the University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, Texas A&M University

Michael Kenney
Contact Information: mjkenney@utep.edu; 915-747-7540
Education: Ph D, Michigan State University

Robert Kirken
Contact Information: rkirken@utep.edu; 915-747-5536
Education: BA, Olivet College; Ph D, Wright State University; Postdoctoral Research Fellowship, National Institutes of Health/National Cancer Institute

Carl Lieb
Contact Information: clieb@utep.edu; 915-747-6987
Education: BS, Texas A&M University; MS, Texas A&M University; Ph D, University of California at Los Angeles

Vanessa Lougheed
Contact Information: vlougheed@utep.edu; 915-747-6887
Education: BS, McMaster University; Ph D, McMaster University

Rosa Maldonado
Contact Information: ramaldonado@utep.edu; 915-747-6891
Education: BS, Universidad Central de Venezuela, Facultad de Ciencias; Ph D, Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro, Institute of Biophysics Carlos Chagas Filho; Wellcome Trust International Research Fellow, University of Dundee

Markus Peterson
Contact Information: mjpeterson@utep.edu; 915-747-5354
Education: BS, University of Idaho; DVM, Washington State University; MS, Texas A&M University; Ph D, Texas A&M University

Craig Tweedie
Contact Information: ctweedie@utep.edu; 915-747-8448
Education: BS, The University of Queensland; BSc Honors, The University of Queensland; Ph D, The University of Queensland; Postdoc, Michigan State University

Elizabeth Walsh
Contact Information: ewalsh@utep.edu; 915-747-5421
Education: BS, University of Nevada, Las Vegas; Ph D, University of Nevada, Las Vegas

Jianying Zhang
Contact Information: jzhang@utep.edu; 915-747-6995
Education: MD, Zhengzhou University School of medicine (Former Henan Medical University); MPH, Xi'an Jiaotong University School of Medicine (Former Xi'an Medical University); Ph D, Xia'men University; POSTD, The Scripps Research Institute

Associate Professor

Anthony Darrouzet-Nardi
Contact Information: ajdarrouzetnardi@utep.edu; 915-747-6994
Education: BA, University of California, Berkeley; Ph D, University of Colorado

Giulio Francia
Contact Information: gfrancia@utep.edu; 915-747-8025
Education: BS, University of Bristol; Ph D, ICRF/Kings College London

Kristine Garza
Contact Information: kgarza@utep.edu; 915-747-8027
Education: BS, St. Mary's University; Ph D, University of Virginia

Arshad Khan
Contact Information: amkhan2@utep.edu; 915-747-8436
Education: BS, University of California at Riverside; MS, University of California at Riverside; Ph D, University of California at Riverside

Manuel Llano
Contact Information: mllano@utep.edu; 915-747-6885
Education: MD, Universidad de La Habana; MS, Universidad de La Habana; Ph D, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid

Jennie McLaren
Contact Information: jrmclaren@utep.edu; 915-747-8903
Education: BS, University of Regina; MS, University of Toronto; Ph D, The University of British Columbia

Manuel Miranda-Arango
Contact Information: mmiranda3@utep.edu; 915-747-6645
Education: BS, Biology School, at the National University of Mexico (UNAM); MS, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México; Ph D, National University of Mexico (UNAM)

Michael Moody
Contact Information: mlmoody@utep.edu; 915-747-5087
Education: BA, University of Redlands; BS, University of Arizona; MS, Washington State University; Ph D, University of Connecticut

Jeffrey Olimpo
Contact Information: jtolimpo@utep.edu; 915-747-6923
Education: BS, Ursinus College; MA, University of Maryland; MS, University of Maryland; Ph D, University of Maryland

Hugues Ouellet
Contact Information: houellet@utep.edu; 915-747-6607
Education: BS, Laval University; Ph D, Laval University

Anita Quintana
Contact Information: aquintana8@utep.edu; 915-747-8988
Education: BS, New Mexico State University; Ph D, University of New Mexico

German Rosas-Acosta
Contact Information: grosas3@utep.edu; 915-747-5122
Education: BS, Universidad de los Andes; MS, New York University - NYU Medical Center - Sackler Institute of Graduate Biomedical Sciences; Ph D, New York University - NYU Medical Center - Sackler Institute of Graduate Biomedical Sciences

Charles Spencer (he/him)
Contact Information: ctspencer@utep.edu; 915-747-8776
Education: BA, Washington University in St. Louis; Ph D, Saint Louis University

Charlotte Vines
Contact Information: cvines@utep.edu; 915-747-8127
Education: Ph D, Harvard University

Assistant Professor

Alexander Friedman
Contact Information: afriedman@utep.edu;
Education: Ph D, Bar-Ilan University

Michael Harvey
Contact Information: mgharvey@utep.edu; 915-747-6999
Education: BA, Cornell University; Ph D, Louisiana State University

Elizabeth LaRue
Contact Information: ealarue@utep.edu; 915-747-8058
Education: AAS, Muskegon Community College; BS, Grand Valley State University; MS, Grand Valley State University; Ph D, Purdue University

Philip Lavretsky
Contact Information: plavretsky@utep.edu; 915-747-6424
Education: BA, University of California-Davis; Ph D, Wright State University

Vicente Mata-Silva
Contact Information: vmata@utep.edu; 915-747-5959
Education: Ph D, The University of Texas at El Paso

Thomas McCabe
Contact Information: tmmccabe@utep.edu; 915-747-6986
Education: Ph D, University of Northern Colorado

Travis Moschak
Contact Information: tmmoschak@utep.edu;
Education: Ph D, Oregon Health & Science University

Kelly Ramirez
Contact Information: ksramirez4@utep.edu;
Education: BS, Washington State University; Ph D, University of Colorado

Sourav Roy
Contact Information: sroy1@utep.edu; 915-747-8757
Education: BS, University of Calcutta; MS, University of Kalyani; PG Diploma in Information Technology and Management, All India Management Association; MS, Indiana University Bloomington; Ph D, University of California Riverside

Jianjun Sun
Contact Information: jsun@utep.edu; 915-747-8905
Education: BS, China Agriculture University; MS, China Agriculture University; Ph D, Medical College of Wisconsin; Postdoctoral fellowship, Harvard Medical School

Sangeeta Tiwari
Contact Information: stiwari@utep.edu; 915-747-6889
Education: MS, Guru Nanak Dev University; BSEd, Punjab University; Ph D, Jawaharlal Nehru University/Institute of Microbial technology_CSIR

The University of Texas at El Paso
Department of Biological Sciences
College of Science
500 W University
El Paso, Texas 79902


Phone: 915.747.5844
Email: biology@utep.edu

Visit Department Website