University of Texas at El Paso Academic Catalog

Academic Catalog

Physics

Return to: College of Science

The Department of Physics offers studies leading to the degree of Master of Science in Physics with experimental and/or theoretical physics research in Atmospheric Physics, Biophysics, Computational Physics, Material Science, Medical Physics and Nuclear. 

General Requirements

The normal prerequisite to graduate studies in the Department of Physics is the bachelor's degree in Physics with a B average in Physics courses taken at the undergraduate level. The bachelor's degree coursework should include advanced undergraduate courses in Mechanics, Electromagnetics, Modern Physics, Quantum Mechanics, Thermal Physics, and advanced laboratory practice. Any deficiency must be removed before the petition is made for candidacy for the MS degree.

Chair

Mark Pederson
Contact Information: mrpederson@utep.edu;
Education: BS, University of Michigan; Ph D, University of Wisconsin

Professor

Tunna Baruah
Contact Information: tbaruah@utep.edu; 915-747-7529
Education: Ph D, University of Pune

Rosa Fitzgerald
Contact Information: rfitzgerald@utep.edu; 915-747-7530
Education: BS, Universidad Nacional de Ingeniería; MS, Adelphi University; Ph D, University of California, Riverside

Jorge Lopez
Contact Information: jorgelopez@utep.edu; 915-747-7528
Education: BS, University of Texas at El Paso; MS, University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, Texas A&M University

Felicia Manciu
Contact Information: fsmanciu@utep.edu; 915-747-8472
Education: BS, University of Bucharest; Ph D, The State University of New York at Buffalo

Mark Pederson
Contact Information: mrpederson@utep.edu;
Education: BS, University of Michigan; Ph D, University of Wisconsin

Rajendra Zope
Contact Information: rzope@utep.edu; 915-747-8742
Education: Ph D, University of Poona

Associate Professor

Chunqiang Li
Contact Information: cli@utep.edu; 915-747-7537
Education: BS, Peking University; MS, Chinese Academy of Sciences; Ph D, Princeton University

Marian Manciu
Contact Information: mmanciu@utep.edu; 915-747-7531
Education: BS, University of Bucharest; Ph D, State University of New York at Buffalo

Ramon Ravelo
Contact Information: rravelo@utep.edu; 915-747-5620
Education: BA, University of California, Santa Cruz; MS, Boston University; Ph D, Boston University

Assistant Professor

Jose Bañuelos
Contact Information: jlbanuelos@utep.edu; 915-747-7535
Education: BS, New Mexico State University; Ph D, New Mexico State University; Postdoc, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Ahmed El-Gendy
Contact Information: aelgendy@utep.edu; 915-747-6382
Education: BA, Alexandria University; MS, Alexandria University; Ph D, Heidelberg University

Eunja Kim
Contact Information: ekim4@utep.edu; 915-747-8095
Education: Ph D, Jeonbuk National University

Lin Li
Contact Information: lli5@utep.edu; 915-747-8423
Education: BA, Huazhong University of Science and Technology; Ph D, Huazhong University of Science and Technology

Jorge Munoz
Contact Information: jamunoz@utep.edu; 915-747-7541
Education: BS, The University of Texas at El Paso; MS, California Institute of Technology; Ph D, California Institute of Technology

Harikrishnan Nair
Contact Information: hnair@utep.edu; 715-747-7544
Education: Ph D, Indian institute of Science, India

Yun-Pil Shim
Contact Information: yshim@utep.edu; 915-747-8355
Education: BS, Seoul National University; Ph D, The University of Texas at Austin

Srinivasa Rao Singamaneni
Contact Information: srao@utep.edu; 915-747-5635
Education: Ph D, Indian Institute of Science; Postdoctoral Scholar, University of Leuven; National Research Council Research Associate, North Carolina State University

Programs

Master of Science

Certificate

The University of Texas at El Paso

Department of Physics

Physical Science Building, Room 210 
Phone: 915.747.5715
Email: physics@utep.edu

Visit Department Website