Return to: College of Science

124 Bell Hall
915.747.5761
mathdept@math.utep.edu

The Mathematical Sciences Department at UTEP offers a program of instruction and research leading to MS degrees in the areas of Pure and Applied Mathematics and in Statistics, and a MA degree in Teaching of Mathematics (MATM) with a major in Mathematics. The department also houses the Professional Master degree in Bioinformatics and participates in the Master and PhD programs in Computational Sciences.

Requirements for Admission

  1. Bachelor's degree from an accredited institution in the United States or proof of equivalent education in a foreign institution.
  2. Undergraduate degree in Mathematics.
  3. TOEFL score of 550 or higher for international applicants whose first language is not English or who have not completed a university degree in the U.S. or in another English-Speaking institution.
  4. Two letters of reference.

Programs

Master of Arts in Teaching

Master of Science

Certificate

CHAIR: Dr. Maria Mariani

Professors

Joe Guthrie
Contact Information: jguthrie@utep.edu; 915-747-6755
Education: Ph D, Texas Christian University; MA, Texas Christian University; BA, University of Texas

Mohamed Khamsi
Contact Information: mohamed@utep.edu; 915-747-6763
Education: Ph D, University of Paris 6

Lawrence Lesser
Contact Information: Lesser@utep.edu; 915-747-6845
Education: BA, Rice University; MS, The University of Texas at Austin; Ph D, The University of Texas at Austin
Research Interests: mathematics education, statistics education, equity, teacher education, motivation, intuition, language, culture, humanistic mathematics

Nancy Marcus
Contact Information: nancymarcus@utep.edu; 915-747-6750
Education: BS, Texas Western College; MS, University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, New Mexico State University (NMSU)

Emil Schwab
Contact Information: eschwab@utep.edu; 915-747-6758
Education: BS, West University of Timisoara; Ph D, Babeș-Bolyai University

Mourat Tchoshanov
Contact Information: mouratt@utep.edu; 915-747-7668
Education: Specialist Degree, Turkmen State Pedagogical Institute; Candidate of Sciences Degree, Kazan State Pedagogical Institute; Ph D, Kazan State Pedagogical University
Research Interests: Cognition and representation in mathematics learning, teacher knowledge and student achievement, engineering of learning, engineering of teacher learning, and cross-national studies in mathematics education.

Piotr Wojciechowski
Contact Information: piotrw@utep.edu; 915-747-6774
Education: Ph D, Bowling Green State University

Associate Professors

Leslie Foged
Contact Information: foged@math.utep.edu; 915-747-6765
Education: BA, Midland Lutheran College; Ph D, Washington University (St.Louis)

Helmut Knaust
Contact Information: hknaust@utep.edu; 915-747-7002
Education: Diplom-Mathematiker, Rheinische Friedrich-Wilhelms Universitaet; Ph D, The University of Texas at Austin

Kien Lim
Contact Information: kienlim@utep.edu; 915-747-6772
Education: General Certificate of Education ‘A’ Level, Raffles Junior College, Singapore; BA, National University of Singapore; MS, University of Wyoming; Ph D, University of California San Diego & San Diego State University
Research Interests: Problem-solving disposition, Mathematical habits of mind, Ways of thinking, Proportional reasoning, Algebraic reasoning, DNR-based instruction, Student cognition, Teacher preparation, Classroom voting

Osvaldo Mendez
Contact Information: osmendez@utep.edu; 915-747-6862
Education: Licenciado en Matematicas, Universidad Nacional de Rosario; Ph D, University of Minnesota; MS, University of Minnesota

Luis Valdez-Sanchez
Contact Information: lvsanchez@utep.edu; 915-747-6766
Education: BS, University of Texas at El Paso, TX; MA, University of California; Ph D, University of California

Assistant Professors

Sangjin Kim
Contact Information: skim10@utep.edu; 915-747-8246
Education: Ph D, University of Georgia, Athens

Jonghyun Yun
Contact Information: jyun@utep.edu; 915-747-6759
Education: Ph D, University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign

Xianyi Zeng
Contact Information: xzeng@utep.edu; 915-747-6759
Education: Ph D, Stanford University

Visiting Assistant Professor

Michael Pokojovy
Contact Information: mpokojovy@utep.edu; 915-747-6761
Education: Ph D, University of Konstanz