University of Texas at El Paso Academic Catalog

Academic Catalog

Computer Science

Return to: College of Engineering

The Computer Science Department contributes to UTEP’s history of excellence by providing a BS in Computer Science program of the highest quality through a participatory approach to education, research, and service to the community. The undergraduate program has been accredited by the Computer Science Accreditation Commission since October 1, 1988. UTEP is designated by the NSA and DHS as a National Center of Academic Excellence (NCAE) in Information Assurance Education and a NCAE in Cyber Operations.

Vision

The vision of the Department of Computer Science is to provide computer science programs of the highest quality through a participatory approach to education, research, and service to the community.

Mission

The mission of the Department of Computer Science is to serve our binational region, the nation, and the world by providing access to excellence through:

  • Innovative educational programs that provide inclusive and effective learning environments and prepare graduates to be ethical professionals, leaders, and innovators in computer science (Student Success),
  • Pioneering research programs that foster the creation of computing knowledge and invention of new technologies (Research and Innovation),
  • Design, development, and potential commercialization of technologies to solve socially-relevant science and engineering problems (Commercialization), and
  • Active local and global partnerships and collaborations with educational, government, non-profit, and commercial organizations that align with our commitment to diversity (Collaboration).

Chair

Salamah Salamah
Contact Information: isalamah@utep.edu; 915-747-6671
Education: BS, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, The University of Texas at El Paso

Professor

Martine Ceberio
Contact Information: mceberio@utep.edu; 915-747-6950
Education: MS, University of Nantes; DEA (Diplome d'Etudes Approfondies), University of Nantes; Ph D, University of Nantes

Olac Fuentes
Contact Information: ofuentes@utep.edu; 915-747-6956
Education: BS, Instituto Tecnológico de Chihuahua; MS, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, University of Rochester

Ann Gates
Contact Information: agates@utep.edu; 915-747-7689
Education: BS, UTEP; MS, UTEP; Ph D, New Mexico State University

Vladik Kreinovich
Contact Information: vladik@utep.edu; 915-747-6951
Education: MS, Leningrad University; BS, Leningrad University; Ph D, Institute of Mathematics, Siberian Branch, Soviet Academy of Sciences

Nigel Ward
Contact Information: nigel@utep.edu; 915-747-6827
Education: BS, The University of Michigan; Ph D, University of California, Berkeley

Associate Professor

Yoonsik Cheon
Contact Information: ycheon@utep.edu; 915-747-8028
Education: BS, Korea University; MS, Iowa State University; Ph D, Iowa State University

Eric Freudenthal
Contact Information: efreudenthal@utep.edu; 915-747-6954
Education: BA, New York University; Ph D, New York University Courant Institute

Mahmud Hossain
Contact Information: mhossain@utep.edu; 915-747-6340
Education: MS, Montana State University; Ph D, Virginia Tech

Christopher Kiekintveld
Contact Information: cdkiekintveld@utep.edu; 915-747-5564
Education: Ph D, University of Michigan

Luc Longpré
Contact Information: longpre@utep.edu; 915-747-6804
Education: BS, Université de Montréal; MS, Université de Montréal; Ph D, Cornell University

Shirley Moore
Contact Information: svmoore@utep.edu; 915-747-5054
Education: BA, Indiana University; M.Ed, University of Illinois; MS, Wichita State University; Ph D, Purdue University

Salamah Salamah
Contact Information: isalamah@utep.edu; 915-747-6671
Education: BS, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, The University of Texas at El Paso

Natalia Villanueva Rosales
Contact Information: nvillanuevarosales@utep.edu; 915-747-8643
Education: BS, Panamerican University Campus Bonaterra; Double Major in Statistical Methods, Center for Mathematical Research; MS, University of Edinburgh; Ph D, Carleton University

Assistant Professor

Palvi Aggarwal
Contact Information: paggarwal@utep.edu; 915-747-6399
Education: B.Eng., Punjab Technical University; MS, Thapar University; Ph D, Indian Institute of Technology Mandi

Monika Akbar
Contact Information: makbar@utep.edu; 915-747-5883
Education: MS, Montana State University-Bozeman; Ph D, Virginia Tech

Omar Badreddin
Contact Information: obbadreddin@utep.edu; 915-747-8381
Education: BS, University of Massachusetts; MS, American University; Ph D, University of Ottawa; PostDoc, University of Ottawa

Daniel DeBlasio
Contact Information: dfdeblasio@utep.edu; 915-747-6110
Education: BS, University of Central Florida; MS, University of Central Florida; Ph D, University of Arizona

Saeid Tizpaz Niari
Contact Information: saeid@utep.edu;
Education: Ph D, University of Colorado at Boulder

Deepak Tosh
Contact Information: dktosh@utep.edu; 915-747-6410
Education: BS, Biju Patnaik University of Technology; MS, University of Hyderabad; Ph D, University of Nevada Reno

Assistant Professor of Practice

Diego Aguirre
Contact Information: daguirre6@utep.edu;
Education: MS, The University of Texas at El Paso

Professor of Practice

Darren Cone
Contact Information: dmcone@utep.edu; 915-747-5785
Education: BS, The University of Texas at El Paso; MS, The University of Texas at El Paso

Assistant Professor of Instruction

Kuldeep Singh
Contact Information: ksingh2@utep.edu;
Education: Ph D, Thapar University, India

Associate Professor of Instruction

Julio Cesar Urenda Castaneda
Contact Information: jcurenda@utep.edu; 915-747-7005
Education: BS, The University of Texas at El Paso; MS, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, New Mexico State University; MS, The University of Texas at El Paso

Clinical Associate Professor

Oscar Mondragon Campos
Contact Information: oamondragon@utep.edu; 915-747-8015
Education: BS, Instituto Politécnico Nacional - Escuela Superior de Ingeniería Mecánica y Eléctrica; MS, California Satae University at Sacramento; Ph D, University of Texas at El Paso

Programs

Bachelor of Science in Computer Science

Minor

The University of Texas at El Paso
Department of Computer Science
Chemistry & Computer Science Building, Room 3.1100
500 W University Ave
El Paso, Texas 79902


Phone: 915.747.5480
Fax: 915.747.5030
Website: http://cs.utep.edu

Visit Department Website