Return to: College of Engineering

Chemistry & Computer Science Building 3.1100
Phone:915.747.5480
Fax: 915.747.5030
http://www.cs.utep.edu

The Computer Science Department contributes to UTEP’s history of excellence by providing a BS in Computer Science program of the highest quality through a participatory approach to education, research, and service to the community. The undergraduate program has been accredited by the Computer Science Accreditation Commission since October 1, 1988. UTEP is designated by the NSA and DHS as a national Center of Academic Excellence in Information Assurance Education.

Vision

The vision of the Department of Computer Science is to provide computer science programs of the highest quality through a participatory approach to education, research, and service to the community.

Mission

The Department of Computer Science will serve the region, the nation, and the world by providing access to excellence through:

  • An innovative educational program that contributes to effective learning for our students, and that prepares graduates to be leaders and innovators in computer science,
  • Pioneering research programs that foster the creation of computing knowledge and invention of new technologies,
  • Design, development, and potential commercialization of technologies to solve science and engineering problems, and
  • Active partnerships and collaborations with educational, government, non-profit, and commercial organizations, maintaining a commitment to diversity.

Programs

Bachelor of Science in Computer Science

Minor

CHAIR: Dr. Ann Gates

Professors

Ann Gates
Contact Information: agates@utep.edu; 915-747-7689
Education: BS, UTEP; MS, UTEP; Ph D, New Mexico State University

Vladik Kreinovich
Contact Information: vladik@utep.edu; 915-747-6951
Education: MS, Leningrad University; BS, Leningrad University; Ph D, Institute of Mathematics, Siberian Branch, Soviet Academy of Sciences

Patricia Teller
Contact Information: pteller@utep.edu; 915-747-5939
Education: BA, New York University; MS, New York University; Ph D, New York University

Nigel Ward
Contact Information: nigel@utep.edu; 915-747-6827
Education: BS, University of Michigan; Ph D, University of California at Berkeley

Associate Professors

Martine Ceberio
Contact Information: mceberio@utep.edu; 915-747-6950
Education: MS, University of Nantes; DEA (Diplome d'Etudes Approfondies), University of Nantes; Ph D, University of Nantes
Research Interests: continuous constraint solving, global optimization, interval computations, multi-criteria decision making, and their applications

Yoonsik Cheon
Contact Information: ycheon@utep.edu; 915-747-8028
Education: BS, Korea University; MS, Iowa State University; Ph D, Iowa State University

Christopher Kiekintveld
Contact Information: cdkiekintveld@utep.edu; 915-747-5564
Education: Ph D, University of Michigan

Luc Longpré
Contact Information: longpre@utep.edu; 915-747-6804
Education: BS, Université de Montréal; MS, Université de Montréal; Ph D, Cornell University

Salamah Salamah
Contact Information: isalamah@utep.edu; 915-747-6671
Education: BS, University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, University of Texas at El Paso
Research Interests: Software Engineering Education, Software Engineering V&V, Software Architecture

Assistant Professors

Monika Akbar
Contact Information: makbar@utep.edu; 915-747-5995
Education: Ph D, Virginia Tech

Omar Badreddin
Contact Information: obbadreddin@utep.edu
Education: BS, University of Massachusetts; MS, American University; Ph D, University of Ottawa; PostDoc, University of Ottawa

Eric Freudenthal
Contact Information: efreudenthal@utep.edu; 915-747-6954
Education: BA, New York University; Ph D, New York University

Mahmud Hossain
Contact Information: mhossain@utep.edu; 915-747-6340
Education: MS, Montana State University; Ph D, Virginia Tech

Natalia Villanueva Rosales
Contact Information: nvillanuevarosales@utep.edu; 915-747-8643
Education: BS, Panamerican University Campus Bonaterra; Double Major in Statistical Methods, Center for Mathematical Research; MS, University of Edinburgh; Ph D, Carleton University
Research Interests: Interdisciplinary research teams, biomedical informatics, climate change, water availability.

Research Assistant Professor

Karen Villaverde
Contact Information: kpvillaverde@utep.edu; 915-747-5995
Education: BS, The University of Texas at El Paso; MS, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, New Mexico State University
Research Interests: Computer Science Education, Educational Computer Gaming