Mechanical Engineering

Return to: College of Engineering

Mechanical Engineering

Programs

Bachelor of Science 

Chair

 John Chessa

Professor

Barry Benedict
Contact Information: babenedict@utep.edu; 915-747-5604
Education: Ph D, University of Florida

Arturo Bronson
Contact Information: abronson@utep.edu; 915-747-6931
Education: BS, The University of Texas at El Paso; MS, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, The Ohio State University

John Chessa
Contact Information: jfchessa@utep.edu; 915-747-6900
Education: BS, Union College; MS, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute; Ph D, Northwestern University
Research Interests: Computational Mechanics, Finite Element Methods, Numerical Methods, Enriched Finite Element Methods, X-FEM, Molecular Dynamics, Density Functional Theory, Multiscale computations, Computational Materials Design, High Temperature Ceramics

Ahsan Choudhuri
Contact Information: ahsan@utep.edu; 915-747-6906
Education: BS, Khulna University of Engineering and Technology; MS, University of Oklahoma; Ph D, University of Oklahoma
Research Interests: Aerospace Systems, Energy Engineering

Louis Everett
Contact Information: leverett@utep.edu; 915-747-7987
Education: BS, The University of Texas at El Paso; MS, Stanford University; Ph D, Texas A&M University
Research Interests: Embedded controls.

Yirong Lin
Contact Information: ylin3@utep.edu; 915-747-6015
Education: BS, Harbin Engineering University; MS, Harbin Institute of Technology; Ph D, Arizona State Univerisity
Research Interests: Nano composites, Energy harvesting and storage, Multifunctional composites.

Norman Love
Contact Information: ndlove@utep.edu; 915-747-8981
Education: BS, The University of Texas El Paso; MS, The University of Texas El Paso; Ph D, University of Oklahoma
Research Interests: Oxy-Combustion, Magnetohydrodynamics, Direct Power Extraction, High temperature sensors, Supercritical SCO2 Cycles, Hybrid Rockets, Green Propellants, Technology in the classroom, Blended Learning, Project Based Learning

Eric MacDonald
Contact Information: emac@utep.edu; 915-747-6959
Education: BS, The University of Texas at Austin; MS, The University of Texas at Austin; Ph D, The University of Texas at Austin
Research Interests: 3D Printed Electronics, Additive Manufacturing, Low Power Electronics, Process Monitoring in Additive Manufacturing

Chintalapalle Ramana
Contact Information: rvchintalapalle@utep.edu; 915-747-8690
Education: BS, Sri Krishnadevaraya University; MS, Sri Venkateswara University; Ph D, Sri Venkateswara University

Evgeny Shafirovich
Contact Information: eshafirovich2@utep.edu; 915-747-6465
Education: MS, Moscow Aviation Institute; Ph D, Institute of Chemical Physics, Russian Academy of Sciences

Ryan Wicker
Contact Information: rwicker@utep.edu; 915-747-7099
Education: BS, The University of Texas at Austin; MS, Stanford University; Ph D, Stanford University

Associate Professor

Vinod Kumar
Contact Information: vkumar@utep.edu; 915-747-6075
Education: BS, Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur; Ph D, Rice Universitv.

Francisco Medina
Contact Information: frmedina@utep.edu; 915-747-8342
Education: BS, The University of Texas at El Paso; MS, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, The University of Texas at El Paso

Calvin Stewart
Contact Information: cmstewart@utep.edu; 407-747-6179
Education: BS, University of Central Florida (UCF); MS, University of Central Florida (UCF); Ph D, University of Central Florida (UCF)

Assistant Professor

Alejandra Castellanos
Contact Information: castellanosa@utep.edu; 915-747-7894
Education: BS, The University of Texas at El Paso; MS, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, The University of Wisconsin–Madison

David Espalin
Contact Information: despalin@utep.edu; 915-747-6078
Education: BS, The University of Texas at El Paso; MS, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, The University of Texas at El Paso

Amelia Greig
Contact Information: adgreig@utep.edu; 915-747-8378
Education: BS, University of Adelaide; B.Eng., University of Adelaide; Ph D, The Australian National University

Md Mahamudur Rahman
Contact Information: mrahman15@utep.edu; 915-747-8305
Education: Ph D, Drexel University

Research Assistant Professor

Angel Flores-Abad
Contact Information: afloresabad@utep.edu; 915-747-6902
Education: BS, Orizaba Institute of Technology; MS, National Center for Research and Development; Ph D, New Mexico State University

Joshua Green
Contact Information: jtgreen2@utep.edu; 915-747-8427
Education: Ph D, The University of Texas at EL Paso

Arifur Khan
Contact Information: arkhan@utep.edu; 915-747-5484
Education: BS, University of Dhaka; MS, University of Dhaka; Ph D, Kyushu Institute of Technology

Joel Quintana
Contact Information: jquintana@utep.edu; 915-747-5472
Education: MS, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, The University of Texas at El Paso

Cesar Terrazas-Najera
Contact Information: caterrazas2@utep.edu; 915-747-5556
Education: Ph D, The University of Texas at El Paso

Assistant Professor of Practice

Omar Cedillos Barraza
Contact Information: ocedillosb@utep.edu; 915-747-5863
Education: BS, Instituto Tecnológico y de Estudios Superiores de Monterrey (ITESM) Campus Monterrey; MS, Universidad Autónoma de Ciudad Juárez; Ph D, Imperial College London

Department of Mechanical Engineering

Engineering Annex A126
Phone: 915.747.5450
Email: TellMe@utep.edu