University of Texas at El Paso Academic Catalog

Academic Catalog

Electrical and Computer Engineering

Return to: College of Engineering

Vision

The Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering will provide programs of the highest quality to produce world class engineers who can address challenges of the millennium. 

Mission

The Department of Electrical & Computer Engineering will:

  • Dedicate itself to providing its students with the skills, knowledge and attitudes that will allow its graduates to succeed as engineers and leaders.
  • Maintain a vital, state-of-the art research enterprise, which provides its students and faculty with opportunities to create, interpret, apply and disseminate knowledge.
  • Prepare its graduates for life-long learning to meet intellectual, ethical and career challenges.
  • Recognize and act upon the special mandate to make high quality engineering education available to the residents of El Paso and the surrounding region.

Chair

Miguel Velez-Reyes
Contact Information: mvelezreyes@utep.edu; 915-747-5534
Education: BS, University of Puerto Rico at Mayaguez; MS, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Ph D, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Professor

Benjamin Flores
Contact Information: bflores@utep.edu; 915-747-6961
Education: BS, UTEP; MS, UTEP; Ph D, Arizona State University

Patricia Nava
Contact Information: pnava@utep.edu; 915-747-5994
Education: BSEE, New Mexico State University; MSEE, New Mexico State University; Ph D, New Mexico State University

Raymond Rumpf
Contact Information: rcrumpf@utep.edu; 915-747-6958
Education: BS, Florida Institute of Technology; MS, Florida Institute of Technology; Ph D, University of Central Florida

Miguel Velez-Reyes
Contact Information: mvelezreyes@utep.edu; 915-747-5534
Education: BS, University of Puerto Rico at Mayaguez; MS, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Ph D, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

David Zubia
Contact Information: dzubia@utep.edu; 915-747-6970
Education: BS, The University of Texas at El Paso; MS, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, University of New Mexico

Associate Professor

Sergio Cabrera
Contact Information: sergioc@utep.edu; 915-747-6968
Education: BS, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; MS, University of Arizona; Ph D, Rice University

Paras Mandal
Contact Information: pmandal@utep.edu; 915-747-8653
Education: MS, Asian Institute of Technology; Ph D, University of the Ryukyus

Michael McGarry
Contact Information: mpmcgarry@utep.edu; 915-747-6955
Education: BS, Polytechnic University; MS, Arizona State University; Ph D, Arizona State University

John Moya
Contact Information: jmoya@utep.edu; 915-747-6972
Education: BS, New Mexico State University; MS, New Mexico State University; Ph D, The University of New Mexico

Ricardo von Borries
Contact Information: rvonborries@utep.edu; 915-747-7959
Education: BS, Universidade de Brasília; MS, Universidade Federal do Rio de Janeiro; Ph D, Rice University

Assistant Professor

Sai Mounika Errapotu
Contact Information: serrapotu@utep.edu; 915-747-6964
Education: Ph D, University of Houston

Robert Roberts
Contact Information: rcroberts@utep.edu; 915-747-6959
Education: BS, Case Western Reserve University; MS, Case Western Reserve University; Ph D, Case Western Reserve University

Yuanrui Sang
Contact Information: ysang@utep.edu; 915-747-6632
Education: Ph D, The University of Utah

Professor of Practice

Virgilio Gonzalez
Contact Information: vgonzalez3@utep.edu; 915-747-6622
Education: BS, Instituto Tecnologico y de Estudios Superiores de Monterrey. Campus Estado de Mexico; MS, Instituto Tecnologico y de Estudios Superiores de Monterrey. Campus Estado de Mexico; Ph D, The University of Texas at El Paso

Assistant Professor of Instruction

Jesus Gutierrez Vega
Contact Information: jjgutierrez4@utep.edu; 915-747-8937
Education: BS, The University of Texas at El Paso; MSEE, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, The University of Texas at El Paso

 
 

The University of Texas at El Paso
College of Engineering
Electrical & Computer Engineering
Engineering Building, Room A-325
500 W University
El Paso, Texas 79968


Phone: 915.747.5470

Fax: 915.747.7871

Email: ece@ece.utep.edu

Visit Department Website