Return to: College of Liberal Arts

202 Cotton Memorial Building
915.747.5129
communications@utep.edu

The department offers a Master of Arts degree in Communication.

Programs

Master of Arts

CHAIR: Dr. Stacey Sowards

Professor

Tarla Peterson
Contact Information: trpeterson@utep.edu; 915-747-5913
Education: Ph D, Washington State University, 2018

Arvind Singhal
Contact Information: asinghal@utep.edu; 915-747-5129
Education: MA, University of Southern California; Ph D, University of Southern California, 2018

Stacey Sowards
Contact Information: ssowards@utep.edu; 915-747-8854
Education: MA, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, University of Kansas, 2018

Chung-Chuan Yang
Contact Information: cyang@utep.edu; 915-747-6517
Education: Ph D, Ohio State University, 2018
Research Interests: Advertising, International Advertising, New Media and Advertising, Telecommunications Policy in the Asia Pacific Region

Associate Professor

Roberto Avant-Mier
Contact Information: ravantmier@utep.edu; 915-747-6588
Education: Ph D, University of Utah, 2018
Research Interests: Communication/Media studies, Critical/Cultural studies, Latino(a)/Chicana(o) studies, Popular Music, and Intercultural Communication

Eduardo Barrera
Contact Information: eduardo@utep.edu; 915-747-6516
Education: Ph D, University of Texas at Austin, 2018

Frank Perez
Contact Information: fperez1@utep.edu; 915-747-6287
Education: BA, University of Texas at El Paso; MA, University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, University of New Mexico, 2018
Research Interests: Chicana/o studies (i.e., identity issues), intercultural communication, Latina/o studies, popular culture, mass media, public art

Richard Pineda
Contact Information: rdpineda@utep.edu; 915-747-6678
Education: Ph D, Wayne State University, 2018

Thomas Ruggiero
Contact Information: truggier@utep.edu; 915-747-5762
Education: BA, University of Oregon School of Journalism; MS, Shippensburg University; Ph D, Bowling Green State University, 2018

Mary Trejo
Contact Information: mtrejo@utep.edu; 915-747-5431
Education: Ph D, The University of Tulsa, 2018

Assistant Professor

Yannick Atouba
Contact Information: yatouba@utep.edu;
Education: Ph D, University of Illinois, 2018
Research Interests: interorganizational organizing, organizational behavior, organizational communication

Maria de los Angeles Flores
Contact Information: mdelosangelesflores@utep.edu; 915-747-8798
Education: Ph D, University of Texas at Austin, 2018

Sabiha Khan
Contact Information: skhan2@utep.edu; 915-747-7690
Education: Ph D, University of Michigan, 2018

Yoon Hi Sung
Contact Information: yhsung@utep.edu; 915-747-6292
Education: MA, Yonsei University; Ph D, The University of Texas at Austin, 2018

Carlos Tarin
Contact Information: catarin@utep.edu; 915-747-6202
Education: BA, University of Texas at El Paso; MA, University of Colorado -- Boulder; Ph D, University of Utah, 2018
Research Interests: organizational communication, environmental communication, rhetorical theory, forensics pedagogy, international communication, non-profit organizing

Sarah Upton
Contact Information: smupton@utep.edu;
Education: Ph D, University of New Mexico, 2018

Assistant Professor of Practice

Rhonda Dore
Contact Information: rrdore@utep.edu;
Education: BA, The University of Texas at El Paso, 2018

Kate Gannon
Contact Information: kagannon@utep.edu;
Education: MFA, University of Texas at El Paso, 2018