Return to: College of Liberal Arts

415 Liberal Arts Building
915.747.-5713
www.utep.edu/cw

The Department of Creative Writing is designed to provide the highest professional preparation and training to individuals who wish to pursue careers in writing or the teaching of writing. Students can choose to take Creative Writing and Literature courses in English, Spanish, or a combination of the two languages. Each year, a variety of fully bilingual courses is offered. The MFA curriculum culminates in the writing of a book-length manuscript of original creative work (thesis).

Programs

Master of Fine Arts

CHAIR: Lex Williford

Professor

Daniel Chacon
Contact Information: danchacon@utep.edu; 915-747-6255
Education: MFA, University of Oregon, 2018

Benjamin Saenz
Contact Information: bsaenz@utep.edu; 915-747-5721
Education: MFA, University of Texas El Paso, 2018

Associate Professor

Rosa Alcala
Contact Information: 904; 915-747-7020
Education: Ph D, University at Buffalo, 2018

Jose De Pierola
Contact Information: jdepierola@utep.edu; 915-747-6322
Education: MA, UCSD; Ph D, University of California, San Diego, 2018
Research Interests: Consciousness in Fiction, Historical Novel, Andean Literature, Literary Theory

Sasha Pimentel
Contact Information: srpimentel@utep.edu; 915-747-6810
Education: BA, Georgia State University; MFA, California State University at Fresno, 2018

Jeffrey Sirkin
Contact Information: jsirkin@utep.edu; 915-747-5529
Education: MA, Miami University; Ph D, University at Buffalo, 2018

Lex Williford
Contact Information: lex@utep.edu; 915-747-5721
Education: BA, Stephen F. Austin State University; MA, Stephen F. Austin State University; MFA, University of Arkansas, 2018
Research Interests: Fiction, The Contemporary Short Story, The History of the Short Story, The Short-Short Story and the Prose Poem, Screenwriting, The Contemporary Novel, The Modernist Novel.

Assistant Professor

Nelson Cardenas
Contact Information: ncardenas2@utep.edu; 915-747-6316
Education: BA, University of Havana; MA, University of Pennsylvania; Ph D, University of Pennsylvania, 2018
Research Interests: Caribbean Literature, Contemporary Latin American Literature, Cinema Studies, Gender Studies, Cultural Studies.

Andrea Cote Botero
Contact Information: acbotero@utep.edu; 915-747-8093
Education: MA, University of Pennsylvania; Ph D, University of Pennsylvania, 2018

Timothy Hernandez
Contact Information: tzhernandez@utep.edu; 915-747-8999
Education: MFA, Bennington College, 2018