Return to: College of Liberal Arts

301M Fox Fine Arts Building
915.747.5606
music@utep.edu

Programs

Master of Music

CHAIR: Dr. Steve L. Wilson

Professors

Lorenzo Candelaria
Contact Information: lfcandelaria2@utep.edu
Education: BMus, Oberlin College & Conservatory; M. Phil., Yale University; Ph D, Yale University

Melissa Colgin Abeln
Contact Information: mcolgin@utep.edu; 915-747-7798
Education: BMus, The University of Alabama; MM, The University of Texas at Austin; DMA, The University of Texas at Austin

Dominic Dousa
Contact Information: ddousa@utep.edu; 915-747-7819
Education: BA, Harvard University; MM, Central Michigan University; DA, Ball State University

Bradley Genevro
Contact Information: bgenevro@utep.edu; 915-747-7796
Education: BS, Indiana University of Pennsylvania; MM, Indiana University of Pennsylvania; DMA, University of North Texas
Research Interests: Recording wind bands, Promoting the development of the wind band repertoire, teaching of conducting

Lowell Graham
Contact Information: legraham@utep.edu; 915-747-5606
Education: BA, University of Northern Colorado; MA, University of Northern Colorado; DMA, The Catholic University of America in Washington

Ronald Hufstader
Contact Information: rhufstad@utep.edu; 915-747-7796
Education: BM Ed, East Carolina University; MM, University of North Caroline, Greensboro; Ph D, University of Iowa

Charles Leinberger
Contact Information: charlesl@utep.edu; 915-747-7800
Education: BMus, Northern Arizona University; MM, The University of Miami; Ph D, The University of Arizona

Oscar Macchioni
Contact Information: omacchioni@utep.edu; 915-747-7817
Education: BM Ed, Universidad Nacional de Tucumán; MM, Louisiana State University; DMA, The University of Arizona
Research Interests: Latin American Piano Music, Tango, Academic Tangos, Szymanowski, Piano Pedagogy, Group Piano Teaching

Stephanie Meyers
Contact Information: smeyers@utep.edu; 915-747-7810
Education: BMus, New England Conservatory; MM, New England Conservatory; DMA, New England Conservatory

David Ross
Contact Information: dross@utep.edu; 915-747-7827
Education: BMus, Oberlin College & Conservatory; MM, The University of Iowa; DMA, The University of Iowa

Steve Wilson
Contact Information: swilson@utep.edu; 915-747-7804
Education: BMus, The University of Texas at El Paso; MM, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign; DMA, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Associate Professors

Dena Jones
Contact Information: dkjones@utep.edu; 915-747-6625
Education: BMus, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign; MM, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign; DMA, The University of Arizona
Research Interests: Spain, Nationalism, Folk Music, Ethnomusicology, Piano, Piano Literature, Piano Repertoire, Piano Pedagogy

Curtis Tredway
Contact Information: ctredway@utep.edu; 915-747-5049
Education: BM Ed, Florida State University; MM, The University of Southern Mississippi; Ph D, The University of Southern Mississippi

Erik Unsworth
Contact Information: eunsworth@utep.edu; 915-747-7816
Education: BMus, Appalachian State University; MM, Indiana University

Elisa Wilson
Contact Information: ewilson@utep.edu; 915-747-8708
Education: BS, University of Illinois; MM, Wichita State University; DMA, University of Illinois

Assistant Professors

Brian Downen
Contact Information: bgdownen@utep.edu; 915-747-6352
Education: BS, Eastern Illinois University; MM, Yale University - School of Music

Stephen Nordstrom
Contact Information: sbnordstrom@utep.edu; 915-747-5607
Education: BMus, University of North Texas; MM, University of Cincinnati, College-Conservatory of Music; DMA, University of Cincinnati, College-Conservatory of Music

Christopher Reyman
Contact Information: cereyman@utep.edu; 915-747-7805
Education: BMus, Millikin University; MM, University of Illinois; DMA, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign
Research Interests: performance, improvisation, composition, creative music practices, music for media, film music, interdisciplinary collaboration, jazz and contemporary music, improvisation as a model for social change

Andrea Shaheen
Contact Information: alshaheen@utep.edu; 915-747-7824
Education: BMus, University of North Texas; MM, The University of Arizona; DMA, The University of Arizona

Adjoint Assistant Professor

Kenneth Capshaw
Contact Information: klcapshaw5@utep.edu; 915-747-7813
Education: BMus, University of New Mexico

Senior Lecturers

Blythe Cates
Contact Information: bdcates@utep.edu; 915-747-8756
Education: BMus, The University of California; MM, The University of Texas at Austin; DMA, The University of Texas at Austin
Research Interests: A Vocal Handicap Index - For Hundreds of years people of all ages have been making music. For most people singing will remain a hobby, but for many young singers music will become their life's work. Children, adolescents, and young adults often find comfort, friendship and self-expression through music. But just like any sport, singing has its risks, and we, as vocal specialists, must work to mitigate these risks in our youth. There is undisputable evidence that young singer's are experiencing a variety of vocal difficulties, including but not limited to acid reflux and dysphonia. The question is, "How do these vocal difficulties arise, and what can we do as vocal specialists to prevent them from occurring in the future?" I submit that these vocal difficulties are directly related to hygiene, insufficient hydration, and a poor diet. Up until now, there have several studies done with regards to the health and diet of the mature singer, such as the VHI for singers (Vocal Handicap Index for Singers) but there has been little in-depth research devoted to the developing young singer. The primary purpose of this study would be to determine whether or not the VHI for singers, in its current format is appropriate for 10-16 year-old singers. The secondary purpose would be to determine whether or not vocal health and voice preservation knowledge correlates with aberrant vocal symptoms and if a new VHI for this age range would be beneficial to better suit their needs. Data related to these two purposes would allow us to better understand the vocal competency of young singers and also whether the need for this information is uniquely critical to older children. Such data would lend support to both education and dietary modification in this as of yet under-examined group of singers. Other significant areas of research interest including building on my dissertation. My dissertation included a significant searchable database of suitable musical theater repertoire that is educational, challenging, fulfilling and enjoyable for students in a certain age range. Ideally, the initial database can be both expanded to other types of literature and grown to include different instruments, all ages and abilities. It is my desire to bring the database to public availability with a smartphone application interface. This is a massive, long-term project.

Stephen Haddad
Contact Information: sahaddad@utep.edu; 915-747-7818
Education: BMus, West Texas State University; MM, New Mexico State University

Gregory Luffey
Contact Information: gsluffey@utep.edu; 915-747-5642
Education: BMus, Virginia Commonwealth University; MM, Virginia Commonwealth University; Post baccalaureate Certification Program, Texas State University
Research Interests: Early jazz saxophone soloists

Nancy Taylor
Contact Information: netaylor@utep.edu; 915-747-7799
Education: BMus, Arizona State University; MM, Indiana University; Master of Occupational Therapy, The University of Texas at El Paso

Visiting Assistant Professors

Cherry Duke
Contact Information: ccduke@utep.edu; 915-747-6220
Education: AD, Hartt School of Music - University of Hartford

Brian Jarvis
Contact Information: bejarvis@utep.edu; 915-747-7814
Education: BMus, University of Missouri; MM, Bowling Green State University; Ph D, Florida State University

Lindsey Macchiarella
Contact Information: lmacchiarella@utep.edu; 915-747-6630
Education: BA, University of California, Riverside; MM, Florida State University; Ph D, Florida State University

Juanita Newland Ulloa
Contact Information: jmnewlandulloa@utep.edu; 915-747-8164
Education: BA, Yale University; MA, UC Berkeley; DA, University of Northern Colorado
Research Interests: Mexican Song & Rhythms, Mariachi, Boleros, Spanish Song, Flamenco, Arab influenced Southern Spain, Cuban Song and Rhythms; Songs of world cultures, Diverse European Song Literature and Music History.