Return to: College of Liberal Arts

113 Hudspeth Hall
915.747.5731
english@utep.edu

MA, MAT, and PhD Degrees

The English Department offers a Master of Arts (MA) in English degree with two concentrations available:

  1. English and American Literature, 
  2. Rhetoric and Writing Studies; and a Master of Arts in Teaching (MAT) in English. The department also offers a Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) degree in Rhetoric and Composition.

Programs

Master of Arts

Master of Arts in Teaching

Doctor of Philosophy

Certificate

CHAIR: Dr. Maggy Smith

Professors

Meredith Abarca
Contact Information: mabarca@utep.edu; 915-747-6249
Education: Ph D, University of California

Beth Brunk-Chavez
Contact Information: blbrunk@utep.edu; 915-747-5797
Education: BA, New Mexico State University; MA, University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, University of Texas at Arlington

Mimi Gladstein
Contact Information: mgladstein@utep.edu; 915-747-6259
Education: BA, Texas Western College; MA, University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, University of New Mexico

Katherine Mangelsdorf
Contact Information: kmangels@utep.edu; 915-747-5543
Education: Ph D, University of Arizona

Keith Polette
Contact Information: kpolette@utep.edu; 915-747-5123
Education: Ph D, Saint Louis University

Evelyn Posey
Contact Information: eposey@utep.edu; 915-747-8487
Education: Ph D, New Mexico State University

Thomas Schmid
Contact Information: tschmid@utep.edu; 915-747-6248
Education: MA, University of Utah; Ph D, University of Utah

Maggy Smith
Contact Information: msmith@utep.edu; 915-747-6642
Education: Ph D, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Tony Stafford
Contact Information: tstaffor@utep.edu; 915-747-6266
Education: Ph D, Louisiana State University

Cheryl Torsney
Contact Information: cbtorsney@utep.edu
Education: Ph D, University of Florida

Brian Yothers
Contact Information: byothers@utep.edu; 915-747-5886
Education: Ph D, Purdue University

Associate Professors

Isabel Baca
Contact Information: ibaca@utep.edu; 915-747-6245
Education: Summer Credit, University of Warwick; BA, University of Texas at El Paso; MA, University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, New Mexico State University
Research Interests: Service-learning and community engagement in writing studies; bilingual workplace communication; community-based writing and learning

Ezra Cappell
Contact Information: ecappell@utep.edu; 915-747-5739
Education: Ph D, New York University

Carol Clark
Contact Information: cclark@utep.edu; 915-747-6244
Education: Ph D

Ruben Espinosa
Contact Information: respinosa2@utep.edu; 915-747-5325
Education: Ph D, University of Colorado at Boulder

Andrew Fleck
Contact Information: ajfleck@utep.edu; 915-747-0246
Education: Ph D, Claremont Graduate University
Research Interests: British literature, British culture, early modern Low Countries, identity, science, religious controversy, book history, digital humanities

Helen Foster
Contact Information: hfoster@utep.edu; 915-747-6623
Education: Ph D, Purdue University

Robert Gunn
Contact Information: rlgunn@utep.edu; 915-747-6265
Education: BA, Oberlin College; MA, New York University; Ph D, New York University

Maryse Jayasuriya
Contact Information: mjayasuriya@utep.edu; 915-747-6252
Education: Ph D, Purdue University

Joseph Ortiz
Contact Information: jmortiz7@utep.edu
Education: BA, Yale University; Ph D, Princeton University

Jonna Perrillo
Contact Information: jperrillo@utep.edu; 915-747-6059
Education: BA, University of Michigan; MA, University of Maryland; Ph D, New York University

Marion Rohrleitner
Contact Information: mcrohrleitner@utep.edu; 915-747-5647
Education: Mag. phil., Leopold-Franzens-Universitaet Innsbruck; Ph D, University of Notre Dame

David Ruiter
Contact Information: druiter@utep.edu; 915-747-6642
Education: Ph D, Baylor University

Assistant Professors

Jennifer Clifton
Contact Information: jlclifton@utep.edu; 915-747-6246
Education: Ph D, Arizona State University

Laura Gonzales
Contact Information: ljgonzales3@utep.edu; 915-747-5543
Education: Ph D, Michigan State University

Nicole Mirra
Contact Information: nmirra@utep.edu; 915-747-5276
Education: BA, New York University; M.S.T., Pace University; M.Ed, Harvard University Graduate School of Education; Ph D, University of California Los Angeles

R. Joseph Rodriguez
Contact Information: rjrodriguez6@utep.edu; 915-747-6258
Education: MA, The University of Texas at Austin; Ph D, University of Connecticut
Research Interests: Academic Writing, Children's and Young Adult Literature, Socially Responsible Literacy, Culturally Responsive Teaching and Learning, Spanish Language Arts and Reading, Disciplinary Literacies, STEAM, English Language Arts and Reading, Linguistic and Cultural Diversity, and Teacher Preparation

Dorothy Ward
Contact Information: dpward@utep.edu; 915-747-8439
Education: MA, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, University of North Texas

Barbara Zimbalist
Contact Information: bezimbalist@utep.edu
Education: Ph D, University of California

Assistant Instructors

Chowaing Chagra Belekeh
Contact Information: ccbelekeh@miners.utep.edu
Education: MA, Michigan Technological University

Ashok Bhusal
Contact Information: abhusal@miners.utep.edu
Education: MA, Tribhuvan University

Moushumi Biswas
Contact Information: mbiswas@utep.edu
Education: MA, New Mexico State University; Ph D, University of Texas at El Paso

Stephen Boakye
Contact Information: sjboakye@miners.utep.edu
Education: MA, University of Cape Coast

Laura Castruita
Contact Information: lvcastruita@miners.utep.edu
Education: MA, University of Texas at El Paso

Audrey Cisneros
Contact Information: afcisneros@utep.edu; 915-747-6242
Education: MA, UTEP; MA, University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, University of Texas at El Paso

Daliborka Crnkovic Padon
Contact Information: Dcrnkovic@miners.utep.edu
Education: MA, Old Dominion University; Ph D, University of Texas at El Paso

Billy Cryer
Contact Information: bcryer@miners.utep.edu
Education: MA, University of Texas Pan American

Carolyn Drapes
Contact Information: crdrapes@utep.edu; 915-478-2675
Education: BA, University of Texas - El Paso; MA, University of Texas - El Paso

Cassandra Dulin
Contact Information: Cdulin@miners.utep.edu
Education: MA, University of California; MA, University of California; Ph D, University of Texas, El Paso

Jennifer Falcon
Contact Information: jfalcon3@miners.utep.edu
Education: BA, The Ohio State University; MA, UTEP; MA, University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, University of Texas at El Paso

Patricia Flores Hutson
Contact Information: pflores4@utep.edu; 915-747-5000
Education: MA, University of Texas at El Paso

Brenda Gallardo
Contact Information: brgallardo@miners.utep.edu
Education: Ph D, UTEP

Juan Garcia Renteria
Contact Information: jmgarciaren@miners.utep.edu
Education: BA, Universidad Autonoma de Chihuahua; MA, Universidad de Guadalajara

Jose Gomez
Contact Information: jlgomez3@miners.utep.edu
Education: BA, University of Texas at El Paso; MA, UTEP

Saul Hernandez
Contact Information: shernandez120@miners.utep.edu
Education: MFA, University of Texas at El Paso

Rachel Hinman
Contact Information: rahinman@miners.utep.edu
Education: BA, Rutgers University; MA, University of Texas at San Antonio

Gina Lawrence
Contact Information: gmlawrence@utep.edu; 661-755-0786
Education: MA, California State University, Northridge; Ph D, University of Texas at El Paso

Courtney Magnuson
Contact Information: camagnuson@miners.utep.edu
Education: MA, University of Texas at El Paso

Renee Malooly
Contact Information: rlmalooly@miners.utep.edu
Education: MA, University of Texas at El Paso

Elsa Martin
Contact Information: emartin3@utep.edu; 915-747-5112
Education: BA, University of Texas at El Paso; MA, University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, UTEP

Terence McEneny
Contact Information: tdmceneny@miners.utep.edu
Education: MA, The University of Nottingham; Ph D, University of Texas at El Paso

Mattison Miertschin
Contact Information: mcmiertschin@miners.utep.edu
Education: MA, University of Texas at El Paso

Senaida Navar
Contact Information: snavar@miners.utep.edu
Education: MA, University of Texas at El Paso

Eduardo Nevarez
Contact Information: enevarez7@miners.utep.edu
Education: MA, University of Texas, El Paso

James Nielsen
Contact Information: jmnielsen@miners.utep.edu
Education: MA, University of Texas at El Paso

Ruby Pappoe
Contact Information: rpappoe@miners.utep.edu
Education: MA, Michigan Technological University
Research Interests: Literacy studies, technical communication, gender studies, transnational rhetorics.

Sidouane Patcha Lum
Contact Information: spatchalum@miners.utep.edu
Education: MA, Michigan Technological University

Shuv Raj Rana Bhat
Contact Information: sranabhat@miners.utep.edu
Education: MA, TRIBHUVAN UNIVERSITY

Consuelo Salas
Contact Information: ccsalas@utep.edu
Education: MA, University of Texas at El Paso

Melanie Salome
Contact Information: mrsalome@miners.utep.edu
Education: MA, Suffolk University; Ph D, UTEP
Research Interests: education reform rhetoric, political rhetoric, responding to student writing, multi-modal technologies in the classroom, technical writing, professional writing and writing pedagogy

Liza Soria
Contact Information: lmsoria@miners.utep.edu
Education: BA, University of Texas - Pan American; MA, University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

Ronald Straight
Contact Information: rdstraight@miners.utep.edu
Education: MA, University of Texas Rio Grande Valley

Lizbett Tinoco
Contact Information: ltinoco2@miners.utep.edu; 805-263-7109
Education: PBAC- Master's Degree, California State University Bakersfield; Ph D, University of Texas at El Paso

Jasmine Villa
Contact Information: Jvilla4@miners.utep.edu
Education: BA, University of Texas at El Paso; BA, University of Texas at El Paso; MA, University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, University of Texas at El Paso

Lori Whitaker
Contact Information: lawhitaker@miners.utep.edu; 915-747-5000
Education: MA, The University of Texas at El Paso

Alison Zepeda
Contact Information: apwells@miners.utep.edu
Education: MA, Texas Tech University

Tetyana Zhyvotovska
Contact Information: tzhyvotovska@utep.edu; 915-747-6329
Education: MA, University of Texas at El Paso

Assistant Professor of Practices

Anjanette Darrington
Contact Information: adarrington@utep.edu
Education: Ph D, Arizona State University

Theresa Donovan
Contact Information: tldonovan@utep.edu; 915-747-5222
Education: BA, The University of Puerto Rico; MA, University of Puerto Rico; Ph D, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, The University of Texas at El Paso

James Mullins
Contact Information: mullins@utep.edu; 915-747-6253
Education: MFA, University of Texas at el Paso

Teresa Quezada
Contact Information: tquezada2@miners.utep.edu; 915-747-5222
Education: MBA, UTEP; Ph D, University of Texas at El Paso

Senior Lecturers

Nikki Agee
Contact Information: naagee@utep.edu
Education: BA, University of Texas at Austin; MA, University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, The University of Texas at El Paso

Esther Al-Tabaa
Contact Information: EAl-Tabaa@utep.edu
Education: MA, UTEP; MA, University of Texas at El Paso

Judith Rice (Fourzan)
Contact Information: jfourzan@utep.edu; 915-747-6624
Education: Master of Fine Arts, Creative Writing, UTEP; BA, University of Texas at El Paso