Return to: College of Liberal Arts

113 Hudspeth Hall
915.747.5731
english@utep.edu

MA, MAT, and PhD Degrees

The English Department offers a Master of Arts (MA) in English degree with two concentrations available:

  1. English and American Literature, 
  2. Rhetoric and Writing Studies; and a Master of Arts in Teaching (MAT) in English. The department also offers a Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) degree in Rhetoric and Composition.

Programs

Master of Arts

Master of Arts in Teaching

Doctor of Philosophy

Certificate

CHAIR: Dr. Maggy Smith

Professor

Meredith Abarca
Contact Information: mabarca@utep.edu; 915-747-6249
Education: Ph D, The University of California, Davis, 2018

Beth Brunk-Chavez
Contact Information: blbrunk@utep.edu; 915-747-5797
Education: BA, New Mexico State University; MA, University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, University of Texas at Arlington, 2018

Mimi Gladstein
Contact Information: mgladstein@utep.edu; 915-747-6259
Education: BA, Texas Western College; MA, Texas Western College; Ph D, University of New Mexico, 2018

Maryse Jayasuriya
Contact Information: mjayasuriya@utep.edu; 915-747-6252
Education: Ph D, Purdue University, 2018

Katherine Mangelsdorf
Contact Information: kmangels@utep.edu; 915-747-5543
Education: Ph D, University of Arizona, 2018

Keith Polette
Contact Information: kpolette@utep.edu; 915-747-5123
Education: BA, Central Methodist College; MA, Idaho State University; MA, Idaho State University; Ph D, Saint Louis University, 2018

John Scenters-Zapico
Contact Information: jscenters@utep.edu; 915-747-5702
Education: BA, University of Wisconsin - Parkside; MA, Northern Arizona University; Ph D, University of Arizona, 2015
Research Interests: Literacies

Thomas Schmid
Contact Information: tschmid@utep.edu; 915-747-6248
Education: MA, University of Utah; Ph D, University of Utah, 2018

Maggy Smith
Contact Information: msmith@utep.edu; 915-747-6642
Education: Ph D, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, 2018

Tony Stafford
Contact Information: tstaffor@utep.edu; 915-747-6266
Education: Ph D, Louisiana State University, 2018

Brian Yothers
Contact Information: byothers@utep.edu; 915-747-5886
Education: BA, Grace College; MA, Purdue University; Ph D, Purdue University, 2018

Associate Professor

Isabel Baca
Contact Information: ibaca@utep.edu; 915-747-6245
Education: Summer Credit, University of Warwick; BA, The University of Texas at El Paso; MA, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, New Mexico State University, 2018
Research Interests: Service-learning and community engagement in writing studies; bilingual workplace communication; community-based writing and learning

Carol Clark
Contact Information: cclark@utep.edu; 915-747-6244
Education: Ph D, Texas Christian University, 2018

Lucia Dura
Contact Information: ldura@utep.edu; 915-747-5199
Education: MA, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, The University of Texas at El Paso, 2018

Ruben Espinosa
Contact Information: respinosa2@utep.edu; 915-747-5325
Education: Ph D, University of Colorado at Boulder, 2018

Andrew Fleck
Contact Information: ajfleck@utep.edu; 915-747-0246
Education: Ph D, Claremont Graduate University, 2018
Research Interests: British literature, British culture, early modern Low Countries, identity, science, religious controversy, book history, digital humanities

Helen Foster
Contact Information: hfoster@utep.edu; 915-747-6623
Education: Ph D, Purdue University, 2018

Robert Gunn
Contact Information: rlgunn@utep.edu; 915-747-6265
Education: BA, Oberlin College; MA, New York University; Ph D, New York University, 2018

Joseph Ortiz
Contact Information: jmortiz7@utep.edu;
Education: BA, Yale University; Ph D, Princeton University, 2018

Jonna Perrillo
Contact Information: jperrillo@utep.edu; 915-747-6059
Education: BA, University of Michigan; MA, University of Maryland; Ph D, New York University, 2018

Marion Rohrleitner
Contact Information: mcrohrleitner@utep.edu; 915-747-5647
Education: M. Phil., Leopold-Franzens-Universitaet Innsbruck; Ph D, University of Notre Dame, 2018

David Ruiter
Contact Information: druiter@utep.edu; 915-747-6642
Education: BA, Dordt College; MA, Baylor University; Ph D, Baylor University, 2018

Assistant Professor

Victor Del Hierro
Contact Information: vjdel@utep.edu; 915-747-8806
Education: MA, Texas A&M University; Ph D, Michigan State University, 2018

Laura Gonzales
Contact Information: ljgonzales3@utep.edu; 915-747-5543
Education: Ph D, Michigan State University, 2018

Dorothy Ward
Contact Information: dpward@utep.edu; 915-747-8439
Education: MA, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, University of North Texas, 2018

Barbara Zimbalist
Contact Information: bezimbalist@utep.edu;
Education: Ph D, University of California, 2018

Assistant Professor of Practice

Anjanette Darrington
Contact Information: adarrington@utep.edu;
Education: Ph D, Arizona State University, 2018

James Mullins
Contact Information: mullins@utep.edu; 915-747-6253
Education: MFA, University of Texas at el Paso, 2018

Teresa Quezada
Contact Information: tquezada2@utep.edu; 915-747-5222
Education: MBA, UTEP; Ph D, University of Texas at El Paso, 2018