University of Texas at El Paso Academic Catalog

Academic Catalog

History

Return to: College of Liberal Arts

The Department of History includes nationally and internationally recognized faculty who offer courses in a range of geographic and thematic areas. 

Programs

Doctor of Philosophy

Master of Arts

Certificates

Chair

Samuel Brunk
Contact Information: sbrunk@utep.edu; 915-747-7064
Education: BA, Washington University in St. Louis; MA, The University of New Mexico; Ph D, The University of New Mexico

Professor

Samuel Brunk
Contact Information: sbrunk@utep.edu; 915-747-7059
Education: BA, Washington University in St. Louis; MA, The University of New Mexico; Ph D, The University of New Mexico

Ernesto Chavez
Contact Information: echavez@utep.edu; 915-747-6591
Education: BA, University of California at Los Angeles; MA, University of California at Los Angeles; Ph D, University of California at Los Angeles

Jeffrey Shepherd
Contact Information: jpshepherd@utep.edu; 915-747-6805
Education: BA, Florida State University; MA, University of Oregon; Ph D, Arizona State University

Michael Williams
Contact Information: mvwilliams@utep.edu; 915-747-7822
Education: BA, University of Mississippi; MA, University of Mississippi; Ph D, The University of Mississippi

Associate Professor

Paul Edison
Contact Information: pedison@utep.edu; 915-747-6808
Education: Ph D, Columbia University

Joshua Fan
Contact Information: jfan@utep.edu; 915-747-8948
Education: BA, Uinversity of California, Berkeley; MA, Univeristy of Washington; Ph D, University of Hawaii at Manoa

Yolanda Leyva
Contact Information: yleyva@utep.edu; 915-747-7048
Education: BBA, The University of Texas at Austin; MA, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, The University of Arizona

Ignacio Martinez
Contact Information: imartinez26@utep.edu; 915-747-7054
Education: MA, University of New Mexico; Ph D, University of Arizona

Faculty Member Test User I
Contact Information: digitalmeasures@utep.edu;
Education: Ph D, The University of Texas at El Paso

Faculty Member Test User II
Contact Information: digitalmeasures@utep.edu;

Faculty Member Test User III
Contact Information: digitalmeasures@utep.edu;

Faculty Member Test User IV
Contact Information: digitalmeasures@utep.edu;

Michael Topp
Contact Information: mtopp@utep.edu; 915-747-7053
Education: BA, Trinity College; MA, Brown University; Ph D, Brown University

Ronald Weber
Contact Information: rweber@utep.edu; 915-747-6512
Education: BA, Fort Hays Kansas State University; MA, University of Wisconsin; Ph D, University of Wisconsin

Assistant Professor

Susan Stanfield
Contact Information: sjstanfield@utep.edu; 915-747-7067
Education: Ph D, University of Iowa

Faculty Member Test User CLA
Contact Information: facultysuccess@utep.edu;

Faculty Member Test User IX
Contact Information: digitalmeasures@utep.edu;

Faculty Member Test User V
Contact Information: digitalmeasures@utep.edu;

Faculty Member Test User VI
Contact Information: digitalmeasures@utep.edu;

Faculty Member Test User VII
Contact Information: digitalmeasures@utep.edu;

Faculty Member Test User VIII
Contact Information: digitalmeasures@utep.edu;

Faculty Member Test User X
Contact Information: digitalmeasures@utep.edu;

Faculty Member Test User XI
Contact Information: digitalmeasures@utep.edu;

Larisa Veloz
Contact Information: llveloz@utep.edu; 915-747-6277
Education: BA, University of California, Davis; MA, University of California, Santa Barbara; Ph D, Georgetown University

Christina Villarreal
Contact Information: cmvillarreal@utep.edu; 915-747-7059
Education: MA, The University of Texas at Austin; Ph D, The University of Texas at Austin; Ph D, The University of Texas

Leslie Waters
Contact Information: lwaters@utep.edu; 915-747-7049
Education: Ph D, University of California, Los Angeles

Assistant Professor of Instruction

Eric Meringer
Contact Information: ermeringer@utep.edu;
Education: Ph D, Arizona State University

Manuel Ramirez
Contact Information: mbramirez@utep.edu; 915-747-5824
Education: Ph D, The University of Mississippi

Associate Professor of Instruction

Selfa Chew-Melendez
Contact Information: sachewsmithart@utep.edu; 915-747-7051
Education: BA, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México; MFA, The University of Texas at El Paso; MA, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, The University of Texas at El Paso

The University of Texas at El Paso
Department of History
Liberal Arts Building, Room 320
500 W. University Ave.
El Paso, Texas 79968


Phone: 915.747.5508
Faxmail: 915.747.5948

Email: history@utep.edu

Visit Department Website