Return to: College of Liberal Arts

320 Liberal Arts Building
915.747.5508
history@utep.edu

Programs

Doctor of Philosophy

Master of Arts

Minor

Certificate

CHAIR: Dr. Samuel Brunk

Professors

Charles Ambler
Contact Information: cambler@utep.edu; 915-747-8039
Education: BA, Middlebury College; MA, Yale University; Ph D, Yale University

Samuel Brunk
Contact Information: sbrunk@utep.edu; 915-747-7064
Education: BA, Washington University; MA, University of New Mexico; Ph D, University of New Mexico

Yasuhide Kawashima
Contact Information: ykawashi@utep.edu; 915-747-7068
Education: Ph D, University of California
Research Interests: Indian-white legal relations in the United States, history of American family law, the American railroads, the Pacific War and the American law of treason, and history of American forensic medicine.

Charles Martin
Contact Information: mcharles@utep.edu; 915-747-7055
Education: Ph D, Tulane University

Associate Professors

Paul Edison
Contact Information: pedison@utep.edu; 915-747-6808
Education: Ph D, Columbia University

Joshua Fan
Contact Information: jfan@utep.edu; 915-747-8948
Education: BA, Uinversity of California, Berkeley; MA, Univeristy of Washington; Ph D, University of Hawaii at Manoa

Jeffrey Shepherd
Contact Information: jpshepherd@utep.edu; 915-747-6805
Education: Ph D, Arizona State University; Ph D, Arizona State University
Research Interests: US History, Indigenous Histories, Borderlands History, Public History, Southwestern History, Environmental history.

Michael Topp
Contact Information: mtopp@utep.edu; 915-747-7053
Education: BA, Trinity College; MA, Brown University; Ph D, Brown University

Ronald Weber
Contact Information: rweber@utep.edu; 915-747-6512
Education: BA, Fort Hays Kansas State University; MA, University of Wisconsin; Ph D, University of Wisconsin

Assistant Professors

Michelle Armstrong-Partida
Contact Information: marmstrongpartida@utep.edu; 915-747-7063
Education: BS, Texas A&M University; MA, University of Iowa; Ph D, University of Iowa

Patrick Iber
Contact Information: pjiber@utep.edu; 915-747-7059
Education: Ph D, University of Chicago

Ignacio Martinez
Contact Information: imartinez26@utep.edu; 915-747-7054
Education: MA, University of New Mexico; Ph D, University of Arizona

Susan Stanfield
Contact Information: sjstanfield@utep.edu; 915-747-7067
Education: Ph D, University of Iowa

Assistant Professor of Practice

Brad Cartwright
Contact Information: bjcartwright@utep.edu; 915-747-5878
Education: BA, The University of Texas at Austin; MA, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, University of Colorado Boulder

Visiting Assistant Professor

Manuel Ramirez
Contact Information: mbramirez@utep.edu; 915-747-5824
Education: Ph D, The University of Mississippi