Return to: College of Liberal Arts

109 Old Main
915.747.5740
soci@utep.edu

The Department offers a Master of Arts (MA) degree in Sociology.

Programs

Master of Arts

CHAIR: Dr. Howard Campbell

Professor

Howard Campbell
Contact Information: hcampbel@utep.edu; 915-747-6525
Education: Ph D, University of Wisconsin, 2018
Research Interests: Cultural anthropology, Mexico, U.S.-Mexico border, Latin America, drug trafficking, political movements, bohemian movements, Greater Mexican culture, U.S.-Mexico border culture, Mexican indigenous cultures.

Jayajit Chakraborty
Contact Information: jchakraborty@utep.edu; 915-747-6577
Education: Ph D, The University of Iowa, 2018
Research Interests: environmental justice, environmental health, vulnerability to hazards/disasters, racial/ethnic disparities, GIScience, spatial analysis

Josiah Heyman
Contact Information: jmheyman@utep.edu; 915-747-8745
Education: BA, The Johns Hopkins University; Ph D, City University of New York, 2018

Denis O'Hearn
Contact Information: daohearn@utep.edu;
Education: Ph D, University of Michigan, 2018

Associate Professor

Pratyusha Basu
Contact Information: pbasu@utep.edu; 915-747-5964
Education: Ph D, University of Iowa, 2018

David Carmichael
Contact Information: carm@utep.edu; 915-747-6599
Education: Ph D, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 2018

Ophra Leyser-Whalen
Contact Information: oleyserwhalen@utep.edu; 915-747-6587
Education: Ph D, University of Kansas, 2018
Research Interests: sociology of health, health disparities, gender, women's health

Aurolyn Luykx
Contact Information: aluykx@utep.edu; 915-747-6593
Education: BA, University of Florida; MA, University of Florida; Ph D, University of Texas, 2018
Research Interests: language policy, language revitalization, educational reform, youth activism, gay-straight alliances, culture & sexuality

Maria Morales
Contact Information: mcmorales@utep.edu; 915-747-6838
Education: Ph D, Texas A&M University, 2018
Research Interests: Immigration, social inequality (race, ethnicity, gender, and citizenship status), and labor markets.

Guillermina Nunez-Mchiri
Contact Information: ggnunez@utep.edu; 915-747-6132
Education: BA, San Diego State University; MA, San Diego State University; Ph D, University of California, Riverside, 2018
Research Interests: Ethnography, Applied Anthropology, Mexican and Mexican American communities, Diabetes, Mexican American elders, community building, Service learning in Undergraduate research

Assistant Professor

Carla Contemori
Contact Information: ccontemori@utep.edu;
Education: MA, University of Siena; BA, University of Siena; Ph D, University of Siena, 2018

Angela Frederick
Contact Information: ahfrederick2@utep.edu;
Education: Ph D, UT Austin, 2018

Carina Heckert
Contact Information: checkert@utep.edu; 915-747-6528
Education: BA, Indiana University of Pennsylvania; MA, Indiana University of Pennsylvania; MA, Southern Methodist University; Ph D, Southern Methodist University, 2018

Xiaodan Morales
Contact Information: xdeng2@utep.edu; 915-747-8471
Education: Ph D, Texas A&M University, 2018

Aurelia Murga
Contact Information: almurga@utep.edu; 915-747-7343
Education: BA, Texas A&M International University; MA, Texas A&M International University; Ph D, Texas A&M University, 2018

Bilge O'Hearn
Contact Information: bohearn@utep.edu;
Education: BS, Middle East Technical University; MA, State University of New York at Binghamton; Ph D, Binghamton University, 2018

Jeremy Slack
Contact Information: jmslack@utep.edu; 915-747-6530
Education: MA, University of Arizona; Ph D, The University of Arizona, 2018