Return to: College of Liberal Arts

109 Old Main
915.747.5740
soci@utep.edu

The Department offers a Master of Arts (MA) degree in Sociology.

Programs

Master of Arts

CHAIR: Dr. Howard Campbell

Professors

Howard Campbell
Contact Information: hcampbel@utep.edu; 915-747-6525
Education: Ph D, University of Wisconsin - Madison
Research Interests: Cultural anthropology, Mexico, U.S.-Mexico border, Latin America, drug trafficking, political movements, bohemian movements, Greater Mexican culture, U.S.-Mexico border culture, Mexican indigenous cultures.

Jayajit Chakraborty
Contact Information: jchakraborty@utep.edu; 915-747-6577
Education: Ph D, The University of Iowa
Research Interests: environmental justice, environmental health, vulnerability to hazards/disasters, racial/ethnic disparities, GIScience, spatial analysis

Timothy Collins
Contact Information: twcollins@utep.edu; 915-747-6526
Education: Ph D, Arizona State University

Sara Grineski
Contact Information: segrineski@utep.edu; 915-747-8471
Education: MA, Arizona State University; Ph D, Arizona State University

Josiah Heyman
Contact Information: jmheyman@utep.edu; 915-747-8745
Education: BA, The Johns Hopkins University; Ph D, City University of New York

Associate Professors

Pratyusha Basu
Contact Information: pbasu@utep.edu; 915-747-5964
Education: Ph D, University of Iowa

David Carmichael
Contact Information: carm@utep.edu; 915-747-6599
Education: Ph D, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Aurolyn Luykx
Contact Information: aluykx@utep.edu; 915-747-6593
Education: BA, University of Florida; MA, University of Florida; Ph D, University of Texas
Research Interests: language policy, language revitalization, educational reform, youth activism, gay-straight alliances, culture & sexuality

Maria Morales
Contact Information: mcmorales@utep.edu; 915-747-6838
Education: Ph D, Texas A&M University
Research Interests: Immigration, social inequality (race, ethnicity, gender, and citizenship status), and labor markets.

Guillermina Nunez-Mchiri
Contact Information: ggnunez@utep.edu; 915-747-6132
Education: BA, San Diego State University; MA, San Diego State University; Ph D, University of California, Riverside
Research Interests: Ethnography, Applied Anthropology, Mexican and Mexican American communities, Diabetes, Mexican American elders, community building, Service learning in Undergraduate research

Assistant Professors

Angela Frederick
Contact Information: ahfrederick2@utep.edu
Education: Ph D, UT Austin

Carina Heckert
Contact Information: checkert@utep.edu; 915-747-6528
Education: BA, Indiana University of Pennsylvania; MA, Indiana University of Pennsylvania; MA, Southern Methodist University; Ph D, Southern Methodist University

Ophra Leyser-Whalen
Contact Information: oleyserwhalen@utep.edu; 915-747-6587
Education: Ph D, University of Kansas
Research Interests: sociology of health, health disparities, gender, women's health

Aurelia Murga
Contact Information: almurga@utep.edu; 915-747-7343
Education: BA; MA, Texas A&M International University; Ph D, Texas A&M University

Jeremy Slack
Contact Information: jmslack@utep.edu; 915-747-6530
Education: MA, University of Arizona; Ph D, The University of Arizona

Visiting Assistant Professors

Ivan Sandoval-Cervantes
Contact Information: isandovalc@utep.edu
Education: BA, Universidad de las Americas-Puebla; MA, University of Oregon; Ph D, University of Oregon

Silvia Torezani
Contact Information: satorezani@utep.edu; 915-747-6829
Education: Ph D, University of Western Australia
Research Interests: Health and social inequalities, migration and mobility, borders and social boundaries, aging