Sociology and Anthropology

Return to: College of Liberal Arts

Sociology and Anthropology

Programs

Master of Arts

Chair

Dr. Howard Campbell

Professor

Howard Campbell
Contact Information: hcampbel@utep.edu; 915-747-7356
Education: Ph D, University of Wisconsin
Research Interests: Cultural anthropology, Mexico, U.S.-Mexico border, Latin America, drug trafficking, political movements, bohemian movements, Greater Mexican culture, U.S.-Mexico border culture, Mexican indigenous cultures.

Jayajit Chakraborty
Contact Information: jchakraborty@utep.edu; 915-747-6577
Education: Ph D, The University of Iowa
Research Interests: environmental justice, environmental health, vulnerability to hazards/disasters, racial/ethnic disparities, GIScience, spatial analysis

Josiah Heyman
Contact Information: jmheyman@utep.edu; 915-747-8745
Education: BA, The Johns Hopkins University; Ph D, City University of New York

Maria Morales
Contact Information: mcmorales@utep.edu; 915-747-6838
Education: Ph D, Texas A&M University
Research Interests: Immigration, social inequality (race, ethnicity, gender, and citizenship status), and labor markets.

Denis O'Hearn
Contact Information: daohearn@utep.edu;
Education: Ph D, University of Michigan

Associate Professor

Pratyusha Basu
Contact Information: pbasu@utep.edu; 915-747-5964
Education: Ph D, University of Iowa

David Carmichael
Contact Information: carm@utep.edu; 915-747-6599
Education: Ph D, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Ophra Leyser-Whalen
Contact Information: oleyserwhalen@utep.edu; 915-747-6587
Education: Ph D, University of Kansas
Research Interests: sociology of health, health disparities, gender, women's health

Aurolyn Luykx
Contact Information: aluykx@utep.edu; 915-747-6593
Education: BA, University of Florida; MA, University of Florida; Ph D, University of Texas
Research Interests: language policy, language revitalization, educational reform, youth activism, gay-straight alliances, culture & sexuality

Aurelia Murga
Contact Information: almurga@utep.edu; 915-747-7343
Education: BA, Texas A&M International University; MA, Texas A&M International University; Ph D, Texas A&M University

Guillermina Nunez-Mchiri
Contact Information: ggnunez@utep.edu; 915-747-6132
Education: BA, San Diego State University; MA, San Diego State University; Ph D, University of California, Riverside
Research Interests: Ethnography, Applied Anthropology, Mexican and Mexican American communities, Diabetes, Mexican American elders, community building, Service learning in Undergraduate research

Jeremy Slack
Contact Information: jmslack@utep.edu; 915-747-6530
Education: MA, University of Arizona; Ph D, The University of Arizona

Assistant Professor

Carla Contemori
Contact Information: ccontemori@utep.edu;
Education: MA, University of Siena; BA, University of Siena; Ph D, University of Siena

Angela Frederick
Contact Information: ahfrederick2@utep.edu;
Education: Ph D, UT Austin

Carina Heckert
Contact Information: checkert@utep.edu; 915-747-6528
Education: BA, Indiana University of Pennsylvania; MA, Indiana University of Pennsylvania; MA, Southern Methodist University; Ph D, Southern Methodist University

Xiaodan Morales
Contact Information: xdeng2@utep.edu; 915-747-8471
Education: Ph D, Texas A&M University

Bilge O'Hearn
Contact Information: bohearn@utep.edu; 915-747-6526
Education: BS, Middle East Technical University; MA, State University of New York at Binghamton; Ph D, Binghamton University

Sociology and Anthropology

Old Main, Room 109 
Phone: 915.747.5740
Email: soci@utep.edu