University of Texas at El Paso Academic Catalog

Academic Catalog

Political Science and Public Administration

Return to: College of Liberal Arts

Political science is a practical and interesting major or minor because it provides a strong academic preparation for many different occupations and career paths because politics connects to a range of policies and issues that affect society. Everything is political or affected by policy! Like other disciplines within the Liberal Arts, Political Science provides an excellent training in skills that employers seek, such as critical thinking, data analysis, and effective written and oral communication. See how some of our alumni highlighted by our College have used their degrees in private business or government. We are dedicated to providing an excellent education that will prepare students for a variety of careers and lifelong success. Our alumni go on to careers in many areas, such as the following:

  • Lawyer
  • Judge
  • Paralegal
  • Political Official/Representative
  • Law Enforcement (Federal, State, Local)
  • State & Local Government
  • Journalism
  • Diplomatic Service Government
  • College Professor
  • Graduate School (MA & Ph.D.)
  • Non-profit organizations
  • Business
  • Community Organizing

Programs

Master of Arts

Graduate Certificate

Chair

Gaspare Genna
Contact Information: ggenna@utep.edu; 915-747-6066
Education: Ph D, Claremont Graduate University

Professor

Charles Boehmer
Contact Information: crboehmer@utep.edu; 915-747-7979
Education: Ph D, Penn State University

Bradley Chilton
Contact Information: bschilton@utep.edu; 915-747-5016
Education: BA, Milton College; JD, University of Toledo College of law; MA, University of Toledo; MA, University of Wisconsin-Madison; Ph D, University of Georgia

Gaspare Genna
Contact Information: ggenna@utep.edu; 915-747-6066
Education: Ph D, Claremont Graduate University

Taeko Hiroi
Contact Information: thiroi@utep.edu; 915-747-7983
Education: Ph D, University of Pittsburgh

J McDonald
Contact Information: jmcdonald2@utep.edu; 915-747-5557
Education: BS, Northern Illinois University; MS, Northern Illinois University; Ph D, Northern Illinois University

Gregory Schmidt
Contact Information: gdschmidt@utep.edu; 915-747-7973
Education: BA, University of Texas at Austin; MA, Cornell Univesity; Ph D, Cornell University

Cigdem Sirin Villalobos
Contact Information: cigdemsirin@utep.edu; 915-747-7971
Education: BA, Bogazici University; Ph D, Texas A&M University; Ph D, Texas A&M University

José Villalobos
Contact Information: jdvillalobos2@utep.edu; 915-747-7978
Education: BA, University of Texas at San Antonio; Ph D, Texas A&M University

William Weaver
Contact Information: wweaver@utep.edu; 915-747-8867
Education: Attended the Defense Language Institute as a soldier in the U.S. Army, Defense language Institute; BA, California State University, Sacramento; MA, University of Virginia; JD, University of Virginia; Ph D, University of Virginia

Associate Professor

Eric Boyer
Contact Information: ejboyer@utep.edu;
Education: Ph D, The George Washington University

John Bretting
Contact Information: jbretting@utep.edu; 915-747-6582
Education: Ph D, University of Houston

Todd Curry
Contact Information: tacurry@utep.edu; 915-747-7967
Education: Ph D, Western Michigan University

Rebecca Reid
Contact Information: rareid@utep.edu; 915-747-7970
Education: BA, Wofford College; BA, Wofford College; Credential, University of South Carolina; Certificate, University of Michigan; Certificate, UC Berkeley; Ph D, University of South Carolina; Ph D, University of South Carolina

Assistant Professor

Ljubinka Andonoska
Contact Information: landonoska@utep.edu; 915-747-7132
Education: BA, Faculty of Economics, St. Ciril & Methodij; MPA, Arizona State University; Ph D, Arizona State University

Yingnan Zhou
Contact Information: yzhou5@utep.edu; 915-747-6216
Education: Ph D, University of Iowa

Assistant Professor of Instruction

Marcos Menchaca
Contact Information: mmenchaca@utep.edu;
Education: BA, University of Texas at San Antonio; MS, University of Texas at Austin; Ph D, University of California, Los Angeles

The University of Texas at El Paso
Department of Political Science
Benedict Hall 111
500 W University
El Paso, Texas 79968

E: pols@utep.edu


Phone: 915.747.5227
Fax: 915.747.6616 

Visit Department Website