Return to: College of Liberal Arts

350 Fox Fine Arts Building
Phone, 915.747.5181
Fax, 915.747.6749
artdept@utep.edu

The Department of Art offers opportunities for advanced study at the graduate level with MA degrees in the fields of Art Education and Studio Arts. In both cases, interested students must apply to both the Graduate School and the Art Department. Additional information is available through online resources for the UTEP Graduate School and the UTEP Art Department. It is strongly recommended that those considering applying to these programs make an appointment to see the Art Department Graduate Advisor several months prior to making application.

CHAIR: Vincent Burke

Professors

David Griffin
Contact Information: dfgriffin@utep.edu; 915-747-5941
Education: MFA, University of Illinois at Urbana - Champaign

Rachelle Thiewes
Contact Information: rthiewes@utep.edu; 915-747-6813
Education: Master of Fine Arts, Kent State University

Associate Professors

Kim Bauer
Contact Information: kbauer@utep.edu; 915-747-7846
Education: MFA, Eastern Michigan University
Research Interests: contemporary printmaking, intaglio, lithography, serigraphy, relief printing, offset, digital photography, traditional chemical photography, cyanotype.

Vincent Burke
Contact Information: vburke@utep.edu; 915-747-5176
Education: MFA, Louisiana State University and A&M College

Antonio Castro
Contact Information: antcastro@utep.edu; 915-747-5214
Education: MFA, Temple University

Anne Giangiulio
Contact Information: amgiangiulio@utep.edu; 915-747-8612
Education: BA, Villanova University; Master of Fine Arts, Tyler School of Art, Temple University
Research Interests: typography, history of graphic design, web design, encouraging practice of student writing in the arts

Albert Wong
Contact Information: awong@utep.edu; 915-747-8050
Education: Masters of Fine Arts, Kent State University

Assistant Professors

Thomas Birkner
Contact Information: tabirkner@utep.edu; 915-747-7839
Education: Master of Fine Arts, The Pennsylvania State University

Max Grossman
Contact Information: megrossman@utep.edu; 915-747-7966
Education: Diploma, The Blake School; BA, University of California-Berkeley; MA, Columbia University; M Phil, Columbia University; Ph D, Columbia University
Research Interests: Medieval, Middle Ages, Renaissance, Early Modern, Duecento, Trecento, Quattrocento, Romanesque, Gothic, Art, Painting, Sculpture, Architecture, Urbanism, Siena, Sienese, Florence, Florentine, Rome, Roman, Tuscany, Tuscan, Italy, Italian, France, French, Europe, Mediterranean

Stacy Schultz
Contact Information: seschultz@utep.edu; 915-747-5150
Education: Ph D, Rutgers University

Senior Lecturers

Clive Cochran
Contact Information: ccochran@utep.edu; 915-747-7841
Education: BA, University of Texas at El Paso

Allan McIntyre
Contact Information: amcintyre2@utep.edu; 915-747-7849
Education: Bachelor of Fine Arts, University of Tulsa; M.Ed., University of Texas at El Paso; Mid Management Educational Certification, University of Texas at El Paso; MA

Visiting Assistant Professors

Heather Kaplan
Contact Information: hgkaplan@utep.edu
Education: Ph D, The Ohio State University

Jessica Roberts
Contact Information: jlpizana@utep.edu
Education: Master of Fine Arts, New Mexico State University - Las Cruces

Demitra Thomloudis
Contact Information: dmthomloudis@utep.edu
Education: Master of Fine Arts, San Diego State University

Jessica Tolbert
Contact Information: jltolbert@utep.edu
Education: MFA, University of Illinois at Urbana - Champaign