Return to: College of Liberal Arts

Education Building, Suite 111 
915.747.7943
crimjust@utep.edu
crimjustonline@utep.edu

The Criminal Justice Department offers an interdisciplinary major leading toward a BA degree designed to provide students a broad social science background for understanding crime, criminal behavior, and the criminal justice system, and to offer the opportunity to prepare for a professional career in criminal justice.

Programs

Bachelor of Arts

Minor

CHAIR: Dr. Leanne F. Alarid

Professor

Leanne Alarid
Contact Information: lfalarid@utep.edu; 915-747-7087
Education: BA, University of Northern Colorado; MA, Sam Houston State University; Ph D, Sam Houston State University

Associate Professors

Theodore Curry
Contact Information: trcurry@utep.edu; 915-747-6527
Education: BA, University of Tulsa; MA, University of Oklahoma; Ph D, Washington State University

Jeffrey Rojek
Contact Information: jjrojek@utep.edu; 915-747-6319
Education: Ph D, University of Missouri-St.Louis

Assistant Professors

Mario Cano
Contact Information: mcano13@utep.edu
Education: Ph D, Arizona State University

Timothy Dickinson
Contact Information: tedickinson@utep.edu
Education: Ph D, University of Missouri, Saint Louis

John Shjarback
Contact Information: jshjarback@utep.edu; 915-747-8761
Education: BS, Penn State University; MA, Monmouth University; Ph D, Arizona State University

Juan Wittke
Contact Information: jcwittke@miners.utep.edu
Education: BS, University of Phoenix; MS, Sul Ross State University

Egbert Zavala
Contact Information: egbertz@utep.edu; 915-747-6218
Education: BA, University of Texas at El Paso; MA, Kansas State University; Ph D, Kansas State University
Research Interests: Intimate partner violence, criminology, criminal justice, testing criminological theories, research methods, homicide, juvenile delinquency

Senior Lecturers

Melinda Lauck
Contact Information: mlauck@utep.edu
Education: JD, University of Houston

Allison Rojek
Contact Information: amrojek@utep.edu; 915-747-5576
Education: MA, University of Missouri-St.Louis

Visiting Professor

Barbara Peat
Contact Information: bjpeat@utep.edu
Education: Ph D, New Mexico State University