University of Texas at El Paso Academic Catalog

Academic Catalog

Criminal Justice

Return to: College of Liberal Arts

The Criminal Justice Department offers 3 undergraduate degree programs.

Our on-campus BA in Criminal Justice provides students with a broad social science background for understanding crime, criminal behavior, and the criminal justice system.  This degree prepares students for professional careers in law enforcement/policing, corrections/rehabilitation, and the working in public or private sectors with offenders or victims of crime.  The degree will also prepare for graduate school or law school.

The identical BA in Criminal Justice program is also offered 100% online through UTEP Connect. UTEP Connect offers a more specific and focused curriculum of 7-week courses over 6 semesters during the calendar year.  The online degree allows students to complete their degree from anywhere in the world, provided they have a reliable internet connection.

Our third degree program.is the BA in Security Studies, also offered 100% online through UTEP Connect.  This degree program provides students with a comprehensive examination of the contemporary security environment and the complex security problems confronting us globally.  This specialized online degree prepares students for homeland security, intelligence, law enforcement, military, and security-related careers.

Chair

Leanne Alarid
Contact Information: lfalarid@utep.edu; 915-747-7087
Education: BA, University of Northern Colorado; MA, Sam Houston State University; Ph D, Sam Houston State University

Professor

Leanne Alarid
Contact Information: lfalarid@utep.edu; 915-747-7087
Education: BA, University of Northern Colorado; MA, Sam Houston State University; Ph D, Sam Houston State University

Associate Professor

Theodore Curry
Contact Information: trcurry@utep.edu; 915-747-6527
Education: BA, University of Tulsa; MA, University of Oklahoma; Ph D, Washington State University

Melinda Tasca
Contact Information: mtasca@utep.edu; 915-747-6535
Education: MS, Arizona State University; Ph D, Arizona State University

Egbert Zavala
Contact Information: egbertz@utep.edu; 915-747-6218
Education: BA, University of Texas at El Paso; MA, Kansas State University; Ph D, Kansas State University

Assistant Professor

Mario Cano
Contact Information: mcano13@utep.edu;
Education: Ph D, Arizona State University

Hyunjung Cheon
Contact Information: hcheon@utep.edu;
Education: Ph D, Arizona State University

Timothy Dickinson
Contact Information: tedickinson@utep.edu;
Education: Ph D, University of Missouri, Saint Louis

Misty Duke
Contact Information: mcduke@utep.edu; 915-747-8573
Education: BA, The University of Texas at Austin; MA, Texas Woman's University; Ph D, University of Texas at El Paso

Christian Howell
Contact Information: cjhowell@utep.edu;
Education: Ph D, University of South Florida

Caitlyn Muniz
Contact Information: cnmuniz@utep.edu;
Education: Ph D, University of South Florida

The University of Texas at El Paso
Department of Criminal Justice
Education Building (EDU), Suite 111
2300 Randolph Drive
El Paso, Texas 79968


Phone: 915.747.7943
Email: crimjust@utep.edu
Visit Department Website