University of Texas at El Paso Academic Catalog

Academic Catalog

Sociology and Anthropology

Return to: College of Liberal Arts

The Department of Sociology and Anthropology welcomes you. We are committed to excellent teaching and research on social and cultural issues that shape the U.S.-Mexico borderlands and elsewhere, past and present. We are proud of the accomplishments of our students, and we are committed to work to apply social science to the goals of the El Paso-Ciudad Juárez region and its people. 

Programs

Bachelor of Arts

Certificate

Minor

Chair

Howard Campbell
Contact Information: hcampbel@utep.edu; 915-747-7356
Education: Ph D, University of Wisconsin

Professor

Howard Campbell
Contact Information: hcampbel@utep.edu; 915-747-7356
Education: Ph D, University of Wisconsin

Jayajit Chakraborty
Contact Information: jchakraborty@utep.edu; 915-747-6577
Education: Ph D, The University of Iowa

Josiah Heyman
Contact Information: jmheyman@utep.edu; 915-747-8745
Education: BA, The Johns Hopkins University; Ph D, City University of New York

Maria Morales
Contact Information: mcmorales@utep.edu; 915-747-6838
Education: Ph D, Texas A&M University

Denis O'Hearn
Contact Information: daohearn@utep.edu;
Education: Ph D, University of Michigan

Associate Professor

Pratyusha Basu
Contact Information: pbasu@utep.edu; 915-747-5964
Education: BS, University of Pune; MA, Jawaharlal Nehru University; M. Phil., Indian Institute of Technology-Bombay; Ph D, University of Iowa

David Carmichael
Contact Information: carm@utep.edu; 915-747-6599
Education: Ph D, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Angela Frederick
Contact Information: ahfrederick2@utep.edu;
Education: Ph D, UT Austin

Carina Heckert
Contact Information: checkert@utep.edu; 915-747-6528
Education: BA, Indiana University of Pennsylvania; MA, Indiana University of Pennsylvania; MA, Southern Methodist University; Ph D, Southern Methodist University

Ophra Leyser-Whalen
Contact Information: oleyserwhalen@utep.edu; 915-747-6587
Education: Ph D, University of Kansas

Aurelia Murga
Contact Information: almurga@utep.edu; 915-747-7343
Education: BA, Texas A&M International University; MA, Texas A&M International University; Ph D, Texas A&M University

Guillermina Nunez-Mchiri
Contact Information: ggnunez@utep.edu; 915-747-6132
Education: BA, San Diego State University; MA, San Diego State University; Ph D, University of California, Riverside

Jeremy Slack
Contact Information: jmslack@utep.edu; 915-747-6530
Education: MA, University of Arizona; Ph D, The University of Arizona

Assistant Professor

Xiaodan Morales
Contact Information: xdeng2@utep.edu; 915-747-8471
Education: Ph D, Texas A&M University

Bilge O'Hearn Firat
Contact Information: bohearn@utep.edu; 915-747-6526
Education: BS, Middle East Technical University; MA, State University of New York at Binghamton; Ph D, Binghamton University

The University of Texas at El Paso
Department of Sociology & Anthropology
Old Main Bldg. Room 108
500 W University
El Paso, Texas 79968


Phone: 915.747.5740
Email: soci@utep.edu

Visit Department Website