Return to: College of Liberal Arts

112 Psychology Building
915.747.5551
psychology@utep.edu

The Psychology Department offers two programs leading to a bachelor's degree.

Departmental Honors in Psychology

A candidate for departmental honors in Psychology will have demonstrated ability in Psychology, will have maintained a grade point average (GPA) of 3.0 overall and in Psychology by the end of the junior year, and will maintain these averages until graduation. The candidate can be enrolled in either the BS or BA degree plan in Psychology. The main requirement for Departmental Honors is the satisfactory completion of the Honors Thesis that will be judged by the thesis-research director in conjunction with the Honors Committee.

The candidate for departmental honors should request approval of candidacy during the second semester of the junior year. The Department of Psychology reserves the right to accept or not accept a qualified student, taking into consideration the number of applications, the number of available faculty, and the competence of an individual student. The accepted honors candidate will enroll in PSYC 4353 during at least one semester of the senior year and will have accumulated a total of six (6) hours of PSYC 4352/PSYC 4353 credit upon completion of the honors program. Other regulations, procedures, and important dates for honors candidates are available from the Chairperson, Department of Psychology.

Programs

Bachelor of Arts

Bachelor of Science

Minor

CHAIR: Dr. Stephen Crites

Professors

Lawrence Cohn
Contact Information: lcohn@utep.edu; 915-747-6567
Education: BA, Boston University; Ph D, Washington University
Research Interests: Risk perception, risk communication, drug and alcohol use, safe driving interventions, health promotion, decision research, developmental changes in risk assessment, ego development, meta-analysis

Stephen Crites
Contact Information: scrites@utep.edu; 915-747-6571
Education: BS, The Ohio State University; MA, The Ohio State University; Ph D, The Ohio State University

Wendy Francis
Contact Information: wfrancis@utep.edu; 915-747-8956
Education: BA, University of Texas at Austin; MS, University of California, Los Angeles; Ph D, University of California, Los Angeles

Christian Meissner
Contact Information: cmeissner@utep.edu; 915-747-6056
Education: BA, Pfeiffer University; MS, Florida State University; Ph D, Florida State University

Osvaldo Morera
Contact Information: omorera@utep.edu; 915-747-5417
Education: BS, The Ohio State University; MA, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; Ph D, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

James Wood
Contact Information: jawood@utep.edu; 915-747-6570
Education: BA, Harvard University; Master of Divinity, Yale Divinity School; MA, University of Arizona; Ph D, University of Arizona; MS, University of Texas at El Paso

Michael Zarate
Contact Information: mzarate@utep.edu; 915-747-6569
Education: BA, University of California at Santa Barbara; MS, Purdue University; Ph D, Purdue University

Associate Professors

Ana Schwartz
Contact Information: aischwartz@utep.edu; 915-747-7365
Education: Ph D, The Pennsylvania State University; MS, The Pennsylvania State University; BA, Rutgers University

John Wiebe
Contact Information: jwiebe@utep.edu; 915-747-7611
Education: Ph D, University of Iowa

Assistant Professors

Ashley Bangert
Contact Information: asbangert2@utep.edu; 915-747-8987
Education: BA, Trinity University; MA, University of Michigan; Ph D, University of Michigan

Theodore Cooper
Contact Information: tvcooper@utep.edu; 915-747-6270
Education: BA, New York; MS, The University of Memphis; Ph D, The University of Memphis; POSTD, University of Mississippi

Jennifer Eno Louden
Contact Information: jlenolouden@utep.edu; 915-747-5517
Education: BA, University of Nevada, Las Vegas; MA, University of Nevada, Las Vegas; Ph D, University of California, Irvine

Adam Fetterman
Contact Information: akfetterman@utep.edu; 915-747-6563
Education: Ph D, North Dakota State University

Sergio Iniguez
Contact Information: sdiniguez@utep.edu; 915-747-5769
Education: Ph D, Florida State University

Iva Ivanova
Contact Information: imivanova@utep.edu
Education: Ph D, University of Barcelona

Daniel Jones
Contact Information: dnjones3@utep.edu; 915-747-6076
Education: Ph D, University of British Columbia
Research Interests: White Collar Crime, Dark Triad, Fraud, Corporate Psychopathy, Emotional Promiscuity, Moral Machiavellianism, Psychometrics

Julia Lechuga
Contact Information: julialec@utep.edu; 915-747-7164
Education: Ph D, The University of Texas at El Paso

Caleb Lloyd
Contact Information: cdlloyd@utep.edu; 915-747-8485
Education: MA, Carleton University; Ph D, Carleton University

April Thomas
Contact Information: athomas5@utep.edu; 915-747-6572
Education: BS, Wichita State University; MS, Colorado State University; Ph D, University of California, Irvine
Research Interests: Adolescent development, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, social relationships, adolescence, developmental psychology

Veronica Whitford
Contact Information: vwhitford@utep.edu; 915-747-7514
Education: BA, McGill University; Ph D, McGill University; Postdoctoral Fellowship, University of Western Ontario; Postdoctoral Fellowship, Massachusetts Institute of Technology & Harvard University
Research Interests: Reading and Literacy Development, Bilingual Language Processing, Language Disorders, Cognitive Aging, Schizophrenia, Executive Function, Oculomotor Control, Visual Attention

Assistant Instructors

Scott Frankowski
Contact Information: sdfrankowski@miners.utep.edu; 915-447-6559
Education: BS, University of Wisconsin Oshkosh; MA, University of Texas in El Paso; Ph D, Unviersity of Texas at El Paso

Ciara Kidder
Contact Information: ckconnally@miners.utep.edu; 915-747-5330
Education: BS, Lock Haven University of Pennsylvania; MA, University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, University of Texas at El Paso

Adon Neria
Contact Information: alneria@miners.utep.edu; 915-747-6072
Education: BA, The University of Texas at El Paso; MA, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, The University of Texas at El Paso

Senior Lecturer

Anthony Blum
Contact Information: ajblum@utep.edu; 915-747-5313
Education: Ph D, Ohio State University