Psychology

Return to: College of Liberal Arts

Psychology

The Psychology Department offers two programs leading to a bachelor's degree.

Departmental Honors in Psychology

A candidate for departmental honors in Psychology will have demonstrated ability in Psychology, will have maintained a grade point average (GPA) of 3.0 overall and in Psychology by the end of the junior year, and will maintain these averages until graduation. The candidate can be enrolled in either the BS or BA degree plan in Psychology. The main requirement for Departmental Honors is the satisfactory completion of the Honors Thesis that will be judged by the thesis-research director in conjunction with the Honors Committee.

The candidate for departmental honors should request approval of candidacy during the second semester of the junior year. The Department of Psychology reserves the right to accept or not accept a qualified student, taking into consideration the number of applications, the number of available faculty, and the competence of an individual student. The accepted honors candidate will enroll in PSYC 4353 during at least one semester of the senior year and will have accumulated a total of six (6) hours of PSYC 4352/PSYC 4353 credit upon completion of the honors program. Other regulations, procedures, and important dates for honors candidates are available from the Chairperson, Department of Psychology.

CHAIR: Dr. Stephen Crites

Professor

Edward Castañeda
Contact Information: ecastaneda9@utep.edu; 915-747-6558
Education: Ph D, University of Michigan at Ann Arbor

Lawrence Cohn
Contact Information: lcohn@utep.edu; 915-747-6567
Education: BA, Boston University; Ph D, Washington University
Research Interests: Risk perception, risk communication, drug and alcohol use, safe driving interventions, health promotion, decision research, developmental changes in risk assessment, ego development, meta-analysis

Stephen Crites
Contact Information: scrites@utep.edu; 915-747-6571
Education: BS, The Ohio State University; MA, The Ohio State University; Ph D, The Ohio State University

Wendy Francis
Contact Information: wfrancis@utep.edu; 915-747-8956
Education: BA, University of Texas at Austin; MS, University of California, Los Angeles; Ph D, University of California, Los Angeles

Christian Meissner
Contact Information: cmeissner@utep.edu; 915-747-6056
Education: BA, Pfeiffer University; MS, Florida State University; Ph D, Florida State University

Osvaldo Morera
Contact Information: omorera@utep.edu; 915-747-5417
Education: BS, The Ohio State University; MA, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; Ph D, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Laura O'Dell
Contact Information: lodell@utep.edu; 915-747-6557
Education: BS, Texas A&M University; MS, Arizona State University; Ph D, Arizona State University
Research Interests: Drug Abuse, Tobacco use, Neuroscience, Neurobiology, Addiction, Development, Sex Differences, Diabetes, Vulnerable Populations

John Wiebe
Contact Information: jwiebe@utep.edu; 915-747-7611
Education: Ph D, The University of Iowa

James Wood
Contact Information: jawood@utep.edu; 915-747-6570
Education: BA, Harvard University; Master of Divinity, Yale Divinity School; MA, The University of New Mexico; MA, University of Arizona; Ph D, University of Arizona; MS, The University of Texas at El Paso

Michael Zarate
Contact Information: mzarate@utep.edu; 915-747-6569
Education: BA, University of California, Santa Barbara; MS, Purdue University; Ph D, Purdue University

Associate Professor

Theodore Cooper
Contact Information: tvcooper@utep.edu; 915-747-6270
Education: BA, New York University; MS, The University of Memphis; Ph D, The University of Memphis; Post Doctoral, University of Mississippi

Jennifer Eno Louden
Contact Information: jlenolouden@utep.edu; 915-747-5517
Education: BA, University of Nevada, Las Vegas; MA, University of Nevada, Las Vegas; Ph D, University of California, Irvine

Craig Field
Contact Information: cfield@utep.edu; 915-747-8539
Education: Ph D, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas
Research Interests: Broadly speaking, my primary research interest is empirically evaluating brief health behavior interventions based on motivational interviewing and the refinement of these interventions through cultural adaptation. My funded research focuses on at risk or binge drinking by integrating health behavior interventions based on motivational interviewing in medical, judicial and collegiate settings to reduce the public health burden of alcohol related consequences. As Director of the Latino Alcohol and Health Disparities Research Center (LAHDR), I have integrated interdisciplinary research into the examination of health status and health outcomes among Hispanics by applying a biopsychosocial approach heavily focused on the role of culture. Specifically, we examine biological markers and psychological measures of cumulative stress as well as cultural risk and protective factors that influence health status and health outcomes in the Hispanic community.

Sergio Iñiguez
Contact Information: sdiniguez@utep.edu; 915-747-5769
Education: Ph D, Florida State University

Ana Schwartz
Contact Information: aischwartz@utep.edu; 915-747-7365
Education: BA, Rutgers University; MS, Penn State University; Ph D, Penn State University

Assistant Professor

Ashley Bangert
Contact Information: asbangert2@utep.edu; 915-747-8987
Education: BA, Trinity University; MA, University of Michigan; Ph D, University of Michigan

Carla Contemori
Contact Information: ccontemori@utep.edu;
Education: MA, University of Siena; BA, University of Siena; Ph D, University of Siena

Misty Duke
Contact Information: mcduke@utep.edu; 915-747-8573
Education: BA, The University of Texas at Austin; MA, Texas Woman's University; Ph D, University of Texas at El Paso
Research Interests: Interrogation, Legal Psychology, Rapport, Intelligence and Psychology, Quantitative Methods in Social Sciences, Decision making, Expert Witness

Iva Ivanova
Contact Information: imivanova@utep.edu;
Education: Ph D, University of Barcelona

Christine Potter
Contact Information: cepotter2@utep.edu; 915-747-6563
Education: Ph D, University of Wisconsin - Madison

Krystia Reed
Contact Information: kmreed2@utep.edu;
Education: BA, Claremont McKenna College; MA, University of Nebraska - Lincoln; JD, University of Nebraska - Lincoln; Ph D, University of Nebraska

Katherine Serafine
Contact Information: kmserafine2@utep.edu; 915-747-6566
Education: BA, Norwich University; MA, American University; Ph D, American University

April Thomas
Contact Information: athomas5@utep.edu; 915-747-6572
Education: BS, Wichita State University; MS, Colorado State University; Ph D, University of California, Irvine
Research Interests: Adolescent development, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, social relationships, adolescence, developmental psychology

Hannah Volpert-Esmond
Contact Information: hivolpertes@utep.edu;
Education: Ph D, University of Missouri-Columbia

Research Assistant Professor

Eden Robles
Contact Information: erobles9@utep.edu; 915-747-7986
Education: AA, St. Phillip's College; Bachelor of Social Work, Our Lady of the Lake University; MSW, Our Lady of the Lake University; Ph D, The University of Texas at Austin

Programs

Bachelor of Arts

Bachelor of Science

Minor

Department of Psychology

Psychology Building, Room 112 

Phone: 915.747.5551

Email: psychology@utep.edu