Return to: College of Liberal Arts

112 Psychology Building
915.747.5551
psychology@utep.edu

The Psychology Department offers two programs leading to a bachelor's degree.

Departmental Honors in Psychology

A candidate for departmental honors in Psychology will have demonstrated ability in Psychology, will have maintained a grade point average (GPA) of 3.0 overall and in Psychology by the end of the junior year, and will maintain these averages until graduation. The candidate can be enrolled in either the BS or BA degree plan in Psychology. The main requirement for Departmental Honors is the satisfactory completion of the Honors Thesis that will be judged by the thesis-research director in conjunction with the Honors Committee.

The candidate for departmental honors should request approval of candidacy during the second semester of the junior year. The Department of Psychology reserves the right to accept or not accept a qualified student, taking into consideration the number of applications, the number of available faculty, and the competence of an individual student. The accepted honors candidate will enroll in PSYC 4353 during at least one semester of the senior year and will have accumulated a total of six (6) hours of PSYC 4352/PSYC 4353 credit upon completion of the honors program. Other regulations, procedures, and important dates for honors candidates are available from the Chairperson, Department of Psychology.

Programs

Bachelor of Arts

Bachelor of Science

Minor

CHAIR: Dr. Stephen Crites

Professor

Edward Castañeda
Contact Information: ecastaneda9@utep.edu; 915-747-6558
Education: Ph D, University of Michigan at Ann Arbor, 2018

Lawrence Cohn
Contact Information: lcohn@utep.edu; 915-747-6567
Education: BA, Boston University; Ph D, Washington University, 2018
Research Interests: Risk perception, risk communication, drug and alcohol use, safe driving interventions, health promotion, decision research, developmental changes in risk assessment, ego development, meta-analysis

Stephen Crites
Contact Information: scrites@utep.edu; 915-747-6571
Education: BS, The Ohio State University; MA, The Ohio State University; Ph D, The Ohio State University, 2018

Wendy Francis
Contact Information: wfrancis@utep.edu; 915-747-8956
Education: BA, University of Texas at Austin; MS, University of California, Los Angeles; Ph D, University of California, Los Angeles, 2018

Christian Meissner
Contact Information: cmeissner@utep.edu; 915-747-6056
Education: BA, Pfeiffer University; MS, Florida State University; Ph D, Florida State University, 2018

Osvaldo Morera
Contact Information: omorera@utep.edu; 915-747-5417
Education: BS, The Ohio State University; MA, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign; Ph D, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 2018

Laura O'Dell
Contact Information: lodell@utep.edu; 915-747-6557
Education: BS, Texas A&M University; MS, Arizona State University; Ph D, Arizona State University, 2018
Research Interests: Drug Abuse, Tobacco use, Neuroscience, Neurobiology, Addiction, Development, Sex Differences, Diabetes, Vulnerable Populations

John Wiebe
Contact Information: jwiebe@utep.edu; 915-747-7611
Education: Ph D, The University of Iowa, 2018

James Wood
Contact Information: jawood@utep.edu; 915-747-6570
Education: BA, Harvard University; Master of Divinity, Yale Divinity School; MA, The University of New Mexico; MA, University of Arizona; Ph D, University of Arizona; MS, The University of Texas at El Paso, 2018

Michael Zarate
Contact Information: mzarate@utep.edu; 915-747-6569
Education: BA, University of California, Santa Barbara; MS, Purdue University; Ph D, Purdue University, 2018

Associate Professor

Theodore Cooper
Contact Information: tvcooper@utep.edu; 915-747-6270
Education: BA, New York University; MS, The University of Memphis; Ph D, The University of Memphis; Post Doctoral, University of Mississippi, 2018

Jennifer Eno Louden
Contact Information: jlenolouden@utep.edu; 915-747-5517
Education: BA, University of Nevada, Las Vegas; MA, University of Nevada, Las Vegas; Ph D, University of California, Irvine, 2018

Craig Field
Contact Information: cfield@utep.edu; 915-747-8539
Education: Ph D, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas, 2018
Research Interests: Broadly speaking, my primary research interest is empirically evaluating brief health behavior interventions based on motivational interviewing and the refinement of these interventions through cultural adaptation. My funded research focuses on at risk or binge drinking by integrating health behavior interventions based on motivational interviewing in medical, judicial and collegiate settings to reduce the public health burden of alcohol related consequences. As Director of the Latino Alcohol and Health Disparities Research Center (LAHDR), I have integrated interdisciplinary research into the examination of health status and health outcomes among Hispanics by applying a biopsychosocial approach heavily focused on the role of culture. Specifically, we examine biological markers and psychological measures of cumulative stress as well as cultural risk and protective factors that influence health status and health outcomes in the Hispanic community.

Sergio Iñiguez
Contact Information: sdiniguez@utep.edu; 915-747-5769
Education: Ph D, Florida State University, 2018

Ana Schwartz
Contact Information: aischwartz@utep.edu; 915-747-7365
Education: BA, Rutgers University; MS, Penn State University; Ph D, Penn State University, 2018

Assistant Professor

Ashley Bangert
Contact Information: asbangert2@utep.edu; 915-747-8987
Education: BA, Trinity University; MA, University of Michigan; Ph D, University of Michigan, 2018

Carla Contemori
Contact Information: ccontemori@utep.edu;
Education: MA, University of Siena; BA, University of Siena; Ph D, University of Siena, 2018

Adam Fetterman
Contact Information: akfetterman@utep.edu; 915-747-6563
Education: Ph D, North Dakota State University, 2018

Iva Ivanova
Contact Information: imivanova@utep.edu;
Education: Ph D, University of Barcelona, 2018

Katherine Serafine
Contact Information: kmserafine2@utep.edu; 915-747-6566
Education: BA, Norwich University; MA, American University; Ph D, American University, 2018

April Thomas
Contact Information: athomas5@utep.edu; 915-747-6572
Education: BS, Wichita State University; MS, Colorado State University; Ph D, University of California, Irvine, 2018
Research Interests: Adolescent development, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, social relationships, adolescence, developmental psychology

Veronica Whitford
Contact Information: vwhitford@utep.edu; 915-747-7514
Education: BA, McGill University; Ph D, McGill University; Postdoctoral Fellowship, University of Western Ontario; Postdoctoral Fellowship, Massachusetts Institute of Technology & Harvard University, 2018
Research Interests: Reading and Literacy Development, Bilingual Language Processing, Language Disorders, Cognitive Aging, Schizophrenia, Executive Function, Oculomotor Control, Visual Attention

Research Assistant Professor

Rebecca Pasillas
Contact Information: rmpasillas@utep.edu; 915-304-0117

Eden Robles
Contact Information: erobles9@utep.edu; 915-747-7986
Education: AA, St. Phillip's College; Bachelor of Social Work, Our Lady of the Lake University; MSW, Our Lady of the Lake University; Ph D, The University of Texas at Austin, 2018