Return to: College of Liberal Arts

401 Liberal Arts Building
915.747.8650
aasp@utep.edu

Programs

Minor

PROGRAM DIRECTOR: Dr. Selfa A. Chew 

Professors

Charles Ambler 
Contact Information: cambler@utep.edu; 915-747-8039 
Education: BA, Middlebury College; MA, Yale University; Ph D, Yale University

Sandra Deutsch 
Contact Information: sdeutsch@utep.edu; 915-747-7066 
Education: Ph D, University of Florida

Charles Martin 
Contact Information: mcharles@utep.edu; 915-747-7055 
Education: Ph D, Tulane University

Kathleen Staudt 
Contact Information: kstaudt@utep.edu; 915-747-7975 
Education: BA, University of Wisconsin/Milwaukee; MA, University of Wisconsin; Ph D, University of Wisconsin

William G. Weaver
Contact Information: wweaver@utep.edu; 915-747-8867
Education:BA, California State University, Sacramento; MA, Woodrow Wilson Department of Politics; JD, University of Virginia; Ph D, University of Virginia

Associate Professors

Steven Best 
Contact Information: best@utep.edu; 915-747-5097 
Education: Ph D, University of Texas at Austin 
Research Interests: Continental philosophy, applied ethics (animal rights, environmental ethics, bioethics), social and political philosophy, media theory and cultural studies, Marxism and critical theory, science and technology studies, security and terrorism studies/

Visiting Assistant Professor

Selfa A. Chew-Meléndez

Contact Information: sachewsmithart@utep.edu; 915-747-8650
Education: BA, Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México; MFA, University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, University of Texas at El Paso.

Research Interests: Race, gender and ethnicity, the Asian and African diasporas, and World War II. 

Clinical Assistant Professor

John Siqueiros 
Contact Information: jsiqueiros@utep.edu; 915-747-8650 
Education: BA, University of Texas at El Paso; MA, University of California, San Diego 
Research Interests: 20th century music for guitar, Latin American music for guitar, chamber music for guitar, music and society/culture