Return to: College of Liberal Arts

111 Benedict Hall
Phone: 915.747.5227
Fax: 915.747.6616
rsegura@utep.edu
http://academics.utep.edu/politicalscience

Departmental Honors in Political Science

Outstanding students can complete an Honors Thesis. For details, students should consult the chairperson.

Teacher Certification

For information on certification in the composite social studies area, students should refer to the College of Liberal Arts section of this catalog.

Programs

Bachelor of Arts

Minor

CHAIR: Dr. Charles Boehmer

Professor

Charles Boehmer
Contact Information: crboehmer@utep.edu; 915-747-7979
Education: Ph D, Penn State University, 2018
Research Interests: International relations/Comparative Politics: International Conflict, Civil Conflicts, International Political Economy, International Organization, Civil War, Terrorism, Border Politics and Theory. Research methods and statistics

Irasema Coronado
Contact Information: icoronado@utep.edu; 915-747-5725
Education: BA, University of South Florida; MA, University of Arizona; Ph D, University of Arizona, 2018

Gaspare Genna
Contact Information: ggenna@utep.edu; 915-747-6066
Education: Ph D, Claremont Graduate University, 2018

Taeko Hiroi
Contact Information: thiroi@utep.edu; 915-747-7983
Education: Ph D, University of Pittsburgh, 2018

Gregory Schmidt
Contact Information: gdschmidt@utep.edu; 915-747-7973
Education: BA, University of Texas at Austin; MA, Cornell Univesity; Ph D, Cornell University, 2018

Associate Professor

Gregory Rocha
Contact Information: grocha@utep.edu; 915-747-7977
Education: Ph D, The University of Texas atAustin, 2018

Cigdem Sirin Villalobos
Contact Information: cigdemsirin@utep.edu; 915-747-7971
Education: BA, Bogazici University; Ph D, Texas A&M University, 2018

José Villalobos
Contact Information: jdvillalobos2@utep.edu; 915-747-7978
Education: BA, University of Texas at San Antonio; Ph D, Texas A&M University, 2018

Assistant Professor

Todd Curry
Contact Information: tacurry@utep.edu; 915-747-7967
Education: Ph D, Western Michigan University, 2018

Rebecca Reid
Contact Information: rareid@utep.edu; 915-747-7970
Education: BA, Wofford College; Ph D, University of South Carolina, 2018
Research Interests: judicial politics, international law, comparative courts, indigenous law, human rights, research methods, separation of powers, gendered decision making, courts and national security

Yingnan Zhou
Contact Information: yzhou5@utep.edu; 915-747-6216
Education: Ph D, University of Iowa, 2018
Research Interests: Authoritarian politics, democratization, authoritarian resilience