Return to: College of Liberal Arts

202 Cotton Memorial
915.747.5129

The Department of Communication affords students the opportunity to pursue a Bachelor of Arts degree in Communication. Five majors are available: Communication Studies, Digital Media Production, Media Advertising, Organizational and Corporate Communication, and Multimedia Journalism. In addition to taking core courses, each student completes requirements for his or her sequence, as well as six (6) or nine (9) hours of electives.

Programs

Bachelor of Arts

Minor

CHAIR: Dr. Stacey Sowards

Professors

Tarla Peterson
Contact Information: trpeterson@utep.edu; 915-747-5913
Education: Ph D, Washington State University

Arvind Singhal
Contact Information: asinghal@utep.edu; 915-747-5129
Education: Ph D, University of Southern California

Stacey Sowards
Contact Information: ssowards@utep.edu; 915-747-8854
Education: MA, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, University of Kansas

Patricia Witherspoon
Contact Information: withersp@utep.edu; 915-747-7018
Education: Ph D, UT Austin

Chung-Chuan Yang
Contact Information: cyang@utep.edu; 915-747-6517
Education: Ph D, Ohio State University
Research Interests: Advertising, International Advertising, New Media and Advertising, Telecommunications Policy in the Asia Pacific Region

Associate Professors

Richard Pineda
Contact Information: rdpineda@utep.edu; 915-747-6678
Education: Ph D, Wayne State University

Thomas Ruggiero
Contact Information: truggier@utep.edu; 915-747-5762
Education: Ph D, Bowling Green State University; MS, Shippensburg University; BA, University of Oregon School of Journalism

Mary Trejo
Contact Information: mtrejo@utep.edu; 915-747-5431
Education: Ph D, The University of Tulsa

Assistant Professors

Yannick Atouba
Contact Information: yatouba@utep.edu
Education: Ph D, University of Illinois
Research Interests: interorganizational organizing, organizational behavior, organizational communication

Maria de los Angeles Flores
Contact Information: mdelosangelesflores@utep.edu
Education: Ph D, University of Texas at Austin

Sabiha Khan
Contact Information: skhan2@utep.edu; 915-747-7690
Education: Ph D, University of Michigan

Sarah Upton
Contact Information: smupton@miners.utep.edu
Education: Ph D, University of New Mexico

Senior Lecturer

Eli Garcia
Contact Information: egarcia11@utep.edu; 915-747-5310
Education: BBA, The University of Texas at El Paso; MBA, The University of Texas at El Paso; MA, The University of Texas at El Paso
Research Interests: Public Relations, Organizational Communication, Corporate Communication, Branding, Advertising, International Advertising, Case Studies in Public Relations, OrganizationalLeadership.