Communication

Return to: College of Liberal Arts

Communication

The Department of Communication affords students the opportunity to pursue a Bachelor of Arts degree in Communication. Five majors are available:

  • Communication Studies
  • Digital Media Production 
  • Media Advertising
  • Organizational and Corporate Communication
  • Multimedia Journalism

In addition to taking core courses, each student completes requirements for his or her sequence, and electives as required by each major. 

Chair 

Dr. Stacey Sowards

Professor

Tarla Peterson
Contact Information: trpeterson@utep.edu; 915-747-5913
Education: Ph D, Washington State University

Arvind Singhal
Contact Information: asinghal@utep.edu; 915-747-5129
Education: MA, University of Southern California; Ph D, University of Southern California

Stacey Sowards
Contact Information: ssowards@utep.edu; 915-747-8854
Education: MA, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, University of Kansas

Chung-Chuan Yang
Contact Information: cyang@utep.edu; 915-747-6517
Education: Ph D, Ohio State University
Research Interests: Advertising, International Advertising, New Media and Advertising, Telecommunications Policy in the Asia Pacific Region

Associate Professor

Yannick Atouba
Contact Information: yatouba@utep.edu;
Education: Ph D, University of Illinois
Research Interests: interorganizational organizing, organizational behavior, organizational communication

Roberto Avant-Mier
Contact Information: ravantmier@utep.edu; 915-747-6588
Education: Ph D, University of Utah
Research Interests: Communication/Media studies, Critical/Cultural studies, Latino(a)/Chicana(o) studies, Popular Music, and Intercultural Communication

Eduardo Barrera
Contact Information: eduardo@utep.edu; 915-747-6516
Education: Ph D, University of Texas at Austin

Frank Perez
Contact Information: fperez1@utep.edu; 915-747-6287
Education: BA, University of Texas at El Paso; MA, University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, University of New Mexico
Research Interests: Health Communication, Public Memory, Chicanx Identity and Mediated Representation, Border Studies

Richard Pineda
Contact Information: rdpineda@utep.edu; 915-747-6678
Education: Ph D, Wayne State University

Thomas Ruggiero
Contact Information: truggier@utep.edu; 915-747-5762
Education: BA, University of Oregon School of Journalism; MS, Shippensburg University; Ph D, Bowling Green State University

Mary Trejo
Contact Information: mtrejo@utep.edu; 915-747-5431
Education: Ph D, The University of Tulsa

Assistant Professor

Katie Bird
Contact Information: kebird@utep.edu;
Education: MA, Carnegie Mellon University; Ph D, University of Pittsburgh

Maria de los Angeles Flores
Contact Information: mdelosangelesflores@utep.edu; 915-747-8798
Education: Ph D, University of Texas at Austin

Sabiha Khan
Contact Information: skhan2@utep.edu; 915-747-7690
Education: Ph D, University of Michigan

Carlos Tarin
Contact Information: catarin@utep.edu; 915-747-6202
Education: BA, University of Texas at El Paso; MA, University of Colorado -- Boulder; Ph D, University of Utah
Research Interests: organizational communication, environmental communication, rhetorical theory, forensics pedagogy, international communication, non-profit organizing

Sarah Upton
Contact Information: smupton@utep.edu;
Education: Ph D, University of New Mexico

Assistant Professor of Practice

Rhonda Dore
Contact Information: rrdore@utep.edu;
Education: BA, The University of Texas at El Paso

Department of Communication

Cotton Memorial, Room 201
500 W University
El Paso, Texas 79902

Phone: 915.747.5129

Email: roantill@utep.edu