Return to: College of Liberal Arts

320 Liberal Arts
915.747.5508
history@utep.edu

Programs

Bachelor of Arts

Minor

CHAIR: Dr. Samuel Brunk

Professor

Charles Ambler
Contact Information: cambler@utep.edu; 915-747-8039
Education: BA, Middlebury College; MA, Yale University; Ph D, Yale University, 2018

Samuel Brunk
Contact Information: sbrunk@utep.edu; 915-747-7064
Education: BA, Washington University in St. Louis; MA, The University of New Mexico; Ph D, The University of New Mexico, 2018

Ernesto Chavez
Contact Information: echavez@utep.edu; 915-747-6591
Education: BA, University of California at Los Angeles; MA, University of California at Los Angeles; Ph D, University of California at Los Angeles, 2018

Yasuhide Kawashima
Contact Information: ykawashi@utep.edu; 915-747-7068
Education: Ph D, University of California, 2018
Research Interests: Indian-white legal relations in the United States, history of American family law, the American railroads, the Pacific War and the American law of treason, and history of American forensic medicine.

Charles Martin
Contact Information: mcharles@utep.edu; 915-747-7055
Education: Ph D, Tulane University, 2018

Sandra McGee Deutsch
Contact Information: sdeutsch@utep.edu; 915-747-7066
Education: Ph D, University of Florida, 2018

Michael Williams
Contact Information: mvwilliams@utep.edu; 915-747-7822
Education: BA, University of Mississippi; MA, University of Mississippi; Ph D, The University of Mississippi, 2018
Research Interests: Civil Rights, Social Resistance movements, Black Intellectuals and Radicalism, Grassroots Activism, Organizational Resistance Strategies and Tactics

Associate Professor

Michelle Armstrong-Partida
Contact Information: marmstrongpartida@utep.edu; 915-747-7063
Education: BS, Texas A&M University; MA, University of Iowa; Ph D, University of Iowa, 2018

Yolanda Chavez Leyva
Contact Information: yleyva@utep.edu; 915-747-7048
Education: BBA, The University of Texas at Austin; MA, The University of Texas at El Paso; Ph D, The University of Arizona, 2018
Research Interests: Mexican American history, childhood history, traditional healing, history of space/place.

Paul Edison
Contact Information: pedison@utep.edu; 915-747-6808
Education: Ph D, Columbia University, 2018

Joshua Fan
Contact Information: jfan@utep.edu; 915-747-8948
Education: BA, Uinversity of California, Berkeley; MA, Univeristy of Washington; Ph D, University of Hawaii at Manoa, 2018

Jeffrey Shepherd
Contact Information: jpshepherd@utep.edu; 915-747-6805
Education: BA, Florida State University; MA, University of Oregon; Ph D, Arizona State University, 2018
Research Interests: US History, Indigenous Histories, Borderlands History, Public History, Southwestern History, Environmental history.

Michael Topp
Contact Information: mtopp@utep.edu; 915-747-7053
Education: BA, Trinity College; MA, Brown University; Ph D, Brown University, 2018

Ronald Weber
Contact Information: rweber@utep.edu; 915-747-6512
Education: BA, Fort Hays Kansas State University; MA, University of Wisconsin; Ph D, University of Wisconsin, 2018

Assistant Professor

Ignacio Martinez
Contact Information: imartinez26@utep.edu; 915-747-7054
Education: MA, University of New Mexico; Ph D, University of Arizona, 2018

Susan Stanfield
Contact Information: sjstanfield@utep.edu; 915-747-7067
Education: Ph D, University of Iowa, 2018

Larisa Veloz
Contact Information: llveloz@utep.edu; 915-747-6277
Education: BA, University of California, Davis; MA, University of California, Santa Barbara; Ph D, Georgetown University, 2018