Return to: College of Liberal Arts

203 Worrell Hall
915.747.6617
philos@utep.edu

Programs

Bachelor of Arts

Minor

CHAIR: Dr. Marc A. Moffett

Professor

John Haddox 
Contact Information: jhaddox@utep.edu; 915-747-6262 
Education: BA, University of Notre Dame; MA, University of Notre Dame; Ph D, University of Notre Dame

Associate Professors

Steven Best 
Contact Information: best@utep.edu; 915-747-5097 
Education: Ph D, University of Texas at Austin 
Research Interests: Continental philosophy, applied ethics (animal rights, environmental ethics, bioethics), social and political philosophy, media theory and cultural studies, Marxism and critical theory, science and technology studies, security and terrorism studies/

Marc A. Moffett 
Contact Information: mamoffett@utep.edu; 915-747-5804
Education: BA, New Mexico State University; MA, University of Colorado, Boulder; Ph D, University of Colorado, Boulder 

Julius Simon 
Contact Information: jsimon@utep.edu; 915-747-7912 
Education: BA, Northwestern University; Ph D, Temple University 
Research Interests: Phenomenology, ethical theory, aesthetics, technoethics, environmental ethics, bioethics

William Springer 
Contact Information: wspringe@utep.edu; 915-747-5180 
Education: Ph D, Rice University

John Symons 
Contact Information: jsymons@utep.edu; 915-747-5804 
Education: BA, Connecticut College; Ph D, Boston University

Assistant Professors

Caroline Arruda 
Contact Information: ctarruda@utep.edu; 915-747-5180 
Education: BA, New College of Florida; MA, State University of New York at Stony Brook; Ph D, State University of New York at Stony Brook 
Research Interests: Ethics, Philosophy of Action, Social and Political Philosophy

Lorena Chavez 
Contact Information: lchavez10@utep.edu

Juan Ferret 
Contact Information: jferret@utep.edu; 915-747-5249 
Education: BS, Gonzaga University; BS, Gonzaga University; BA, Gonzaga University; Graduate Physics Coursework, University of Oregon; MA, University of Oregon; Ph D, University of Oregon