Return to: College of Liberal Arts

301 M Fox Fine Arts
915.747.5606 (phone)
915.747.5023 (fax)
music@utep.edu

The Department of Music offers programs leading toward the Bachelor of Music (BM) degree in four major fields of Music Education: General Studies with Teacher Certification; Performance; Commercial Music; and Theory and Composition. The Department also offers a Minor in Music with three options/tracks: Applied, Performance, or Commercial/Recording. Students should choose one option.

Limits on Undergraduate Music Course Enrollment for Music Majors 

Music Majors may enroll in undergraduate music classes a maximum of three (3) times. Exemptions will only be granted in cases of extreme hardship at the discretion of the chair. 

A student may enroll more than three times in a variable-topic, studio, performance, workshop, or other course that is identified as "may be repeated for credit."A student may enroll in a course designated as variable-topic, studio, performance, workshop, or other course that is identified as "may be repeated for credit" in which he or she has unresolved grade of I (Incomplete).

Students enrolled in "Pre-Major" Individual Instruction MUSA 1290, Voice Class MUSA 1274, or MUSA 2280, Intermediate Class Guitar may only take those courses a maximum of two times.

Students enrolled in MUSA 1195 must attempt entry to Upper Level lessons through a barrier jury after the fourth semester of study in MUSA 1195. Students have a maximum of two attempts to successfully pass the barrier jury and gain entry into upper level lessons. 

Programs

Bachelor of Music

Minor in Music (Choose one Option)

CHAIR: Dr. Lowell Graham

Professors

Lorenzo Candelaria
Contact Information: lfcandelaria2@utep.edu
Education: B Mus, Oberlin College Conservatory; Ph D, Yale University

Melissa Colgin Abeln
Contact Information: mcolgin@utep.edu; 915-747-7798
Education: Doctor of Musical Arts, University of Texas at Austin

Dominic Dousa
Contact Information: ddousa@utep.edu; 915-747-7819
Education: DA, Ball State University

Bradley Genevro
Contact Information: bgenevro@utep.edu; 915-747-7796
Education: DMA, University of North Texas
Research Interests: Recording wind bands, Promoting the development of the wind band repertoire, teaching of conducting

Lowell Graham
Contact Information: legraham@utep.edu; 915-747-5606
Education: BA, University of Northern Colorado; MA, University of Northern Colorado; Doctor of Musical Arts -- DMA, The Catholic University of America in Washington

Ronald Hufstader
Contact Information: rhufstad@utep.edu; 915-747-7796
Education: Ph D, University of Iowa

Charles Leinberger
Contact Information: charlesl@utep.edu; 915-747-7800
Education: BM (Bachelor of Music), Northern Arizona University; MM (Master of Music), The University of Miami; Ph D, The University of Arizona

Oscar Macchioni
Contact Information: omacchioni@utep.edu; 915-747-7817
Education: Ph D, University of Arizona
Research Interests: Latin American Piano Music, Tango, Academic Tangos, Szymanowski, Piano Pedagogy, Group Piano Teaching

Stephanie Meyers
Contact Information: smeyers@utep.edu; 915-747-7810
Education: M.M., New England Conservatory; DMA, New England Conservatory of Music

David Ross
Contact Information: dross@utep.edu; 915-747-7827
Education: Ph D, The University of Iowa

James White
Contact Information: jwhite@utep.edu; 915-747-7802
Education: MM, Baylor University

Steve Wilson
Contact Information: swilson@utep.edu; 915-747-7804
Education: DMA, University of Illinois

Associate Professors

Dena Jones
Contact Information: dkjones@utep.edu; 915-747-6625
Education: BM - Bachelor of Music, University of Illinois; MM - Master of Music, University of Illinois; DMA - Doctor of Musical Arts, University of Arizona
Research Interests: Spain, Nationalism, Folk Music, Ethnomusicology, Piano, Piano Literature, Piano Repertoire, Piano Pedagogy

William McMillan
Contact Information: wmcmilla@utep.edu; 915-747-6630
Education: DA, University of Northern Colorado

Curtis Tredway
Contact Information: ctredway@utep.edu; 915-747-5049
Education: Ph D, University of Southern Mississippi

Donald Wilkinson
Contact Information: dwilkins@utep.edu; 915-747-7805
Education: DMA, University of Arizona

Assistant Professors

Eric Hanson
Contact Information: emhanson@utep.edu; 915-747-8164
Education: Doctorate of Musical Arts, University of Souther California
Research Interests: adapting individual teaching techniques to teach fundamentals to ensembles through the use of "vocal function sounds", how to assist emerging singers & other musicians in online self-promotion

Andrea Shaheen
Contact Information: alshaheen@utep.edu; 915-747-7824
Education: Bachelor of Music, University of North Texas; Master of Music, University of Arizona; Doctor of Musical Arts, The University of Arizona

Erik Unsworth
Contact Information: eunsworth@utep.edu; 915-747-7816
Education: Master of Music, Indiana University

Elisa Wilson
Contact Information: ewilson@utep.edu; 915-747-8708
Education: BS, University of Illinois; Master of Music (MM), Wichita State University; Doctor of Musical Arts (DMA), University of Illinois

Adjoint Assistant Professor

Kenneth Capshaw
Contact Information: klcapshaw5@utep.edu
Education: Bachelor's Degree in Music Education, University of New Mexico

Senior Lecturers

Gregory Luffey
Contact Information: gsluffey@utep.edu; 915-747-5642
Education: Bachelor of Music, Virginia Commonwealth University; Master of Music Performance, Virginia Commonwealth University; Post baccalaureate Certification Program, Texas State University
Research Interests: Early jazz saxophone soloists

Nancy Taylor
Contact Information: netaylor@utep.edu; 915-747-7799
Education: Bachelor of Music, Arizona State University; Master of Music, Indiana University; Master of Occupational Therapy, University of Texas at El Paso

Visiting Assistant Professors

Juanita Newland Ulloa
Contact Information: jmnewlandulloa@utep.edu; 915-747-8164
Education: BA, Yale University; MA, UC Berkeley; Doctoral of Arts D.A. (AM PHD CANDIDATE-MAY 2016 GRADUATION), University of Northern Colorado
Research Interests: Mexican Song & Rhythms, Mariachi, Boleros, Spanish Song, Flamenco, Arab influenced Southern Spain, Cuban Song and Rhythms; Songs of world cultures, Diverse European Song Literature and Music History.

Stephen Nordstrom
Contact Information: sbnordstrom@utep.edu; 915-747-5607
Education: Master of Music, University of Cincinnati, College-Conservatory of Music; Doctor of Musical Arts, University of Cincinnati, College-Conservatory of Music