University of Texas at El Paso Academic Catalog

Academic Catalog

Music

Return to: College of Liberal Arts

The University of Texas at El Paso is a National Association of Schools of Music accredited institution.

The University of Texas at El Paso's Department of Music offers the Bachelor of Music degree in four major areas: Education, Performance, Commercial Music, and Theory-and-Composition. The department also offers the Master of Music degree in two major areas: Education and Performance. Many of our graduates are professional performers and educators in the southwestern United States. The Department also offers a Minor in Music with three options/tracks: Applied, Performance, or Commercial/Recording. Students should choose one option.

All candidates for the Bachelor of Music degree must declare a major instrument or voice as a performing medium. This instrument or voice should be studied for credit each semester in residence (summers excepted). Any standard band or orchestra instrument, keyboard or guitar may be chosen for major emphasis in the instrumental performance plan. In the music education plan, instrumental concentration, only standard band and orchestra instruments can be the performance area. Students in the music education plan, vocal concentration, must have voice as a major performing area. Students must audition for applied faculty for placement into MUSA 1195 Individual Instruction, Individual Instruction (applied study for music majors). Those not successfully placing into MUSA 1195 Individual Instruction may take MUSA 1190 Individual Instruction, pre-major lessons, or MUSA 1274 Voice Class, Voice Class for vocal majors, for up to 2 semesters.

Limits on Undergraduate Music Course Enrollment for Music Majors 

Music Majors may enroll in undergraduate music classes a maximum of three (3) times. Exemptions will only be granted in cases of extreme hardship at the discretion of the chair. 

A student may enroll more than three times in a variable-topic, studio, performance, workshop, or other course that is identified as "may be repeated for credit."A student may enroll in a course designated as variable-topic, studio, performance, workshop, or other course that is identified as "may be repeated for credit" in which he or she has unresolved grade of I (Incomplete).

Students enrolled in MUSA 1190 Individual InstructionMUSA 1274 Voice Class, or MUSA 2280 Intermediate Guitar Class may only take those courses a maximum of two times.

Students enrolled in MUSA 1195 Individual Instruction must attempt entry to Upper-Level lessons through a barrier jury after the fourth semester of study in MUSA 1195 Individual Instruction. Students have a maximum of two attempts to successfully pass the barrier jury and gain entry into upper-level lessons. 

Chair

Steve Wilson
Contact Information: swilson@utep.edu; 915-747-7804
Education: BMus, The University of Texas at El Paso; M.Mus., University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign; DMA, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Professor

Dominic Dousa
Contact Information: ddousa@utep.edu; 915-747-7819
Education: BA, Harvard University; M.Mus., Central Michigan University; DA, Ball State University

Bradley Genevro
Contact Information: bgenevro@utep.edu; 915-747-7796
Education: BS, Indiana University of Pennsylvania; M.Mus., Indiana University of Pennsylvania; DMA, University of North Texas

Dena Jones
Contact Information: dkjones@utep.edu; 915-747-6625
Education: BMus, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign; M.Mus., University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign; DMA, The University of Arizona

Charles Leinberger
Contact Information: charlesl@utep.edu; 915-747-7800
Education: BMus, Northern Arizona University; M.Mus., The University of Miami; Ph D, The University of Arizona

Oscar Macchioni
Contact Information: omacchioni@utep.edu; 915-747-7817
Education: BM Ed, Universidad Nacional de Tucumán; M.Mus., Louisiana State University; DMA, The University of Arizona

Stephanie Meyers
Contact Information: smeyers@utep.edu; 915-747-7810
Education: BMus, New England Conservatory; M.Mus., New England Conservatory; DMA, New England Conservatory

David Ross
Contact Information: dross@utep.edu; 915-747-7827
Education: BMus, Oberlin College & Conservatory; M.Mus., The University of Iowa; DMA, The University of Iowa

Steve Wilson
Contact Information: swilson@utep.edu; 915-747-7804
Education: BMus, The University of Texas at El Paso; M.Mus., University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign; DMA, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Associate Professor

Stephen Nordstrom
Contact Information: sbnordstrom@utep.edu; 915-747-5607
Education: BMus, University of North Texas; M.Mus., University of Cincinnati, College-Conservatory of Music; DMA, University of Cincinnati, College-Conservatory of Music

Chris Reyman
Contact Information: cereyman@utep.edu; 915-747-7805
Education: BMus, Millikin University; M.Mus., University of Illinois; DMA, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Curtis Tredway
Contact Information: ctredway@utep.edu; 915-747-5049
Education: BM Ed, Florida State University; M.Mus., The University of Southern Mississippi; Ph D, The University of Southern Mississippi

Erik Unsworth
Contact Information: eunsworth@utep.edu; 915-747-7816
Education: BMus, Appalachian State University; M.Mus., Indiana University

Elisa Wilson
Contact Information: ewilson@utep.edu; 915-747-8708
Education: BS, University of Illinois; M.Mus., Wichita State University; DMA, University of Illinois

Assistant Professor

Brian Downen
Contact Information: bgdownen@utep.edu; 915-747-6352
Education: BS, Eastern Illinois University; M.Mus., Yale University - School of Music

Brian Jarvis
Contact Information: bejarvis@utep.edu; 915-747-7814
Education: BMus, University of Missouri; M.Mus., Bowling Green State University; Ph D, Florida State University

Juan David Rubio Restrepo
Contact Information: jrubiorest@utep.edu;
Education: BMus, Pontificia Universidad Javeriana; MFA, University of California Irvine; Ph D, University of California San Diego

Andy Smith
Contact Information: apsmith@utep.edu; 915-747-7802
Education: BM Ed, University of Massachusetts, Amherst; M.Mus., Middle Tennessee State University; DMA, Indiana University

Professor of Practice

Cherry Duke
Contact Information: ccduke@utep.edu; 915-747-6220
Education: BS, Texas Woman's University; Artist Diploma, The Hartt School - University of Hartford

Assistant Professor of Instruction

Phillip Hill
Contact Information: pdhill@utep.edu; 915-747-8756
Education: M.Mus., The University of Texas at Austin; DMA, UT Austin

Stephen Hunter
Contact Information: sahunter@utep.edu; 915-747-7813
Education: BM Ed, The University of Tennessee; M.Mus., Northwestern State University; DMA, University of Southern Mississippi

Lindsey Macchiarella
Contact Information: lmacchiarella@utep.edu; 915-747-6630
Education: BA, University of California, Riverside; M.Mus., Florida State University; Ph D, Florida State University

Senior Lecturer

Stephen Haddad
Contact Information: sahaddad@utep.edu; 915-747-7818
Education: BMus, West Texas State University; M.Mus., New Mexico State University

Gregory Luffey
Contact Information: gsluffey@utep.edu; 915-747-5642
Education: BMus, Virginia Commonwealth University; M.Mus., Virginia Commonwealth University; Post baccalaureate Certification Program, Texas State University

Nancy Taylor
Contact Information: netaylor@utep.edu; 915-747-7827
Education: BMus, Arizona State University; M.Mus., Indiana University; MOT, The University of Texas at El Paso; DMA, Texas Tech University

Professor of Instruction

Juliana Gaona Villamizar
Contact Information: jgaonavill@utep.edu;
Education: M.Mus., University of Southern Mississippi; DMA, UC San Diego

The University of Texas at El Paso
UTEP Department of Music
Fox Fine Arts Center, Room M301
500 W University
El Paso, Texas 79968-0552


Phone: 915.747.5606
Email: music@utep.edu

Visit Department Website