University of Texas at El Paso Academic Catalog

Academic Catalog

Art

Return to: College of Liberal Arts

The Department of Art offers a comprehensive program in the visual arts. Degrees awarded include: the Bachelor of Fine Arts (BFA) Studio Art, the Bachelor of Arts (BA) Studio Art, the Bachelor of Arts with All-Levels Teacher Certification, and the Bachelor of Arts (BA) Art History. BFA Students may choose concentrations in the following areas: Ceramics, Drawing, Graphic Design, Metals, Painting, Printmaking, and Sculpture. BA Studio Art students may choose concentrations in the following studio areas: Ceramics, Drawing, Graphic Design, Metals, Painting, Printmaking, and Sculpture.  For the BA major in Art History and the BA major in Art Education, please see detailed descriptions under those headings.

The Department of Art, located in the Fox Fine Arts Center and in Seamon Hall, has more than 30 professionally equipped studios. The department’s facilities, including the Digital Arts studio; the Glass Gallery; and the Stanlee and Gerald Rubin Center for the Visual Arts, which includes three galleries and the departmental lecture hall, are among the finest in the Southwest.

UTEP art students have the opportunity to pursue studies in a rich and diverse curriculum comprised of advanced technologies, contemporary art practice, theory and criticism, and traditional crafts. With programs taught by distinguished faculty in art education, art history, ceramics, drawing, graphic design, metals, painting, printmaking, and sculpture, students can explore a personal vision through virtually any medium via these nine disciplines.

Mission

The Department of Art is dedicated to providing the highest quality education, professional presentation, and production in the visual arts. The Department will honor, maintain, and develop the traditions, history, and techniques of the visual arts with the purpose of contributing to the development of the contemporary state of the arts for the University and the community at large.

The suggested class schedule for freshmen art majors is as follows:

First Semester

 ARTF 1301 Basic Design I, ARTF 1302 Basic Drawing I, and ARTH 1305 History of Art I, along with three to six (3 to 6) additional credits required under the chosen degree plan.

Second Semester

 ARTF 1303 Basic Design II,ARTF 1304 Basic Drawing II, and ARTH 1306 History of Art II, along with 3 to 6 additional credits required under the chosen degree plan.

Chair

David Griffin
Contact Information: dfgriffin@utep.edu; 915-747-5941
Education: MFA, University of Illinois at Urbana - Champaign

Professor

David Griffin
Contact Information: dfgriffin@utep.edu; 915-747-5941
Education: MFA, University of Illinois at Urbana - Champaign

Associate Professor

Kim Bauer
Contact Information: kbauer@utep.edu; 915-747-7846
Education: BFA, Michigan State university; MFA, Eastern Michigan University

Thomas Birkner
Contact Information: tabirkner@utep.edu; 915-747-7839
Education: MFA, The Pennsylvania State University

Vincent Burke
Contact Information: vburke@utep.edu; 915-747-5176
Education: MFA, Louisiana State University and A&M College

Antonio Castro
Contact Information: antcastro@utep.edu; 915-747-5214
Education: MFA, Temple University - Tyler School of Arts

Anne Giangiulio
Contact Information: amgiangiulio@utep.edu; 915-747-8612
Education: BA, Villanova University; MFA, Temple University - Tyler School of Art

Max Grossman
Contact Information: megrossman@utep.edu; 915-747-7966
Education: Diploma, The Blake School; BA, University of California-Berkeley; MA, Columbia University; M. Phil., Columbia University; Ph D, Columbia University

Assistant Professor

Angel Cabrales
Contact Information: jcabrales@utep.edu; 915-747-8709
Education: BFA, Arizona State University; MFA, University of North Texas; MFA, University of North Texas

Heather Kaplan
Contact Information: hgkaplan@utep.edu; 915-747-7849
Education: Ph D, The Ohio State University

Jessica Tolbert
Contact Information: jltolbert@utep.edu; 915-747-6813
Education: BFA, Texas State University, San Marcos; MFA, University of Illinois at Urbana - Champaign

Alireza Vaziri Rahimi
Contact Information: avaziri@utep.edu;
Education: BFA, Tehran University of Art; MFA, University of California, Davis

Melissa Warak
Contact Information: mcwarak@utep.edu; 915-747-7849
Education: BA, Vanderbilt University; MA, The University of Texas at Austin; Ph D, The University of Texas at Austin

Assistant Professor of Instruction

Nabil Gonzalez
Contact Information: nggonzalez@utep.edu;
Education: MFA, Rhode Island School of Design

Jacob Munoz
Contact Information: jmunoz8@utep.edu;
Education: MFA, New Mexico State University

Elisabeth Sommer
Contact Information: ewsommer@utep.edu; 915-747-8316
Education: Ph D, University of Virginia

Professor of Instruction

Therese Bauer
Contact Information: tmbauer@utep.edu; 915-747-7840
Education: MFA, Eastern Michigan University

John Dunn
Contact Information: jdunn@utep.edu; 915-747-7854
Education: BA, University of Notre Dame; BFA, University of New Mexico; MA, Saint Louis University; MFA, University of Chicago

Manuel Guerra
Contact Information: gumanuel@utep.edu; 915-747-5181
Education: MFA, University at Albany (SUNY)

The University of Texas at El Paso
Department of Art
Fox Fine Arts Room 350
500 West University Ave.
El Paso, Texas 79968

Email: artdept@utep.edu

Phone: 915.747.5181

Fax: 915.747.6749

Visit Department Website